We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most bang for the buck for HHonors in Shanghai!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Ranked #56 of 4,967 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Most bang for the buck for HHonors in Shanghai!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

I've been to Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao for 3 times and immediately loved it since my first stay.

The hotel is a superb property in terms of:

(1) Brand new property and contemporary decor

(2) Great breakfast in a restaurant, with a good combination of western, Chinese, and Japanese food.

(3) Most importantly, I always got a nice upgrade as a diamond member. Even the deluxe room is far far far better than Hilton Shanghai's executive floor rooms.

Unfortunately, all these benefits come with a cost - the location of Hongqiao isn't that great.

However, since my initial stay, I have maneuvered my booking to stay at this hotel, if possible. The front desk and concierge staff is very forthcoming and friendly.

Simply cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wende L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSHHongqiao, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Greetings from Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel feedback on your recent stay experience at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao.

I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel and I will pass on your comments to the hotel team members.

Indeed, whilst the hotel is located away from the city, there are quite a few attractions located nearer to where we are such as the Hong Mei pedestrian road which you had already discovered. The walking pathway to this street is indeed well planned and there is an overhead bridge for pedestrians to use. There is also the Gubei Pedestrian street located just behind the hotel and this is just a 10 minutes’ walk.

We do hope on your next visit you would be able to discover these areas and do ask the concierge for the shortest cut by foot to these places.

Best regards,

Brice Pean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    336
    82
    19
    27
See reviews for
48
50
43
612
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
96 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

This is probably not a family hotel as not too much on offer for kids etc; but for the travelling business person its incredible

Location: close to Hongqiao airport; and about an hour from Pudong airport
Across the street from Hongqiao Golf club (9-hole, driving range, store etc) - open to public
Across the street from the pedestrian bar/restaurant street - Shanghai Brewery a personal recommendation
Its about a 10 minute drive from the French Concession (eat at 'Lost Heaven' when there)

Business Center: very well equipped
Internet: chargeable at US$ 25 per day
Concierge: friendly and helpful

Rates: I got better deals on Hilton.Com than any other - so hotel website is really good

Rooms: HUGE / great views / great work station / shower-toilet all spacious

Breakfast - i ate at the coffee shop and was good
There are other restaurants but due to work could not try them at the hotel

I recommend this hotel

WHAT I DID NOT LIKE:
Anywhere you go (except the golf course really) you would perhaps need a cab - even if just a short distance.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarshadDASWANI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSHHongqiao, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review, 26 December 2011
Greetings from Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel feedback on your recent stay experience at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao.

I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel and I will pass on your comments to the hotel team members.

Indeed, whilst the hotel is located away from the city, there are quite a few attractions located nearer to where we are such as the Hong Mei pedestrian road which you had already discovered. The walking pathway to this street is indeed well planned and there is an overhead bridge for pedestrians to use. There is also the Gubei Pedestrian street located just behind the hotel and this is just a 10 minutes walk.

We do hope hope on your next visit you would be able to discover these areas and do ask the concierge for the shortest cut by foot to these places.

Best regards,

Brice Pean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Like Wangfujing this Hilton is a better than usual offering. Maybe it's how Hilton operates in China? Car was not there at airport. Young guy at Hilton airport desk had limited but serviceable english and did absolute backflips to get a car for me and colleagues, chased away the hire car piranhas and shepparded us through airport until car arrived. All totally unnecessary but top service. Quick check in at hotel. Good pool. Live music at bar. They did run out of Xing Tao but maybe they hadn’t expected 4 thirst Aussies. 5 minute walk to Pedestrian Street eateries and shopping strip were less pushy vendors than Beijing. 20 mins cab ride to The Bund. Doorman very polite and good with directs. Good staff all round.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fallsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSHHongqiao, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review, 16 December 2011
Greetings from Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel feedback on your recent stay experience at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao.

I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel and I will pass on your comments to the hotel team members.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best regards,

Brice Pean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALAYSIA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

In a “space challenged” city like Shanghai, The Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao is a welcome relief.
From the cavernous marble lobby to the chocolate-hued rooms to the extra-large all day dining restaurant, this hotel has capitalized on it’s biggest asset – space.
Being new guarantees everything is in working condition. Staff are efficient & courteous. And prompt.
The location is a little off the center but there is talk about a complimentary shuttle bus service that should solve this issue immediately. Having said that, it’s only 15 minutes by taxi to the French Concession during off peak hours. As for the room, I had a very cozy room with excellent bath amenities. It was short on nothing. Great gym & spa facilties. The indoor pool was adequate and clean.
Did I mention the best hotel croissants I’ve ever tasted?

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSHHongqiao, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Greetings from Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel feedback on your recent stay experience at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao.

I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel and I will pass on your comments to the hotel team members.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best regards,

Brice Pean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

This was an amazing hotel!
The customer service, rooms, pool, and spa were amazing.
I had room service and dined in the restaurant. The food was very good, although quite expensive especially the buffet.
There are great local restaurants within a kilometer and shopping is great at the Shanghai's Hongqaio Pearl Market also within walking distance (and much easier than taking a cab).
I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSHHongqiao, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Greetings from Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel feedback on your recent stay experience at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao.

I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel and I will pass on your comments to the hotel team members.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best regards,

Brice Pean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

The hotel is brand new, enormous and appears to have every available luxury, but is somewhat lacking in personality. I was only here for two nights, but ate in the coffee shop for breakfast and dinner, and found the service somewhat lacking. The waiting staff definitely need more training, and to dispense with the very odd procedure of removing all of the cutlery and glasses from the table when you order, only to replace them with different ones some time later - I really didn't understand the point! They were all very pleasant but had to keep coming back and checking our order as they had obviously not understood what we wanted. We also had to ask for an ice bucket for white wine, which ought to be standard procedure in a hotel of this calibre/price.
Everything is on a very grand scale, the lobby is vast and the rooms huge and well equipped, with excellent bathroom facilities.
It was everything I would expect from a 5 star business hotel, with the exception of the restaurant service.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reddersj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSHHongqiao, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Greetings from the Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao!

We thank you for taking time to provide the feedback on your recent stay experience at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao!

We do appreciate your comments on the lack of service which you had experienced in our outlets. It is via these comments that we can continue to improve our service and ensure shortcomings such as these do recur.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best regards,

Brice Pean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Amazing, modern and luxurious. This is the only hotel I have ever stayed at with a trampoline in the gym. And it is not a small trampoline, but a large modern one, fit for the olympics (if trampoline was an olympic sport). The trampoline is only one example of the details, the luxury and the space available in this Hilton. The staff and the service was great. But, there were two areas of caution. First, my room was modern and well appointed. My boss stayed in the other tower. His room had different decor and it was great, but different, and not very attractive to me. Also, the location is not near any tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Make sure the room decor fits your taste, or switch towers. Also, get a room far from the highway o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank penpalpenpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSHHongqiao, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Greetings from Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel feedback on your recent stay experience at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao.

I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel. Whilst our location is away from the main city centre, Hongqiao is fast becoming a commercial hub and has a couple of shopping areas within walking distance of the hotel. The public transportation is nearby our hotel and easy to go any tourist attractions.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best regards,

Brice Pean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#53 of 4,967 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#85 of 4,967 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao
Changfeng Park
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao

Property: Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Address: No.1116 Hongsong East Road, Shanghai 201103, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#56 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#152 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Hongqiao business district, the three-tower Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao is close to metro lines and within walking distance of entertainment venues. Relax in the spacious guest rooms and enjoy the wide range of facilities including the spa. The Grand Ballroom is ideal for private functions and can accommodate over 1,000 people while the two restaurants serve up cuisine from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing