We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Luxury, Excellent Service & Magnificent View of the Bund.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #5 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Outstanding Luxury, Excellent Service & Magnificent View of the Bund.”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The Waldorf Astoria Shanghai is now my favorite hotel in a city with many excellent hotel choices. Combining a newly built modern tower with the restored, 1911 built, all-suite Heritage building the hotel offers outstanding modern luxury and old world elegance. Our room on the 17th floor had a spectacular panoramic view of the Bund and Pudong. The night time skyline view is stunning. The room is gorgeous, spacious, beautifully furnished, the bed super confortable and an elegant all marble bathroom. It has various high technology features such as a TV built into the bathroom mirror, a Toto electric toilet that is a little too automatic, curtains that close at the push of a button, the lights automatically turn on when you come in and High speed free WIFI. The hotel service is impeccable. Fresh fruit, a cookie jar and bottled water were replaced in the room every day. The hotel staff were very friendly and committed to customer satisfaction. The Long Bar is the Heritage building is famous. About half the guests are from overseas. It is a preferred hotel for business executives as well as affluent tourists. I also recommend the Shanghai Uncle restaurant 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The old town and Yu Yuan (Yu Garden) are a 15 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTD-Travel-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you for your compliment on the high quality of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Shanghai.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,189
    160
    43
    19
    11
See reviews for
228
421
90
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed one night in early December 2012 using Hilton Honors points. Was immediately impressed during a mistake (my fault) with the booking process and was connected to the hotel front desk (courtesy of Hilton connecting me) to correct the problem. Our actual stay was amazing even for just one night. Upon arriving , Joanna at the front desk greeted us and took us to the room (1310) for final checkin. We had a double queen River view. There are not a lot of rooms with two queen beds facing the river but I booked a year in advance. The room and view were great. We didn't realize how amazing the view really was until we returned to our room after dinner. We ate the hotel's Chinese restaurant which was very good. The entire hotel is stunning and I loved the decor. One of the special features was the toto toilet with all the gizmos and was motion activated. We also very much enjoyed the lavish breakfast buffet. It was beautifully presented and delicious. The hotel location is excellent and easily accessible from Longyang Road and the Maglev train. We left our bags with the concierge for an overnight stay in Hangzhou to tour the West Lake and see the Impression West Lake show. We returned to the hotel 2 days later to collect our bags. The staff were amazing! We were given a card for an upgrade if we return. Planning another stay for 2 - 3 days this fall. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steph2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your nice comments of our hotel location, facilities, our service, the breakfast spread as well as Wei Jing Ge. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Shanghai.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

I did not stay at the Waldorf Astoria but every time we come to Shanghai we come to the hotel for tea. I have to say that the tea is very pleasant (decor, food, atmosphere) but I wanted to write this review to highlight the excellent service, which is a model for the industry and that other hotels in Shanghai should really follow. Well done and thank you for the hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sergio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
It is such a joy to receive such nice compliment on our Red Velvet Afternoon Tea quality and we are so proud that you regard our service as a model for the industry. We hope you will stay with us and experience more hotel facilities and True Waldorf Service next time.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on theBund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I stayed here over New Year's (Western) and had a spectacular stay. Nice new rooms with just about every amenity that you would want. I was on the 15th Floor and had a view of the Bund from my room. The location is good and it is easy enough to get cabs everywhere. Not a whole lot in the immediate vicinity in terms of restaurants and shops, but if you go a few blocks you can find some decent places to eat. I’m also a Hilton Diamond member staying on points so that might have helped me get a room with such a nice view.

Beds were very comfortable and room was well lit (I don’t like dark rooms). Huge bathroom with double sinks and separate stall with rain shower and whirlpool tub (I didn’t test the tub). Over the tub is a porthole style window that can go either opaque or transparent with the flick of a switch. Also a ton of marble was in the room and not just in the bathroom, but as counter surfaces and in the walk-in closet.

The breakfast buffet is very good and has a large variety of Western and Chinese food including cooked to order items.

The valets and bellhops were extremely helpful with directions and most speak English very well. The front desk also was very pleasant when I had any requests.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwong2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate your high esteem of our hotel location with proximity and easy access to dining/entertainment right at our door step. Your commendation of our room view, facilities, breakfast as well as services are greatly valued. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester uk
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This is probably the best hotel I've ever stayed in. Everything previous great reviews have said is true. At first I thought it was a bit over the top but soon adjusted to the sumptuous luxury, the impeccable unobtrusive service, the quality of the food, the beautiful room and all the electronic wizardry. We were on a tour of China and other stays on the trip were at The Peninsula in Beijing and the Shangri-La in both Xian and Guilin -all very good but this hotel is in a different league. The location is perfect too. It is expensive but no more than other high end hotels in Shanghai.

Room Tip: If in the new tower get a high bund facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacManchesterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
We are so proud as well as most appreciative of your wonderful comments of our hotel facilities, culinary and services. We look forward to serving you again.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cHICAGO
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This is perhaps one of the finest hotels I have ever stayed in and we have been fortunate to sample some of the worlds best, including the only 7 Star hotel in Dubai. Amazing service and amenities within a beautifully adorned building throughout that screams quality and innovation.

Who would think a toilet would be mentioned in a review? Amazing, seat opened upon approach, heated, auto flush and seat retraction, several hi tech features and control panel! Electronic window that looked opaque until switched on and then became clear, curtains that opened or closed to the touch and enough marble to fill an Italian Quarry. It took a couple of days to discover the TV within the mirror in the bathroom as it looked like a normal mirror.

We were upgraded to a River Deluxe with amazing views of the Bund and Pu Dong. Wifi actually was strong anywhere in the building! Service is well trained and high end amenities.

Food was excellent with a nice no charge breakfast along with the lounge usage. We certainly would stay next time in Shanghai! Highly recommended

Room Tip: Seems that the odd numbers face the Bund and would be most desirable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FORESTBAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you regarded Waldorf Astoria Shanghai as one of the finest hotels, and we truly appreciate your high esteem of our room amenities, culinary as well as services. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and would have wanted to stay much longer to be able to really enjoy the hotel: our room ( with view on the bund) was spacious- beautiful and spotless. The bed was one of the best I ever slept in. The service is fantastic and discrete . It's not inexpensive, obviously, but well worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonKitty13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and nice comments on our hotel accommodation and service. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Shanghai.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,973 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#8 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Property: Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Address: No.2 Zhongshan Dong Yi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#188 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the history and culture of the celebrated Shanghai Bund with a taste for 21st century sophistication, Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund offers a heritage ambiance, legendary service and timeless amenities to make your stay truly memorable and distinct. Housed within the two-building complex in phases are 260 well-appointed rooms and suites, stylish environments for dining and lounging, extensive banquet facilities with stunning views, luxury spa, fully-fitted gym ,free WiFi and more, all crafted onto a picture perfect setting that speaks volume of the grandeur and finesse that is uniquely ours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai On The Bund Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing