We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best values in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Ranked #19 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best values in Shanghai”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Shanghai is quite an expensive city, opposed to most of the other destinations in the mainland where it is possible to score great deals.
This hotel is beautiful, not your typical courtyard of USA but more kind of a five stars property. The lobby is beautiful, food excellent and the concierge was very friendly.
The gym has has top equipment, the pool is gorgeous, I may like if they have an steam bath or sauna.
The executive is excellent, located in the top floor with great view.
I really like the location of the hotel it is close to the train station and the Metro.
The value for Shanghai is excellent. We were upgraded to a luxurious suite and we were so happy with the hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveladept1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    304
    52
    16
    5
See reviews for
119
156
78
299
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was the first stop on a 4 city visit to China. Hotel is well located only a short cab ride to Nanjing Rd. Rooms were clean and comfortable, and quite large. Buffet breakfast is good but we did have lunch in the restaurant one day and I had to ask twice if someone could take our order. Other than that our stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very comfortable and the breakfast buffet is amazing!! They have american, continental, asian style loved it coffe ane tea 2 go. Our stay was very pleasant. There is a mall nearby with Mcdonalds and easy acces to the subway.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cutefati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for 7 nights here. Visited Shanghai for sightseeing, and at first was a little skeptical about the location, but I'm glad I chose this hotel as a base to visit downtown Shanghai, and trips outside city from Shanghai Railway Station.
Upon check-in, received complementary upgrade to executive lounge for first 2 nights which was an amazing welcome treat. Buffet breakfast in morning is one of the best quality buffets (I've eaten at many 5 star buffets), and a very decent selection.

The hotel was really nice and clean, good staff - very accommodating, and English is good. Standard rooms are very spacious. Well equipped. Excellent shower, no issue with hot water. Excellent internet speed. We stayed on 25th floor.

From hotel to get to People's Square, its only 15 minute at max via Metro. 5 minutes to get to station, 5 minutes in metro, and another 5 minutes to get out to the desired exit. Getting taxi was no problem as well. Wagas, Mcdonalds, KFC, Starbucks, Lawson and a few other fast food restaurants within walking distance.

We made a few requests and the staff obliged with pleasure. Asked for 110-220V converters and got them delivered to room pre-checkin. Turned out no need as rooms already have 110V receptacles. We consume more than average water in morning, and staff provided complimentary water bottles as required for the duration of our stay. Staff met every request.

My only complaint would be the air conditioning inside the room is not individually controlled, but rather centrally controlled. As a result, changing the room temperature in room had no affect. But once I talked to the manager about it, the hotel accommodated this request.

I would highly recommend this hotel for the reasons above.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here in March as part of a Pacific Delights Tour group. I was very impressed with the size and quality of the room and the amazing breakfast buffet. This hotel was far superior to any Marriott Courtyard that I have stayed in the United States.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshinecop67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stated at this hotel with a tour group in March, 2014. We were totally surprised by this very modern, clean hotel unlike Courtyard Marriott hotel in USA. This one is more like regular Marriott hotel. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was excellent with more than 100 dishes offered both Chinese and Western. Location was not very central but the metro station was only 2 to 3 minute walk. The American fast food was only a two blocks away, like KFC, McDonalds.
The hotel restaurant also offered pizza, pasta and other fares with reasonable price.
We would recommend this hotel anytime.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors for less construction noise 20 and higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuttaTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

New construction. Spotlessly clean. Huge bed, western style not hard. Great shower. Flying fish swim above indoor pool. Central location to walk about. Ample western & Chinese style breakfast.
View of ever present construction/construction. Staff were charming & efficient.
Delightful stay.

Room Tip: High floor for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minookajoe25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#11 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,385 reviews
Caoyang / Zhenru
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#60 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,704 reviews
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Address: No.338 Hengfeng Road, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Courtyard Shanghai Puxi)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#15 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#19 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Puxi Marriott Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing