We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average and no happy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Ranked #55 of 4,969 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average and no happy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Have stayed in this hotel before, only stayed one night and fly back, cause the location near SHA.But have to say not happy this time and will choose another next time. Taxi from SHA, 50RMB,20 minutes. I booked non-smoking room but there is smoking smell make me crazy. Requested to change to non-smoking but need to be upgrade and pay extra.

Room Tip: There is a bar street outside the hotel if you love night life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelie_T316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSHHongqiao, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear Ms. Amelie,

Thank you for your sharing your candid feedback on Tripadvisor. I regret to read that your recent stay was not up to expectations and that you were assigned a non-smoking room with a smoke scent. This is certainly not acceptable and, hence, please accept my apologies.

We are sometimes confronted with guests that do smoke in their room, despite being on a non-smoking floor. Albeit such rooms are being deep-cleaned at all times, it appears that our efforts have not been satisfactory. For me to better assess on what has happened (also regarding the requirement for a paid upgrade), I would appreciate if you can provide me with your contact details as well as your stay dates. Please contact me directly on mike.williamson@hilton.com.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Mike Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    336
    82
    19
    27
See reviews for
48
50
43
612
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

I stayed on Dec 23 and 24 after a long flight from Sydney. This Hilton is an outstanding hotel in terms of service and comfort. As a diamond member I was upgraded to the Executive floor and there were fruits, dessert and even a bottle of Shiraz and a welcome card. Executive guests are given priority check-in at Tower 3 which is excludively for Executive guests only. The Excecutive Floor Lounge (L3) serves wide selection of breakfast - both Chinese and Continental food, light afternoon tea and evening snacks & drinks which are good enough for dinner! The Lounge staff are very friendly and attentive.
I was not feeling well so I did not use the gym or the pool and only had a light meal at the Level 1 buffet restaurant which also serves ala carte meal.
My room is spacious (about 60m2 ?) posh, with a big TV on turn plate which allows bed or sofa viewing.The ligting design may work not to individual's expectation, nevertheless its a nice design. The only con probably is that the bathroom light can't be on when the bed lights are off. The coolest TV is the mirror facing the big tub - allows soaking in water and TV brewing...
The work station has a very sleek modern professoinal feel and it allows most shapes power plug in. I bet very few so called international hotels cater for international guests needs to this minor detail ?
Another minor flaws may be that the long link between the Tower 3 and main lobby which either from outside or internally via steps..
I choose this hotel because I prefer to be close to Hongqiao airport and train station. And I enjoyed my short stay despite not in good physical condiitons to use some of the facilities. I am returning for 2 nights during New Year to finish off my trip to China.

Room Tip: Stay in the Excutive floors - special treatment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clem_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSHHongqiao, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Greetings from Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao!

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is indeed a pleasure to read through your encouraging comments, as well as the recommendations you make with regards to the lighting. The Executive Tower (Tower 3) opened in April 2012, and is only accessible for our Executive Guests; including our Diamond Members. As such, it is a “hotel, within a hotel” and provides all hotel services to our Executive Guests – including separate entrance, elevators, front desk, lounge, meeting rooms and library.

I truly hope you will be coming to our hotel again soon and that I will have the possibility to then welcome you in person. Please feel free to contact me directly on mike.williamson@hilton.com if you wish to make your next travel arrangements. For now, I hope you have fully recovered after your busy travel schedule.

Kind regards,

Mike Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

Generally I took Hilton as my 1st choice when I travel around the world. But this one is just a so-so hotel which not make me any memory. I spend almost 1 week in august which is the low season, the staff here still can not remember me & my decaf-cafe. I could joined better if the hotel care more about customer experience here.

Room Tip: You tell me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamRockRoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSHHongqiao, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Greetings from Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your stay with us in August. In your comment, you mentioned that you were not given sufficient personal attention and recognition during your stay. Clearly, this is not in line with how we would like all our guests to feel welcomed in a warm and hospitable way. Rest assured that I will share your valuable feedback with all our Team Members and that we will take action for such things to happen again in the future. Nonetheless I hope that we may welcome you again in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly on mike.williamson@hilton.com if you wish to make your next reservation, so I can ensure you will be well-looked after.

Kind regards,

Mike Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012 via mobile

As this is my first review on this site, I would like to state that I also work in the hospitality industry, and I have a solid understanding of what 5-star service entails. With that said, Hilton Hongqiao is not quite there in terms of service. I am a HHonors gold member, and when I arrived at the front desk, nothing was prepared for me, and I ended up waiting quite a while to check-in. I placed my credit card on the front desk, which should indicate that I was using that card for my deposit, and the front desk worker ended up asking me three times if I wanted to use that card. When asking concierge for directions, the work did not lift his head to even address me and kept typing away at his keyboard. The staff at the executive lounge and fitness center at least knew how to greet me with a smile, but as the for the rest of the hotel staff, I was met with cold looks or they simply chose to ignore me.

Upon entering my room, I found there to be no welcome letter or welcome fruit, and I had to call the Magic line twice to ask about my gold member benefits and wifi access. These were all minor inconveniences, but I expect better from a Hilton brand, especially in such an international city as Shanghai. With all that said, the hotel was quick to send the fruit to my room after I informed them. Also, the facilities are very nice. The guest rooms are spacious and well-designed. My view from my room was of a construction site, but that's not the hotel's fault. The gym and executive lounge were also on par with other Hilton hotels that I've stayed in. Overall, it was a good experience, but like I said, the VIP preparations need some improving.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSHHongqiao, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear Mr. Danny,

Thank you for your elaborate review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. As a “co-hotelier” we appreciate your valuable insights and suggestions on how we can make the stay at our hotel more memorable. Having said that, I do apologize that you were not given the full attention you may expect; in particular as you are a HHonors Gold member. Each morning, my team and I are going through the list of VIP arrivals to ensure that the rooms are fully prepared and that the amenities have been delivered. Yet, it seems that during your stay, this process has not been waterproof. For that I would like to apologize and I will discuss with my front office team on how we can prevent these things to happen in the future. It would be helpful if you can contact me on mike.williamson@hilton.com to advise me your name as well as your arrival date, so we can review in further detail.

Nonetheless, I am grateful to read that you did enjoy our spacious guest rooms, gym and executive lounge. We certainly hope that we may welcome you again in the not too-distant future. Please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to make your next reservation.

I look forward to hearing from you and wishing you a happy New Year!

Kind regards,

Mike Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
208 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

The hotel is either quite new or recently renovated. Stayed here for conference and the meeting rooms were fine. The double bedroom was nicely designed, probably the most spacious I ever experienced, but couldn't really figured out the lighting system. Nice gym and indoor pool. Good services in general and what really impressed me were the breakfast and lunch buffets, excellent choices. If you are new to Shanghai, this hotel location is easily 45min to the bund, depending on traffic.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSHHongqiao, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Greetings from Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao!

Thank you for sharing your encouraging feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our spacious bedrooms and that you had time to try our extensive gym and wellness facilities. I will forward your comments to our all our team members, particularly to the culinary team. Together with our Engineering Department I will explore if there are any possibilities to make the guest room lighting system more “user friendly”.

Our hotel opened late 2010 and has among the largest guest rooms (>46 sqm) and conference facilities in Shanghai (including a 1,706 sqm ballroom). Albeit the hotel is not located in the down-town area, it is in close proximity to Hongqiao Airport and Shanghai Highspeed Railway station. We do provide complimentary shuttle service to the Bund, so please inform our concierge during your next stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel soon. If you wish to make your next reservation, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on mike.williamson@hilton.com.

Kind regards,

Mike Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Staying at this level hotel and you expect only the best. It seems that Hilton forgets such. Yes, the room is big and nice, but nobody understands the light system. You turn off the main and you can't get reading light or bathroom light. The spot of each lamp is useless. There is no cotton bud. They put small soap holder so you have to manage the shower gel and shampoo. The worst is their key cards as I need to ask for new ones twice (and see that others have the same problem). I would have given excellent if it's not Hilton.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pichetbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSHHongqiao, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Greetings from Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao!

Thanks you for being honest and candid about your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate your feedback and insights. Whilst we are pleased to read that you were happy with our new spacious 46 sqm guest rooms, I am very sorry to learn that you experienced certain difficulties during your stay. Be assured that I am reviewing together with my engineering team on how we can improve the user friendliness of our lighting system and to ensure that our key card system works flawlessly. On the other hand, I do not fully agree with your comments regarding the cotton pad and soap holder, as both are provided in each bathroom. Additional cotton pads can always be requested with our “Magic” team, who will be bringing these up to your room, 24/7.

Albeit I do apologize that your stay has not been fully up to your expectations, I would welcome the opportunity to have your stay with us again during your next trip to Shanghai. Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly via mike.williamson@hilton.com if you wish to make your next booking. I can then personally take care of your reservation and stay.

Kind regards,

Mike Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

First internet on room is charged without prior notice.i have only make logout after acess and in the other day I have a impressionant invoice. They don't inform that logout is not enough. We must disconnect wi-fi, otherwise we are supporting Hilton bennefits. Incredible way to take money from customers, specially for a respectable brand as Hilton.
Rooms are nice but rumorous. The ventilation system makes a all night rumour, not aceptable on a 5 stars hotel. Check in and check out are slowly. Too much expensive for China.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cristovao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSHHongqiao, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Greetings from Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao!

Thank you for your posting on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us. Reading through the large number of contributions on this site, I understand that you are a very seasoned traveler and, therefore, I appreciate your valuable feedback! Obviously, I am disappointed to read that you experienced certain shortcomings during your stay which, therefore, has not been up to “Hilton standard”. For that, I would like to apologize.

In order to prevent such matters to be repeated in the future, my team and I have started to investigate on what has happened. As your concerns are fairly specific, I would be grateful if you can contact me directly via mike.williamson@hilton.com. I can then have a better understanding on when you stayed with us, in which room. We can then take necessary actions.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Mike Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#53 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#83 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao
Changfeng Park
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao

Property: Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Address: No.1116 Hongsong East Road, Shanghai 201103, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#55 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#152 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Hongqiao business district, the three-tower Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao is close to metro lines and within walking distance of entertainment venues. Relax in the spacious guest rooms and enjoy the wide range of facilities including the spa. The Grand Ballroom is ideal for private functions and can accommodate over 1,000 people while the two restaurants serve up cuisine from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing