We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury well served on the Bund”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #5 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luxury well served on the Bund”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The view highly what you would expect of Shanghai.Great place for couples,as we have been advised earlier.Beautifully decorated spacious rooms,elegant relaxed luxury,comfortable sleep.Caring staff.Definitely the place to stay if you do not mind paying a little more.After all it is Waldorf Astoria.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank Savaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,189
    160
    43
    19
    11
See reviews for
228
421
90
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My family and I traveled to Shanghai for my dad's 60th birthday. This hotel was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. The front desk manager emailed a couple weeks before we arrived to see if we needed restaurant reservations, airport transportation and/or train tickets, which of course we did, so it was a relief to have things taken care of before we arrived.....especially the bullet train tickets to Beijing. From check in to check out our experience was perfect. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, in an amazing location, and the staff was exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RR920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

China isn't cheap and the Waldorf Astoria is definitely on the top end but our experience there was a holiday highlight. They helped arrange tickets on the fast train from Beijing to Shanghai which were waiting for us in our Beijing hotel upon arrival. Any questions I had about Shanghai, tours, the area, the hotel facilities - all were answered pre-arrival and certainly added to the experience. The location on the Bund is super, they've done a great job on the extension from the original Shanghai Club but kept the aesthetic complementary. The rooms are modern, well fitted out, large (walk in closet, generously sized bathroom) and extremely comfortable (sleigh bed, gizmos and gadgets everywhere). The luxurious touches were everywhere with their gorgeous dressing gowns and slippers, the fabulous gym and its facilities, the croissants and coffee in their business centre. I could go on.
It IS expensive though - 2 poached eggs alone are $20 SGD incl tax and the sumptuous afternoon tea is $70SGD but the quality of the food is worth it. Overall, extremely positive experience, would definitely stay there & its sister hotels again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cariasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Just returned from Shanghai and was wowed by my stay at the Waldorf. Best Hilton hotel that I have stayed at. As a gold Hilton Honors member, I got upgraded to a deluxe riverview with complimentary breakfast. The view from the 22nd floor was fabulous. The rooms was impeccable with a TV built into the bathroom mirror. Service was excellent. Whisked to the room for quick check in. Staff very helpful in recommending places to visit and to eat.
Location was excellent - great restaurants within a block including Jean George, M on the Bund, and Whampoa Club.

Treat yourself to the best in Shanghai.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJqueen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

I absolutely loved this hotel. From the moment I stepped in I was blown away by the elegance, charm and history of the hotel. The rooms were luxurious and the river view room was spectacular during the night. This hotel did not go stingy with the complementary nibbleys which I absolutely adored. The fruit platter was amazing although there was one moldy mandarin which put a dampener on the mood. I was however able to overlook this in light of how perfect everything else was in the room. I had a wonderful stay and this is my new favourite hotel in shanghai

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pest_mik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent visit. We appreciate your kind comments on the quality of our facilities as well as our service, this is most encouraging. Disappointed to learn of the condition of one of the mandarins. Please accept our apologies and we will use this feedback constructively to ensure we are more vigilant monitoring this area. We look forward to welcoming you back and the opportunity of serving you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

From the moment you set foot in to the hotel foyer you feel like royalty. Rooms were beautiful, amazing location & beautiful bars downstairs

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cam_and_kylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

We had a blast at the long bar last night. Sandra Kay was a delight, and the staff were friendly. Go for drinks at least, you won't regret the price tag.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DallasFlysolofemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,973 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#8 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Property: Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Address: No.2 Zhongshan Dong Yi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#188 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the history and culture of the celebrated Shanghai Bund with a taste for 21st century sophistication, Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund offers a heritage ambiance, legendary service and timeless amenities to make your stay truly memorable and distinct. Housed within the two-building complex in phases are 260 well-appointed rooms and suites, stylish environments for dining and lounging, extensive banquet facilities with stunning views, luxury spa, fully-fitted gym ,free WiFi and more, all crafted onto a picture perfect setting that speaks volume of the grandeur and finesse that is uniquely ours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai On The Bund Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing