We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterhouse At South Bund
Ranked #201 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very average”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

There are far better hotels in Shanghai for the cost. They've focused almost exclusively on the look and feel of the place and completely forgotten about service. Breakfast was the worst experience I've had in a restaurant anywhere. Hardly any customers, ordered scrambled eggs on toast with mushrooms. 40mins later they bring me 2 sad looking pieces of toast and a couple of mushrooms, no sign of the eggs. Sent it back, walked out, rubbish! And what I saw other people eating looked like prison food.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWaterhouse, Marketing Communications Manager at The Waterhouse At South Bund, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a detailed review.

We’re awfully sorry to hear your poor experience in our hotel, please do accept our apology. Your comment we have shared with relevant department and the related measures will also be taken for the improvement of our breakfast.

We’re looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Thank you,
The Waterhouse at South Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    30
    17
    15
    6
See reviews for
5
51
9
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the WH for 3 nights. This is a perfect hotel if you are interested in architecture/design.
The minibar is without charge and the room was nicely designed. The lobby and bar area are full of designer furniture and had a laid back ambience.
The rooftop has a bar with an impeccable view of Pudong, however only open from 18.
The location gave us a good advantages to explore Shanghai and was in walking distance of many interesting places.
The staff was professional and helpful. The helped us with taxies, table reservation etc.
We had a problem with our coffee machine but they fixed it right away.
There was free wifi provided, not great but ok.

Unfortunately there were some downsides.
Breakfast was very slow and the food not so great.
We had a very nice room on the 1st floor facing the river and Pudong, but it was very noisy. The Bund Beach is just across the street, and since it was the weekend, they had events on Saturday and Sunday. VERY loud music kept on pumping from morning to late. It made us crazy. So be sure to ask for a room facing the courtyard, or check in advance if there are any events at The Bund beach, if you plan to stay here.
There is also a lot of construction in the area that can be somewhat noisy.

I would definitely recommend staying here, it is quite unique and is a must see if you're interested in something out of the ordinary.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NadineOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Well worth a stay just for the inspiring exterior and well-picked interior. The location is right beside Bund Beach, so be prepared for high music and sounds at different times of the day if you got a room facing Pudong river. It will not ruin your sleep at night, but if you want a quiet afternoon it will. The room was excellent, and the view just as good. Around the hotel is an area called "Cool Docks" which is a new development seeking to get people down to the south bund area. A lot of new restaurants, and the Bund beach area with different beach activitites going on, but unfortunately not a lot of people to see. This might be better over time when the bund extension is finished. The service was great, and we had little trouble, even though the overall english knowledge was poor. The staff seems a little bit unprofessional at times, but with a little bit of patience you will be fine. The roof terrace is amazing, but is only open in the evening, which makes no sense.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Øyvind B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We loved this hotel. It was clean and stylish and upon arriving early we were given an upgrade that was bigger than our flat in London.

The views were incredible and the open plan bathroom and rain shower were stunning.

The layout and design of this hotel is inspiring.

The service was good and most of the staff speak very good English. The breakfast was also very good and you can order anything you want off the a la cart menu.

So happy we chose The Waterhouse and I thought the location was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DomSansalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Maybe not the most central location but the astonishing architecture was worth every step untill there. The bar on the rooftop is one of the best spots in town, with a magnificient view on the river and Pudong. Rooms were great with integrated bathtub in the floor.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxis78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed one night at the Waterhouse. My husband and I had business obligations the next morning but wanted to stay in a design-oriented, original hotel in the city.

The design itself is very stylish, but not so functional. A lot of concrete makes for noisy halls in the night when people in high heels run by - not the best if you're looking for some serious rest. It was getting chilly and our room had a huge draft coming in from the bacony glass doors.

What really surprised us was the level of service. In the restaurant at breakfast, it was great. However at the front desk, we felt like we were bothering the staff more than anything whenever we had a request, which was really disappointing.

The café near the lobby, however, is a nice place to settle down for a drink at the end of the day.

If you're into design solely, go for it, however if you're looking to feel welcomed, not the best place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuciEunice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Fundamentally, this hotel is very cool. A former Japanese army barrack, the building has been creatively re-imagined by Shanghai "starchitects" Neri & Hu. The hotel balances some of the building's remaining grit with terrific modern finishes and design. The rooms vary in style and size. I stayed in 18B, a decent sized room that faced the courtyard. The room was quiet and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The rooms are appointed with top design furniture and excellent towels and linens. The shower and bath are behind dark, see-through glass. This was fine and cool. However, the decision to put the toilet also behind see the through glass was a poor one. Sometimes, privacy is desired. See-through shower glass: sexy. See-through toilet class: awkward (if not solo).

SERVICE: The service at the hotel wasn't great. For such a high-end, thoughtful design effort, the hotel staff's service didn't match. They seemed more interested in doing work non-associated with helping guests. They weren't horrible, just not great. The hotel could do with a concierge to lift the service level to match the design.

LOCATION: Located on the south part of the Bund as its name suggests, there's not much nearby of interest. I stayed in three different neighborhoods during two weeks in Shanghai and this was my least favorite location. There's a Starbucks and a few restaurants across the street but not much after that. Pretty much all other interesting spots in Shanghai will require a LONG walk or a taxi ride, Luckily, walking is easy and taxis are cheap in Shanghai.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amirrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
South Bund
Wanda Reign on the Bund
Wanda Reign on the Bund
#110 of 4,998 in Shanghai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#43 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#34 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterhouse At South Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterhouse At South Bund

Property: The Waterhouse At South Bund
Address: No.1-3 Maojiayuan Road, Shanghai 200011, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > South Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#171 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#198 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Waterhouse At South Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Waterhouse At South Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterhouse At South Bund Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing