We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #6 of 5,205 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The hotel with its excellent location on the Bund, has a commanding view of the Huangpu River and Pudong skyscrapers. From the self opening/closing toilet (LOL) to the super comfortable bed, everything in the room shows 5-star quality. However, it does not have an Executive Lounge. I guess they need the room for the Presidential Suite. Instead, they give you 100 RMB credit in the Long Bar, which does not offer you much value.

Breakfast is served in the magnificent Grand Brasserie. Service was prompt and professional. Hint: although most of the buffet items are OK, order from the menu to get the most delicious breakfast entrees you will ever have.

I would actually give it 4.5 stars because the TV was not hooked up properly and the remote's batteries had to be replaced. Also one of the free spring water bottles was already open. They should have done a more thorough pre-check prior to my check-in. Whey you are a 5-star hotel, there is no room for any error or omission.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank djc2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share with us your valuable comments. Please accept our sincere apologies for the service defects you have mentioned and we will follow up with the team members involved. The rooms are reviewed/checked prior to our guest’s arrival and this cannot be overlooked. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future to experience the True Waldorf Service.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

It was our 25th anniversary and we decided to go on a around the world trip...in 24days!!! One of our stops was in Shanghai, China and we stayed at the Waldorf Astoria. It was located across the street from the Bund. We did it up right and stayed at the best hotels in each city. By far the Waldorf was the best. Service was impeccable. If you asked where something was located in the hotel, the person would take you there and drop you off.our room overlooked the river and was outstanding in every way. All the restaurants were fabulous. And the restaurants we were recommended to go to outside where also fabulous. All in all a great time in Shanghai... Because of this we will be staying at the Walddorf Amsterdam in December...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for choosing Waldorf Astoria Shanghai as a part of your 25th anniversary celebration. We appreciate your great review of our hotel as well as our service, and we are truly delighted to be regarded as the best hotel you have ever stayed. Should your travel bring you back this way, we hope to have the pleasure of serving your again.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I was in Shanghai for work a couple of years ago and stayed in Waldorf Astoria Shanghai. I wish it was a holiday trip! One could stay in the hotel the entire day and feel so pampered. The room was huge and so is the bathroom. There was a gigantic bathtub which I didn't get to use. There was a built-in tv inside the mirror above the wash basin. So you can brush your teeth and watch the news at the same time. There are 2 other cubicles in the bathroom. (shower room and toilet). The toilet seat lid will automatically lift up when you open the glass door. Seriously ladies would spend a lot of time in this bathroom! The bed was so comfy that I fell asleep when I was sitting on it while reading some documents. Pure luxury and comfort! The food and service in this hotel are amazing too! I would rate this hotel 10/10.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shannie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of Waldorf Astoria Shanghai. We appreciate your high esteem of our room facilities, the culinary as well as our service and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here with family after the Youth Olympics in Nanjing. This place was pure luxury. Everyone was so helpful and really made the stay special. Even the late checkout was handled with ease.
Its in a fabulous location just opposite the bund. We had two rooms and they put them together with connecting door. The beds - they were great.
Its breakfast is something to behold with just about everything from Asian breakfast to freshly made omelettes to gluten free toast. If you cant find the food here to your liking your really not trying.
The Spa is also sensational. We found you could be happy just being in the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tucks111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel location, our guest room, the breakfast, our spa as well as our service. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Shanghai.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

they work to make sure your stay is the very best business center is a great area to hole meetings --breakfast excellent Long Bar is a great place to unwind after all day meetings--rooms have a view that is just so relaxing watching the boats go by

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

We appreciate your great review of our meeting facilities, the breakfast, our legendary Long Bar, the vista from our guest rooms as well as our service. Should your travel bring you back to Shanghai, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

True service of luxury in the heart of the city sets amidst an historically rich building, this is Shanghai in the black and white scene with a modern touch!

Centrally located, right opposite of the bund with the view of Pearl Tower among all other landmarks at Pudong and walking distance to Nanjing Road, this is the landmark of Shanghai!

Internal design is well reserved, elevator from the old time is still in good functioning condition...it truly reflects the luxury of the Old Shanghai where the rich spend their time for tea, whiskey and dance...

Room Tip: Room with the Bund view is exceptional so pay a little more for it, you will never regret! If ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EvaTravelTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for staying at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund. We are delighted that our inspirational environment and unparalleled service helped to create unforgettable memories during your stay in Shanghai and we hope to see you again on your return visit.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip to Shanghai, and I cannot say enough about this hotel -- my entire group was thrilled with our experience! We held a conference in the hotel for two days and stayed there for five. The lobby was exquisite, and the breakfast was a feast (a fabulous mix of American, European, and Asian items). The conference room was comfortable and well equipped, and the breaks were staffed with coffee and tea service along with delectable snacks. And the bar was a great place to meet for drinks -- it felt like we jumped out of a scene from Mad Men with intricate carved-oak paneling and classic drink masters. The best part about the hotel, however, was the rooms. Not only were they the epitome of luxury and comfort, but they were also equipped with the ultimate technology including a television in the bathroom mirror and the top-of-the line toilet from Japan. The hotel was located just off of the Bund -- just a few steps to the boardwalk.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the river and the city skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank M0MofTWINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for allowing us to host your conference at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund. We are delighted with your high esteem of our hotel location, the facilities, breakfast as well as our legendary Long Bar, and we look forward to being a part of your future unforgettable moments.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#10 of 5,205 in Shanghai
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#13 of 5,205 in Shanghai
1,228 reviews
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#7 of 5,205 in Shanghai
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.2 Zhongshan Dong Yi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#183 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £197 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the history and culture of the celebrated Shanghai Bund with a taste for 21st century sophistication, Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund offers a heritage ambiance, legendary service and timeless amenities to make your stay truly memorable and distinct. Housed within the two-building complex in phases are 260 well-appointed rooms and suites, stylish environments for dining and lounging, extensive banquet facilities with stunning views, luxury spa, fully-fitted gym ,free WiFi and more, all crafted onto a picture perfect setting that speaks volume of the grandeur and finesse that is uniquely ours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai On The Bund Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing