We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb....best ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #4 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Superb....best ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights following a cruise. We had an upgrade to a deluxe river view room which was exceptional in terms of quality, comfort, amenities and size. We both consider the property to be the most spectacular we have stayed in on our travels. Staff in the hotel couldn't be more helpful and everyone you encounter has a ready smile and pride in their work. Breakfast was amazing, lots of things on offer, whatever your taste or preference. Free internet was a welcome bonus. In terms of location, the hotel is central to the downtown area and the Bund for sightseeing and shopping. If you are spending some time in Shanghai you would be hard pressed to better this establishment.

Room Tip: Try to get a river view room - at night the view is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baylander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our hotel location, room amenities, our breakfast as well as our services. The view from our river view rooms and suites are indeed most spectacular. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Shanghai.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,133
    152
    39
    17
    10
See reviews for
211
398
85
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Shanghai Waldorf, comparing with the old Waldorf of New York, is what a real Waldorf should be. Waldorf Shanghai is one of tge only two five-star hotels located on the historical Bund. In fact, the hotel is composed of two buildings, one the old historical Chamber of Commerce on the Bund, and another newly built tower behind it. The guest rooms are mostly in the new building, spacious and well decorated with marbles and chandelier. The lobby is also well decorated with impressive chandelier, marbles, and china. The services are also good. Check-in and out are a breeze.
I was there to attend a wedding, which was held at the banquet hall located at the old building. The hall has many balconies overlooking the Bund, and is nicely decorated in colonial style. The food, however, could be better.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank VTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our hotel property as well as our services. We also appreciate your constructive comments of the food and we will share it with our culinary team for further improvement. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Shanghai.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

My wife & I spent 4 nights in the amazing property and were never disappointed. Had a difficult time deciding between the WA and the Peninsular and went with the Waldorf based on a friends recommendation. So glad we did. Fro the moment we were met at the front door by the staff to the moment we left to go to Hong Kong there wasn't a thing we could have asked for that was not first class. We were lucky enough to have a room with a spectacular view of the Bund & Poudong. The amenities in the room and throughout the hotel were all 5 star. We are used to staying at Ritz-Carlton's, Four Seasons, and Peninsular properties all over the world and this we up there with the best of them. Would stay there again and highly recommend.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking the Bund is preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you very much for your great review. We are so pleased that you ranked Waldorf Astoria Shanghai as The Best Hotel throughout the world, and we truly appreciate your high esteem of our amenities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taichung, Tajikistan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Good quality and feeling. Best service I can have and location is closed to subway station which mean it is easy to access any location in ShaingHai city. Luxury decoration and comfortable living quality which made viistor has feeling as home as people can feel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Kuo Chien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and for your compliments of our hotel and service. Our location is indeed most accessible and convenient to everywhere in the city. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband booked the Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund as an Anniversary present for us. The five star treatment started on exiting our taxi. The service of all the staff was excellent. As it was our anniversary, we were upgraded to a room with a view of the Bund, which was breath taking especially at night when it was all lit up. We were given a cake to celebrate our anniversary which I ate the lot, even though I was on yet another diet. The bed was huge and so comfy. My husband was fascinated with the toilet, he loved the idea of the heated seat and the fact that as you opened the door, the seat lifted.


The first thing we did after having a good look around our room was go to for afternoon tea in the Sallon de Ville. The scones were piping hot as they had just come out of the oven. It was a wonderful experience.

In the evening we ate in Pellams restaurant, which again was excellent, then went into the Long bar for a drink and listened to the live music.

We didn't stay at the hotel long enough to experience all the restaurants or facilities but we will be back.....

I could go on forever talking about this hotel but in short if you ever get the opportunity to stay here, you will not be disappointed... As I said earlier from getting out of our taxi, until we got back into our taxi, we were treated so very special and we thank everybody at the Walforf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund for that...

Janita and David Faulkner

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janita f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We are extremely delighted to learn you have experienced a wonderful anniversary with us and we truly appreciate your high esteem and recommendation of our hotel. There are also River View Suites at our heritage building. As this building sits right on the Bund, the view is magnificent. We hope to reserve a Waldorf River View Suite for you on your return visit.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very nice rooms (with the awesome japanese style toilet that always amuses me), in a great location, friendly staff and delicious restaurants. So close to the Bund walkway and also the shopping district.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and for your nice comments on our hotel location, room facilities, culinary as well as our services. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Shanghai.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

It's very difficult to think of what was in the cons list, but there are so many things in the pros list. Firstly, if possible, do try to get the river view room. After all, you are all already paying so much, so the few extra yuen to get an unforgettable view is really worth it. The view sorts of redefines the experience of staying at the Waldorf, to feel part of the history of the Bund. You feel like you're part of a movie every time you walk inside your hotel room, especially in the evening as the flashing lights of the skyscrapers and billboard advertisements draws you in.

Secondly, the Waldorf gives you all the extra amenities that reminds you of why it's a cut above the rest. The work station has a little cable kit which basically lets you use any kind of plug point with its assortment of adaptors, the lavatory cubicle is equipped with an apparatus that allows you to choose the pressure of the water etc via a button, there is a television installed inside the mirror of the bathroom, complimentary fruits and chocolates everydya, ferragamo bathroom products, walk-in wardrobe, a television that also has internet facilities, very polished and refined furnishings (tasteful paintings, classy lamps, chandeliers). So in a nutshell, the rooms are very Bond like.

Thirdly, the property in itself, is splendid. It has a historical base, but has been refurbished to meet contemporary tastes resulting in old meets new grandeur. It feels like acres of different sorts of products from the tea hall, to the breakfast hall, to the long bar, to the massive lobby.

Fourthly, the service... professional, polite, wanting to please... while we didn't stay long enough for that much contact, the limited contact that we have exposed no problems! They left a complimentary cake in the room after I had written and said that it was our anniversary... so there was definitely a personalized touch in our short stay.

As such, taking everything into consideration, I would give this five stars. Do try it if you plan to treat yourself, it's worth the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the high floor river view. We had the 19th floor and it was splendid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steppenw0lfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review which makes us very proud of our hotel and service. We do agree with your comments in every aspect and we really appreciate your recommendation. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#8 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Property: Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Address: No.2 Zhongshan Dong Yi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#175 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the history and culture of the celebrated Shanghai Bund with a taste for 21st century sophistication, Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund offers a heritage ambiance, legendary service and timeless amenities to make your stay truly memorable and distinct. Housed within the two-building complex in phases are 260 well-appointed rooms and suites, stylish environments for dining and lounging, extensive banquet facilities with stunning views, luxury spa, fully-fitted gym ,free WiFi and more, all crafted onto a picture perfect setting that speaks volume of the grandeur and finesse that is uniquely ours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai On The Bund Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing