We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Ranked #16 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Lovely room - clean, very comfortable bed, quality fitments and linens. Bathroom/shower had view into bedroom which could be easily closed off with electronic blind - great feature - and overhead shower as well as wall fitment. Close to 2 railway stations/undergrounds giving easy access to almost everywhere.

Breakfast buffet catered for all tastes - plenty of choices including omelettes etc cooked to order and crispy as well as not so well cooked bacon, but we were not keen on the sausages.Fruit juices were a bit bland which also made the Pina Colada a bit tasteless but they ask for feedback and are keen to improve which is always a good sign.

Dinner menu good but two nights on our 5 night stay was enough. Staff very helpful.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Homesick4UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a very nice hotel, the room is spacious with nice bathroom. The rooms generally have 2 queen size beds and a desk. You can get free WiFi if you haggle with the desk manager or it is available in the lobby. I suggest you haggle. When we went breakfast was included and the buffet had lots to choose from. Fresh eggs weren't available at the time, may have been a bird flu problem at the time though.
Staff are very friendly and the service in the lobby bar is quite good, make sure you tip and they look after you.
We went earlier than June 2013, around April.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANDYMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had a great experience at this hotel. Very clean rooms and the staff was great! The breakfast was huge with all kinds of options. Very close to my office, but also close to the train station if you wanted to get out of the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel from 12-14 May 2014. The hotel location is very very good as it is very close to a Metro Station which is not too far from the main tourist attractions. The room was excellent and the service was fabulous too. Its a good place for tourists to stay. The breakfast had lots of variety and staff was very friendly.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe not too close to the CBD area in Pudong, but definitely very close to areas like Nanjing Road...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VihanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Nearby metro station ( 5 min walk ) gets you easily to all the great Shanghai sights and activities. The Jade Buddha and shopping alleys are a walk away from the hotel.Staff are courteous and determined to solve any issues that arise. Try to upgrade for the executive lounge on the 30th floor - views are great and the complimentary food and drinks help you unwind after a busy day sightseeing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAVID C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This Marriott is centrally located with easy access.
Rooms are spacious and clean and great deal for the price.
Great concierge lounge on 30th floor.
Staff friendly and efficient.
When in the area will be staying here again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor breakfast buffet has excellent selection of food for all
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcwinter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I left the hotel with a copy of the final bill. The credit card statement showed up with a different (higher) amount. It took two months and many, many emails to various staff at this hotel to secure a correction of the hotel billing errors. Not good.
(Exchange rate errors and billings for items not purchased.)

While at the hotel I repeatedly ask for the heat to be turned off or the a/c to be turned on in my room. Maintenance visited my room numerous times in three days. All to no avail. The hot air blew in my room constantly. The room was so hot it was difficult for me to sleep. On departure the manager advised me that the air controls in the room do not control the temperature...that the entire hotel gets heat or cold air at the same time, that there are no individual controls for temp. (that work) in the rooms. This after his staff play - acted for days with the controls in my room assuring me that whey were going to get the controls fixed and my room cooled down "real soon."

The food is pedestrian at best. The restaurant service is just ok.

The staff has been trained to verbally and enthusiastically agree with the guests.......but it seems to be all just for show.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinstonIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We appreciate your feedback on this website pertaining to your feedback during your stay with us. At Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectation on some parts and for this we extend our apology.

Please feel free to contact with me if you have anything would like to share to hotel managment. We valued your comments and hotel are committed to providing you with the highest level of servcie.

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#61 of 5,112 in Shanghai
1,731 reviews
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#12 of 5,112 in Shanghai
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central

Address: No.338 Hengfeng Road, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Courtyard Shanghai Puxi)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#16 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#18 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £73 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the commercial centre of Shanghai Jingan District, the Jingan District is an ideal destination for business and leisure. The Metro line 1, 3, 4, 12, 13 just 200 meter from hotel, take you to the Shanghai Railway Station, Yu Garden, Tian Zi Fang, Shanghai Museum of Natural History, Nanjing Road West, Jing An Temple, and People's Square. In addition, hotel is just 30 minutes from Hongqiao International Airport and 50 minutes from Pudong International Airport. Guests will enjoy spacious accommodations featuring well-lit desks, high-speed Internet, in-room safes and mini-bars, as well as a 30th-floor Executive Lounge with panoramic skyline views. To satisfy your craving, our MoMo cafe, MoMo 2 Go and lounges offer coffee, cocktails and casual dining throughout the day. Jump-start your day in our 24-hour fitness center, unwind in our indoor heated pool. To meet with clients in our state-of-the-art event facilities will lead you to focus on a successful session. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Puxi Marriott Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing