We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #4 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolute luxury”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I've just had an incredibly fantastic stay of 5 days and 4 nights at the Waldorf Astoria on the Bund in Shanghai. My original booking was for two nights but I couldn't bring myself to leave, so I kept extending.
Everything about it was perfect: from the efficiently smooth Mercedes-Benz pick up at Pudong Airport and quick in-room check-in to the delectable complimentary breakfasts at the Grand Brasserie (where the lovely Tracy quickly learnt my favourite types of juices and had them coming as soon as I sat down); from the concierge arranging SIM-card top ups, first class fast train tickets and bookings at top notch restaurants to all my stresses and strains being blissfully massaged away at the world class sauna; from drinks at the famous Long Bar to French cuisine at Pelham's.
Not only is this hotel right smack in the historical Bund but it is part of history itself since, in a former incarnation, it was the "Shanghai Club", the principal men's club for British residents in Shanghai from the turn of the 19th century to the World War II era. Beautifully restored to its original magnificence this is now the front part of a hotel which also includes a thoroughly 21st century added tower and a specifically designed low-lying connecting extension.
Over and above the eye-catching beauy of the buildings, opulence of the rooms, and grandeur of the view, however, it is the friendliness, efficiency and personal care of all the staff which really impressed me the most and which will stay with me until I next visit the Waldorf Astoria on the Bund.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a room on a high floor with a river view because said view, both day and nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzAussie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you very much for this magnificent review of Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund. We are most grateful about your appreciation of our hotel buildings, room facilities, culinary, as well as our service and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,180
    159
    42
    18
    10
See reviews for
221
419
90
409
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We got ourselves a great deal on a room at the Waldorf for our stay. But to our surprise we got an upgrade to a spectacular view over the rover and the Bund. They couldnt look after my grandmother enough. Perfection.

Room Tip: City view room facing the river and the bund
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beverly hills
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We have stayed at many five star hotels over the years and have concluded that this is our favorite. The place is beautiful, the amenities are over-the-top, location (Bund) is great, the view is incredible, the breakfast is amazing and the staff couldn't be more professional. There is nothing else to say!

Room Tip: River view rooms cost more but the view at night is pretty spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crackcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We are delighted to learn that Waldorf Astoria Shanghai is your favorite hotel, and thank you for your compliments on our products as well as our services. We hope to see you again on next visit to Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed at the Waldorf in January 2014 for 6 nights as a holiday and our first visit to Shanghai. The hotel is divided into 2 parts; The small old section on the Bund itself and the big new section at the back. The two sections are joined by the brasserie. We booked a regular double room and we were luckily upgraded to a river view room.

The rooms are beautiful, plush and luxurious. Everything works and the room is well insulated from noise. The air conditioning works well. Beds are comfortable and large. Bathrooms are sumptuous. If you book a river view room, the view is beautiful.

We did not book breakfast. If you are going to Shanghai, be aware that the Bund area does not have cafes like, say, Paris where you can grab a bight to eat. No breakfast is thus a problem, and breakfast at this hotel is very expensive. However, the staff saved the day - the hotel has a library where you can grab a coffee and some delicious fresh bread rolls (thanks to the staff) or croissant. This is very useful, and will do you for the morning.

The staff at the hotel was the best part of our stay. They were polite, helpful and willing to help.

The swimming pool is very good, the gym is new and has good machines, and the spa / massage area is quite remarkably well laid out.

The hotel is quite a walk to the nearest underground and many taxis have not heard of it. Even with the hotel's card, they had to be shown a map to figure out where it was. The entrance is not on the Bund but at the back where the new building is. Hard for them to find it.

You can book good tours and get good direction from the very helpful concierges. There is also a useful card they will give you of the best places to go.

Altogether a very good hotel, lovely staff, beautiful rooms, excellent facilities. Take care of breakfast, long walk to the subway, taxi service good once they get to know where it is.

Room Tip: Sometimes you can book by paying in advance - big discounts. Try for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poirot2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments of our room facilities, swimming pool, our spa as well as our services. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Although we only stayed here for one night, we found the hotel to be extremely beautiful with spacious and luxurious rooms. The staff were courteous and very helpful. We would have loved to have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your nice comments on our hotel accommodation as well as our service. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

If visiting Shanghai and walking on the Bund stopping in and visiting the bar is well worth the trip.The Long Bar is a great place to sit, relax and take in the scenery. One of the nicest bar's you can imagine.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments of our landmark Long Bar. We are very proud that it is rated as highly regarded as The Best Bar in Shanghai. We look forward to serving you again.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Great location on the Bund, great service, nice breakfast with traditional chinese and international cuisine
I recommend to go to Long bar in the evening with life Blues music, great wine selection and oyster bar.
I was just surprised with dust on table in the room but this isi probably much more problem of Shanghai enviroment then house keeping.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandra k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai, and for your compliments of our hotel location, breakfast, Long Bar as well as our service. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#8 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,935 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#7 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,168 reviews
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#2 of 5,069 in Shanghai
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Property: Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Address: No.2 Zhongshan Dong Yi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#179 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the history and culture of the celebrated Shanghai Bund with a taste for 21st century sophistication, Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund offers a heritage ambiance, legendary service and timeless amenities to make your stay truly memorable and distinct. Housed within the two-building complex in phases are 260 well-appointed rooms and suites, stylish environments for dining and lounging, extensive banquet facilities with stunning views, luxury spa, fully-fitted gym ,free WiFi and more, all crafted onto a picture perfect setting that speaks volume of the grandeur and finesse that is uniquely ours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai On The Bund Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing