We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The shower!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
Ranked #67 of 5,138 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We spend here several nights in two periods in October.
First,we stayed two nights,and arrived at 9:00 am,hoping to be given our room, but we were denied. Our tour guide negotiate, and we were given our room, plus passes to the breakfast buffet. Our room was in the 6th floor, and it was very spacious and big. There is a small corridor, with a sofa, and next to it,the mini bar with glass cups and a machine to boil water. The beds are fine, and there its controls next to the night table, so you can control the lighting. The bathroom its very big as well and pretty! The toilet its Toto, so it was an experience for us. Also, there are two sinks, a bath tub and a walk in shower, plus a t.v. The shower was exquisite! I really enjoyed this.
Also, in the elevator, you can see the pearl orient tower!
We had a very pleasant stay but..
In our 2nd stay, we asked for the same room, and we were given one in the 9th floor, almost exactly. The room was the same, except for the glass behind the bed, which in the previously room was somewhat polarized, and in this, was clear, so you can see clearly the person in the bath, meanwhile you are in the bedroom. We asked to be changed, but our old room was occupy, then, in talks and changes, lost our dinner reservation in other restaurant. Finally, the in-charge lady sent housekeeping to put sheets in the glass. We claimed some complimentary dinner, because we spent 1 hr fixing this, but the lady denied. So we had a bad time, arguing with her.
Overall, loved the room, but I think the management dont know how to handle this type of problems.
The service of the hostess and bell boys was very different, always willing to help and friendly.
I dont know If I'll be back. The area its a little away. There its a drugstore 1 block away, and the pub from the hotel next to it, but nothing else. You have to walk 20-30 min to the actual Bund.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

Only stayed for one night - wish it could have been a few days longer! We had a room on the ninth floor, which was beautifully equipped - all toiletries, mini bar, bath robes etc. Had a meal in the restaurant- quite pricey, but we expected that (too tired too venture out!) but very tasty. Staff friendly but limited English. Breakfast was a bit of a let down, but, all in all, a very pleasant stay. I can't understand why the hotel wasn't busier!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzy005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The other reviews of this hotel are all correct and helpful to travellers, my extras are:- The Hotel is lacking a relaxing lounge area in the vast lobby, what a pity, there were a few times when I would have loved to linger, people watch and have a quiet drink. There is the space but not the seating! The only seating available is by reception and this can be a very busy area.
We didn't try the 3 restaurants but did sample the attached Pub, the pub makes its own delicious but VERY expensive beer. The menu was limited but sufficient for tired British travellers, menu in English available ---- the only problem was that my meal came 25 minutes before my husbands! this allowed us to get used to the Chines way of sharing meals. We discovered with the help of our Guide a wonderful Chinese fast food restaurant close by, turn L out of the hotel, L again, walk past 2 cafes, then a super looking Family tables restaurant then you arrive at the fast food and a supermarket. No English is spoken but all food is clearly in show you just point and nod politely! We had a fish, plus 4 bowls of veg some with meat, a bowl of rice and a large bottle of beer for the equivalent of £4.00! Some food a was spicy some not, all very good----- and a challenge to share the fish out with only chop sticks!!! A memorable meal, fun, experimental and very cheap. I'm sure you will enjoy china, The Sunrise and hopefully the fast food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAYNOR W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is our fifth hotel on our travels around china and although they have all been very good this beats the lot. Our room on the ninth floor is beautifully equipped, the beds are like clouds to sink into and the bathroom is amazing. The shower and freestanding bath are in a wet room situation and the loo has heated seat plus other electric amenities you just have to try. We had a drink in the bar on the 22nd floor last night and the view over Shanghai is worth seeing, all lit up and spectacular. Go early because they switch the lights off before 11pm to save electricity . We went to the acrobatic show at Shanghai Central , worth seeing, amazing feats of juggling and gymnastics, .
Breakfast in the hotel is excellent but we haven't eaten here so can't comment on the restaurants.

Room Tip: The higher up you go the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Received excellent service from the moment we arrived. Hotel is tucked away from the actual Bund but close enough by taxi. We had a separate room for our two boys (10 & 12) who loved the independence of lying on the comfortable beds watching old-time corny movies. The breakfast selection was superb, spent a relaxing hour there one morning trying a variety of tasty treats. The rooms were well appointed with cable TV above the bath in our room. The bell & whistles on the Western Style toilets made a welcome change from the traditional toilets found in China's public facilities. A minor quibble was the quality of the installation of the fittings in the bathrooms, they were American Standard but some of the fittings were loose and appeared not to be installed correctly. We were gifted this hotel stay as a present from my wife's brother and it turned out to be one of the highlights of our time in Shanghai. PS If you wish to have dinner within walking distance of the hotel there is an excellent Chinese Restaurant **** around the corner to your left as you exit the hotel.

Room Tip: Views aren't that impressive so I suggest getting little extras like cable TV above the bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene' S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on a tour of China. Its supposed to be a new build hotel, however, when walking into the hotel foyer you could be forgiven for thinking it had been there for decades.
Having said that, the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean comfortable, (although our room was a bit dark).
One sticking point is that the hotel name belies its location. It is Not on the Bund... Its approximately 15 minutes walk from the Bund, so it should actually be called Sunrise "Near the Bund"... Other than that its a perfectly acceptable hotel and would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BartandGunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Super hotel. Fairly newly built, location looks a little strange, however only 2 minutes walk from The Bund. Food in the restaurant was good. It was also fine in the'Pub' next door owned by the hotel. Hotel staff were very accommodating, supplied us with extra coffee sachets when we asked. (We did take the empty ones to show them, just to ease the situation.) Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 104AnnieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
Astor House Hotel
Astor House Hotel
#83 of 5,138 in Shanghai
1,127 reviews
Hongkou
Ocean Hotel Shanghai
Ocean Hotel Shanghai
#107 of 5,138 in Shanghai
296 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#187 of 5,138 in Shanghai
305 reviews
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
#48 of 5,138 in Shanghai
878 reviews
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise On The Bund Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise On The Bund Hotel

Address: No.168 Gaoyang Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 5,138 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £70 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunrise On The Bund Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel is centrally located in the heart of The North Bund, minutes away from The North Bund Green Land. The hotel is conveniently accessible via 3 tunnels-DaLian Road Tunnel, The Bund Tunnel & XinJian Road Tunnel 2. Also, for another efficient alternative for travelers, the hotel is within a 5 minute walking distance from TiLanQiao Station exit no. 3 Of Metro Line 12. Sunrise On The Bund is an old Shanghai and European style luxury 5 star hotel, providing 140 luxurious rooms and 11 suites. The Hotel features 4 high-end restaurants-Crystal Cafe, Tainan Tan-Tsu-Mien Seafood Restaurant, Sho-u To Japanese Restaurant, and Zan Teppanyaki. We also provide 2 distinct bars-The Lobby Lounge and Old Captain Bar renovated from an old villa circa 1932 located on 136 GaoYang Road. For catering needs, the hotel provides our Grand Ball Room with a total area of 420sqm and 7 separate meeting rooms ranging 35-160sqm. Tailor-made menus and fine wines are available, accommodating up to 590 people. The L Spa and Fitness Center features a 20 x 8 meter indoor star-light pool, unique Energy Crystal Steam Room, Japanese Style Sauna, Twin Jacuzzi Pools with hot and cold water, and 9 private Spa rooms providing variety of massage styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunrise On The Bund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing