We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good, some not” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Waigaoqiao Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Howard Johnson Plaza Waigaoqiao Shanghai
Ranked #406 of 4,968 Hotels in Shanghai
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Some good, some not”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Booked this hotel as a try-out for two nights.
Room was excellent, lots of windows, even from the shower you look down onto the city. However the Aircon was a bit noisy and not really effective.

Service is fair but nothing too fancy.

Less attractive is the direct surrounding of this hotel, there's hardly anything there. The closest good resaurant takes a taxi trip.
Also the food inside the Hotel itself is not up to my standards. Breakfast is more Asian oriented than western. In the evening the restaurants are empty, the dinner I ordered in the room was not very tasty either.

So overall very average experience however the prices are still on the high side of the scale.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 335FlyingDutchman_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    27
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
4
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stayed with my fiancee when we came to Shanghai on a guided tour and it was very good indeed.

Lobby was very impressive and grand akin to a international 5 star hotel and not those local 5 star. there was a welcome drink at the lobby too, a first in a long while traveling around China.

Rooms were spacious and very modern. Not to mention that it was high tech as well. Beds were heavenly, those that once u lie on it you would wanna get up, soft and comfortable, different from the typical China hotel beds which is like sleeping on wooden planks.

Cleanliness was also very good and nothing seemed to stick out, Great Job HJ!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shinjiono84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We are very impressed with this hotel. The best of our 9 days trip. We stayed here 1st & last day of a highly subsidized tour. On the 1st day we asked for a high floor room & was so happy to be given a beautiful executive huge room on the 25th floor. So generous of them. Absolutely loved the room with 2 bath areas esp the shower cubicle with pleasant views of the river below. Loved the soft comfy bath robes, bath towels & bed linens. We did not have problem with the free WIFI at the lobby & managed even to face-time with loved ones overseas. Certain area of the breakfast area was really nice & private.
We walked to the subway station & went down to Nanking Rd Mall for shopping & dinner. The train fare was ridiculously cheap. We explored the interesting shopping & dining area just a short distance up the street - around the KFC area. Found a huge 2 storey supermarket with a wide range of wine and all kinds of titbits & so many products - a bottle of beer only costs RMB 2.20.
Really enjoy our stay in this wonderful hotel with its surrounding amenities - the inhouse mini mart opposite the breakfast area was very reasonably priced & the shop assistants are very helpful and friendly, so are the reception staff & the rest of the hotel staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gabriel, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Disclaimer: I stayed at this hotel as part of a 6-night ultra-cheap China tour. We paid $49 for a 6-night tour including meals, so my review may be biased by the fact that that I effectively paid $8 per night to stay here.

This is a beautiful 5-star hotel. No complaints about the room whatsoever. Well-equipped with all the amenities you could need (tea, coffee, water boiler, bathrobe, slippers, toothbrush, shampoo, lotion, etc). Bathroom is huge, with a standing bathtub with back massager inside the shower.

There are some small shops, and gym and spa. The gym looks like it never gets any use. There is a hot/cold water dispenser in the gym.

Negatives: Wired ethernet is provided in every room, but wireless is only available in the lobby, and I found the wifi to be quite weak down there. I only brought an iPad so I needed to use the wifi. It is also quite cold and noisy in the lobby, so it's difficult to stay there long to use the wifi connection.

Breakfast has a large variety, of okay quality. The only fruit was watermelon with a few pieces of pineapple mixed in. You can order freshly cooked noodles and eggs. It gets very crowded with all the tour groups showing up to breakfast at the same time.

This hotel is frequently used by discount tour groups, so you will encounter large groups of very noisy people. I was one of them so I can't complain :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eIaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Bathrobe, toothbrush, toothpaste, soap, shampoo, conditioner, hairdryer, slippers, loofah, shower cap, complimentary bottles of water and more all provided. Minibar. Laundry line available in bathroom. Shower consists of both handheld showerhead and overhead waterfall showerhead. Separate tub. Glass panel sectioning bathroom from room is unfoggable via switch. Luggage rack x 1. Very comfortable bed. Very clean. Very new. Service throughout hotel exceptional. Free wifi available in lobby, no password. Breakfast may get overwhelmingly crowded depending on whether tour groups are transiting through. Only thing to note is that hotel is far away from everything - it's at the last stop on the #6 subway line and will take you a long time and one transfer to get to, for example, People's Square. Similar taxi: It'll be a long ride and a steep fare to get to the downtown-ish area proper.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arestocracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

In a nutshell, I like it. I spent a business trip in this hotel for four nights. It basically has everything we need, and we only went out for a couple times.

There are a few restaurants to choose from. Food is really great, althought the consigned restaurant is a little expensive. The banquet hall is great for big conferences.

There is a small gym in the hotel. There are a few treadmills, stepmasters, and some dumbbells. A couple machine was out of order, the facility was a little old. The towels have a smell. Having said all that, at least there is a gym -- kind of rare in local hotels. There is a swimming pool too; but we didn't go. There is a park across from the hotel. It serves as a good alternative for exercising too, especially if you do Tai Chi, you will have a lot of companions in the morning.

We checked the prices for massage. It did not look reasonable, while there is a good massage palour just next door.

The bedrooms are clean and new and spacious. I got a suite. But it was weird that there were two king size beds in the suite, one in the bedroom and one in the living room. I asked to remove the bed in the living room because it had taken up all the space. But the hotel people said that it could not be removed; they were built in. There were a few suites like this because some guests asked for it, so that they could put more people in it. Well, it wans't much time I was in the room, so I did not move to another room. My other friends who stayed in the corner rooms, they were good size. It had a couch in it too.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are big. They a couch in it too. Some suites have built in king bed in living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IvyNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

a unique hote with friendle service which makes you feel like home

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
#76 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Hongkou
Narada Boutique Hotel Shanghai Hongkou
Waigaoqiao
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
#82 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Waigaoqiao Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Waigaoqiao Shanghai

Property: Howard Johnson Plaza Waigaoqiao Shanghai
Address: NO. 5658 Zhangyang North Rd, Shanghai 200137, China (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Waigaoqiao Shanghai)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Waigaoqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #406 of 4,968 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Waigaoqiao Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Waigaoqiao Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing