We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is perfect!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #5 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Everything is perfect!!!!”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Everything was Perfect... Perfect... Perfect...!!! :)
Never been in such a good hotel like this, was really great!
If you like Classic iconic hotel this is probably onde of The nicest ones in Xanghai.
We spent 5 nights there and we wish we could be there for 5 months, amazing hotel!
The Staff helpful and always smiling, Restaurant was great, breakfast with a large choice of food and beverage items, decoration and cleaness are 5*!! Good location nearby the river, good for great landscape photos and nice walking by the river, we find also good shopping areas.
Everything was really perfect in The Suite we stayed, fireplace, pretty oil paintings, very confortable bed, the best bathroom i had in a hotel, everything was incredible spacious and luxurious, charming details, Magic Suite!!!

One of The Best hotels in The world in my opinion.
Would love to come back indeed! Congratulations for this wonderful hotel and lovely staff.























Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Blanquito C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review which makes us very proud of our hotel and service. Our location is indeed most accessible and convenient to places of interest, dining and entertainment. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,190
    160
    43
    19
    11
See reviews for
228
421
91
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

my daughter book this hotel to celebrate my birthday, the dessert and fruit in the room is considerable. the breakfast is variety and it's nice to extend to 11 o'clock. i will recommend this hotel to my friend definitely.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
2 Thank Yin Hua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for choosing Waldorf Astoria Shanghai to celebrate your birthday. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to serve you again and thank you for recommending our hotel to others.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A stunning hotel with beautiful christmas decorations and a wonderful spread of seafood, turkey, roast beef (very very delicious indeed), lobster, you name it…plus free flow of bubbly all afternoon! To top it all, you're entertained by a wonderful jazz band. The ambience and food and music and drinks give you a Christmas day brunch that you will always remember.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatTemplar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for celebrating the Christmas at Waldorf Astoria. We are delighted to receive such nice compliment on our Christmas Day Brunch. We do have Champagne Brunch on Sundays that is a truly exclusive and fascinating journey. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

What a great hotel located on the central of the bund and luxurious set up from the lobby, the lounge, the room and the restaurant.
Check in was very efficient and helpful - the concierge recommended us a great restaurant near by. The location is convenient to the top dine and nightlife places in SH.
Room is spotless, like the baby sets they provide, morning call on time as promised - when you said 6am, it's 6am. You can run through the bund in the morning which is really breathtaking.
They also have good cigar bar on the 1st floor as well as the French bistro truly presents great food and service - the staffs do not smile only to white faces, top class!
I experienced few TA top ranking hotels and I found WA was the best.
I will be back definitely

Room Tip: Make sure to apply the room with view, its worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ibizar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
We appreciate your high regard of our hotel location, facilities as well as service, and thank you for sharing this on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

After our stay at the Waldorf, any other hotel for me and my wife would be a tough act to follow. The location, the luxury, the excellence of service and quality of food were are up there with the best and exceeded our expectations. Within walking distance to one of the premier attractions,Yu Gardens,it was also a pleasant walk on the Bund itself after dinner to take in the sights.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
2 Thank Bobby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
We are delighted with your wonderful comments of our hotel and our service, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Waldorf Astoria on the Bund in Shanghai for four nights as part of a vacation trip to asia. It is a wonderful hotel with afternoon tea, the famous "Long Bar", fine restaurants, attentive staff and beautiful rooms with great amenities. We would not stay anywhere else in Shanghai.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
2 Thank LolaPug2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
We are delighted with your wonderful comments of our hotel and our service, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Shanghai .

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geraldton, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Sensational hotel.Great service.Great bar.English spoken by most of the staff.Class in every area of the hotel from the high tea right down to the jazz band in the long bar.A thing to make sure of is to have the hotels address and name written in Chinese for the taxi driver at the airport and don't get sucked into a mini-bus[600y compared to 85y].

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
We appreciate your high regard of our hotel, the landmark Long Bar, our service, as well as the renowned Red Velvet Afternoon Tea, and we look forward to serving you again.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,975 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#8 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Property: Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Address: No.2 Zhongshan Dong Yi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#191 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the history and culture of the celebrated Shanghai Bund with a taste for 21st century sophistication, Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund offers a heritage ambiance, legendary service and timeless amenities to make your stay truly memorable and distinct. Housed within the two-building complex in phases are 260 well-appointed rooms and suites, stylish environments for dining and lounging, extensive banquet facilities with stunning views, luxury spa, fully-fitted gym ,free WiFi and more, all crafted onto a picture perfect setting that speaks volume of the grandeur and finesse that is uniquely ours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai On The Bund Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing