We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean room BUT let down by the poor concierge service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Ranked #23 of 5,205 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Book few nights here , nice exterior and clean room. Very spacious room and come with nice working table .
Was offer package to upgrade for free breakfast and free entry to exec lounger.
Breakfast consider overage when compare to courtyard wulin.

Was SUPER let down by the arrogant concierge staff where we were asking about the exec lounge and what is available in the lounge. Being treated with rudeness where the staff show impatient towards our question and didnt even bother to look at our face when answering the query reluctantly.

This is a super intolerable attitude in a classy hotel by marriott.

Stayed in courtyard wulin before courtyard puxi , the staff are soo much better and friendly and willing to help .

Seriously think the management should look into this matter. Concierge should be the first impression towards the client. If this simple thing cant be manage properly it will just spoilt the name of 'by marriott'.

Otherwise , consider good hotel with good location , nt too far away from the metro and just 2 stops away from people square.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinvon28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We appreciate your feedback on this website pertaining to your positive feedback on facilities during your stay with us. At Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectation on some parts and for this we extend our apology. Please feel free to contact with me if you have anything would like to share to hotel managment. We valued your comments and hotel are committed to providing you with the highest level of servcie.
Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012

The hotel is about 3 mins walk from metro station, it is quite convenient. The staffs are helpful and efficient. The room is nicely renovated, big & clean and so is the toilet. I love the shower. The room is kept nice and warm every time I come back. I also love the breakfast, delicious and a lot to choose from. I could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustAn0therTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay.We look forward to your return!

With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Actually I've been in this hotel for 3times and each time 4nights.
This hotel I can say is one of the best 5star hotels in Shanghai and the accommodation is full.
About the rooms, They are clean and very big so even a family with one child can stay in one room. The rooms have all the facilities you may need inside, included the Minibar(surcharge), tea and coffee maker, complimentary tea bags and coffee and 2 bottles of water.
There is a very nice bath which connected to the room with a glass wall and you can use the electrical curtain to Cover the glass wall!
The view from the upper floors is nice.
The hotel pool and sauna is very nice and clean and is free for the guests. I strongly recommend it.
There are very nice staff in every corner of the hotel and they are really helpful.
The breakfast is very complete. There are different kinds of bread and cakes, jams, international and Asian food, different kinds of fruits and juices and so on that makes you full up to the evening!!!
The only problem is that the Internet is free only in the lobby and for rooms you have to pay. I don't know why this 5star hotel is like this but this is their policy. If you need computers there are some of them in the lobby that you can use them 24Hours.
About the Location, I can say that its not very near to the city center (where the Pearl TV tower is located) but the rail station and bus stations are all around the hotel and the taxis is not very expensive to take. You can ask the hotel staff to call for the taxis and the price is not very expensive. I myself normally use Taxis than other transportation in Shanghai.
Don't forget there are different Marriott Hotels in Shanghai, and this one is Courtyard by Marriott PUXI !!!

Room Tip: Tray to book the rooms in Upper floors, from 21st floor up! the view is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmirLeader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

My husband and i were here 3 nigths, The hotel was very nice, the location great, the staff very helpful, the restaurant good (only have one and the buffett was the same every day) but do you have other restaurants around so you can go out and eat sometime different..

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFA8986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay. I do appreciate for your compliment comments on our room、 location and restaurent as well as staff service. In fact, our location is also good,only minutes walking to Shanghai Railway Station and metro line 1, 3 &4. A number of city attractions are with easy access, only 10 minutes to Nanjing Road West, Jing An Temple and People Square. 30 minutes from Hongqiao International Airport and 60 minutes to Pudong International Airport.

We look forward to your return! Until then, please feel free to contact us with any further questions, comments or concerns!

With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communications manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

This was an excellent hotel it was a block and a half from the subway and an eight minute walk to the Shanghai Railway Station. There are lots of casual places to get a bite to eat and a large department store two blocks away with food in the basement. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. We needed a late checkout and got it. We had a party of six and needed two cabs to the airport and they arranged a van pick-up.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Sorry, but the equivalent of 16 USD a day for internet access doesn't work for me. Therefore I can't recommend this place. This explains my overall ratings. I have decided that only hotels with FREE internet will be on the top of my list from now on. Internet isn't a luxury but a necessity when you are away from home (or office).

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fantasia112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We privide the free wifi in the public area, such as lobby bar and lobby lounge. and if you join our Marriott Rewards, you can free enjoy the internet.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I was in China for a month to travel. I am so happy with their services. Staff was very helpful and friendly. A taxi driver was try to charge us more taxi fee and the doorman help us to solve the problems. I feel like home in Marriott. The room is clean and bed is comfortable. Will always go back. Thank you for all the staff taking good care of us while we will in Shanghai.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Caoyang / Zhenru
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,205 in Shanghai
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Le Meridien Shanghai, Minhang
Le Meridien Shanghai, Minhang
#4 of 5,205 in Shanghai
218 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central

Address: No.338 Hengfeng Road, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Courtyard Shanghai Puxi)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £67 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the commercial centre of Shanghai Jingan District, the Jingan District is an ideal destination for business and leisure. The Metro line 1, 3, 4, 12, 13 just 200 meter from hotel, take you to the Shanghai Railway Station, Yu Garden, Tian Zi Fang, Shanghai Museum of Natural History, Nanjing Road West, Jing An Temple, and People's Square. In addition, hotel is just 30 minutes from Hongqiao International Airport and 50 minutes from Pudong International Airport. Guests will enjoy spacious accommodations featuring well-lit desks, high-speed Internet, in-room safes and mini-bars, as well as a 30th-floor Executive Lounge with panoramic skyline views. To satisfy your craving, our MoMo cafe, MoMo 2 Go and lounges offer coffee, cocktails and casual dining throughout the day. Jump-start your day in our 24-hour fitness center, unwind in our indoor heated pool. To meet with clients in our state-of-the-art event facilities will lead you to focus on a successful session. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Marriott, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Puxi Marriott Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing