We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect business or family hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Ranked #27 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Waterbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect business or family hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is an extremely easy hotel to travel to being just a 5 minute (max) walk to Shanghai Train station. Its also a great hotel. Service is excellent with extremely modern, well kept and clean facilities. The gym is surprisingly nice with a great view of the main road below. The pool is also attractive despite a medium size.

There isn't anything more than what you would expect but everything that is here is great and easy to use. I personally love the decor but I guess that's a subjective opinion.

For business travels I highly recommend paying the extra for the exec lounge access. The free buffet is limited but good and more than enough to satisfy plus the free bar is fun and great for networking.

For anyone traveling with kids or on business I absolutely recommend this hotel because its very westernized. Not the hotel for adventure travelers. But if you'rel looking for adventure downtown Shanghai isn't where you'd want to be anyway!

Room Tip: Get the exec lounge access- 30th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryanvankarp80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A W, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
Dear Ryanvankarp80,
Greeting from Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi.
Thank you for taking the time to complete our stay review. We are delighted that your stay with the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi was enjoyable.
Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,
Amber Wu
eCommerce Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi
cy.shapx.ecommmgr@courtyard.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    286
    50
    15
    4
See reviews for
102
148
69
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed a couple of times at the Courtyard Marriot recently and both times I was very satisifed. Good size rooms with excellent showers! Very important to help wake up in the mornings.

The lunch menu is a little limited but there is a reasonable breakfast buffet.

Good location within walking distance of the Shanghai Railway Station and the metro.

Very friendly staff, particularly on reception.

Will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete_In_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A W, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Dear Pete_In_France,

Greeting from Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi.
I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback on your recent visit to our iconic property. We are very grateful that you chose to come and stay with us and I will look forward to sharing this with our entire team here.

We sincerely hope that you will be able to return to Shanghai and we would be so happy to have you back.

Sincerely,
Amber Wu
eCommerce Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi
cy.shapx.ecommmgr@courtyard.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a nice convinient business hotel, with very reasonable price and comfortable room. I used to stay in Renaissance and regular Marriott in Shanghai, but nowadays I stayed here more and more, not only because of the price, but mostly because of the atmosphere is more easy and simple. I can easily find everything and the staffs are nice to communicate.

One important point: they have good laudry service, much better then Renaissance Yu Garden Hotel in Shanghai.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sealynx N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A W, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
Dear Sealynx N,
Greeting from Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi.
I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback on your recent visit to our iconic property. We are very grateful that you chose to come and stay with us and I will look forward to sharing this with our entire team here.

We sincerely hope that you will be able to return to Shanghai and we would be so happy to have you back.

Sincerely,
Amber Wu
eCommerce Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi
cy.shapx.ecommmgr@courtyard.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This place is near the downtown. Not a lot of restaurants nearby other than fast food. Hotel room was really nice and the hotel itself is fine. Just don't expect to walk anywhere for shopping, food, etc. You need to take a taxi. It is close by the Jing'an Temple area. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ejlwireless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A W, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
Dear Ejlwireless,
Greeting from Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi.
I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback on your recent visit to our iconic property. We are very grateful that you chose to come and stay with us and I will look forward to sharing this with our entire team here.

We sincerely hope that you will be able to return to Shanghai and we would be so happy to have you back.

Sincerely,
Amber Wu
eCommerce Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi
cy.shapx.ecommmgr@courtyard.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Very nice hotel, but could not get the room cooled down. Rooms are air-conditioned to Chinese standards so we had difficulty getting comfortable. The beds have comforter type sheets rather than thin sheets like in the US, so it was rather warm for sleeping. Hotel is very clean, buffet style breakfast was great with a big selection. We were with a Gate1-Travel tour, so we didn't experience the check-in process, it was done for us. Overall we were very satisfied with our stay except for the air-conditioning in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnellisak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Lovely room - clean, very comfortable bed, quality fitments and linens. Bathroom/shower had view into bedroom which could be easily closed off with electronic blind - great feature - and overhead shower as well as wall fitment. Close to 2 railway stations/undergrounds giving easy access to almost everywhere.

Breakfast buffet catered for all tastes - plenty of choices including omelettes etc cooked to order and crispy as well as not so well cooked bacon, but we were not keen on the sausages.Fruit juices were a bit bland which also made the Pina Colada a bit tasteless but they ask for feedback and are keen to improve which is always a good sign.

Dinner menu good but two nights on our 5 night stay was enough. Staff very helpful.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Homesick4UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a very nice hotel, the room is spacious with nice bathroom. The rooms generally have 2 queen size beds and a desk. You can get free WiFi if you haggle with the desk manager or it is available in the lobby. I suggest you haggle. When we went breakfast was included and the buffet had lots to choose from. Fresh eggs weren't available at the time, may have been a bird flu problem at the time though.
Staff are very friendly and the service in the lobby bar is quite good, make sure you tip and they look after you.
We went earlier than June 2013, around April.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDYMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Caoyang / Zhenru
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#21 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#59 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#39 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Address: No.338 Hengfeng Road, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Courtyard Shanghai Puxi)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#20 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Puxi Marriott Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing