We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class hotel - even better service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #5 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“World class hotel - even better service”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The hotel is quite frankly, in one word, magical. The whole experience from the time you arrive is what you would expect of a Waldorf.

The rooms are great - very luxurious. Try and get a room with views of the Bund - exceptional on a clear day.

The restuarant offerings are good - from the very, very best in fine dining to the great room service. You pay for what you get quality wise.....

I would challenge anyone really to find a better all round hotel in Shanghai. This is world class experience from start to finish.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your wonderful comments of our guest room and culinary. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Shanghai.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,189
    160
    43
    19
    11
See reviews for
228
421
90
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Great location and excellent room and facilities. The staff were very friendly and everything was above my expectation. The only thing to watch here would be the cost of drinks at the long bar - VERY EXPENSIVE. Other than that, a fantastic hotel

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Thank you for staying at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund and for your compliment on our hotel location, room facilities as well as our service. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Shanghai.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Before we went to Shanghai, we went back and forth as to where to stay. We finally chose the Waldorf & it was everything that we hoped for and more. The room was stunning (riverview) , the food was perfect as well as the location. But it was the service that made our trip quite special. From the moment we arrived , to every detail...pure perfection...

Room Tip: Riverview and we stayed in a higher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doreen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

i usually stayed at the puli but this time i decided to stay on the bund. at first i was hesitant because after all this is just a hilton hotel but it surpassed my expectations. my room is spacious by any standard with a great view of the neon lights show of pudong. the service is excellent, prompt, precise and friendly. i am very impressed with how quiet the hotel is and i have zero tolerance for noise. they also do observe the do not disturb sign on my door which i cant say the same with many top notch hotels even the four seasons. the toto automatic toilet is a bit silly but i can deal with it. my only complaint would be the quality of the food which was really poor and extremely expensive but hey nothing is perfect. highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rubyyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thank you your praises on service and overall facilities. We regret that our food quality did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We do normally receive positive comments on our food quality however, we will certainly investigate this further. We do feel our pricing strategy is competitive with other International hotels and restaurants in the Bund area.. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback, we very much appreciate it and it does help us to further improve our product and services.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

It would be hard pressed to find a more luxurious hotel anywhere in the world. Everything about this hotel - right down to the toilet- is exquisite . Marble foyer with closet and bathroom suite , gorgeous room with crystal chandilear , sweeping view of The Bund. Fresh flowers in your room!! Fresh fruit replaced every day!! Loved the Long Bar!!!
Tips...
Ask for a room with a view of The Bund. The night time skyline is out of a James Bond Movie. I stayed 4 nights in a king room facing the Bund and then had a junior suite - on the city side( after traveling throughout China ) and have to say the regular room with the view was better than the suite without the view ( twice as much) the suite has an extra room with a desk - kind of barren and really not worth the extra money. Oh- I think I got a tray of chocolates with the suite - would have preferred the view.
Note- the food in the hotel is fabulous! Especially after spending time in the interior of China ( sorry - I just can't eat fish heads and eel) but IS NOT CHEAP! $40 USD for a tuna sandwhich . I gladly paid:)
Also - be careful walking along the Bund- Do NOT engage with Chinese asking you to take their picture or speak English with you- there are MANY street scams - BEWARE!
Other than the street scams on the Bund and the artificial perfume smell ( everywhere in China - except Amanfayun) you can NOT beat the Waldorf !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of The Bund
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimberlysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and nice comments on our hotel accommodation and amenities. We’re also really pleased to know you loved our Long Bar and enjoyed our culinary. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Shanghai.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Great Staff and magnificent view both day and night at the 18th floor. My olnly regret is not staying in the hotel for more days. The breakfast was the best and the services is great!!! i have stayed in many luxury hotels in the past but Waldorf Astoria in Shanghai is definity the best.

Room Tip: make sure staying in the higher floor facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerrybear2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Thank you for staying at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund and for your compliment on the beautiful view from our guest rooms, our breakfast as well as our service. We are so pleased that you ranked us as The Best, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KY
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

My updated room was spectacular. The views of Shanghai were outstanding. The room was spacious, with wonderful accoutrements. I prefer my room cooler, but warmth tends to be the way in all the Shanghai hotels. The breakfast was the best I've had at any hotel throughout the world. The service was unmatched throughout the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here the next time I am in Shanghai.

Room Tip: The pool and spa are being completed, not sure when they'll be completed. Walk a few blocks over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent visit and for your compliment on the service as well as our breakfast spread. Our swimming pool is currently undergoing some urgent repairs and will be fully operational again by Feb 8. As for our Waldorf Spa, we indeed anxious to announce the opening in March 2013. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,973 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#8 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Property: Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Address: No.2 Zhongshan Dong Yi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#188 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the history and culture of the celebrated Shanghai Bund with a taste for 21st century sophistication, Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund offers a heritage ambiance, legendary service and timeless amenities to make your stay truly memorable and distinct. Housed within the two-building complex in phases are 260 well-appointed rooms and suites, stylish environments for dining and lounging, extensive banquet facilities with stunning views, luxury spa, fully-fitted gym ,free WiFi and more, all crafted onto a picture perfect setting that speaks volume of the grandeur and finesse that is uniquely ours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai On The Bund Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing