We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, best price, best service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Ranked #232 of 5,031 Hotels in Shanghai
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Location, best price, best service”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The hotel is located very close to the Yuyuan Garden subway station (exit 4). You just have to cross the road after getting out of the station. Very convenient to reach the hotel. From the high speed train station, we took a subway (Line 10) and it was direct to the Yuyuan garden. took around 30 mins in reaching the hotel. The hotel is in a very good location. The Bund and the People's Square are at walking distances, 7/11 and family mart just next to the hotel. And also as the subway station is so close, every other places in the city is easily accessible. The staff was very friendly and really helpful. They knew little bit of english. We didnt find any issue with language in the hotel. The rooms were very clean. It is very much value for money. I would recommend this hotel very much and also will stay here again next time I am in Shanghai.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PraveenRavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    30
    19
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
17
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
169 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

A stone's throw from Yuyan Station (exit 4) which is convenient flying into Hongqiao airport as it is on Line 10 and only takes 25 mins to the airport by subway.

Reception area is a bit smoky and the staff can speak basic English. I had a room on the 4th floor and was worried it would be smoky but it was fine and quite homely. Some garish flower wallpaper on the walls makes the room seem a bit dark but I thought it was cosy.

The bed was comfortable and the bathroom small but adequate. Plenty of TV channels if you need and good free wifi and internet throughout the hotel. Complimentary bottles of water too.

Highly recommended if looking for a decent place to stay in a great location, YuYuan and old street less than 10 mins, Bund 10-15 mins, East Nanjing Street about 20 min walk.

Line 10 does close a little early the last trains being around 10.15pm but taxis are generally plentiful and cheap if you are out late.

Would definitely stay there again next time in Shanghai

Room Tip: Try to get the top floor with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrrfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Located in a slightly aged building, the hotel provides the budget traveler a solid place to start exploring the city from the Puxi side of Shanghai.

Just a stone's throw away is the Yuyuan Garden subway station (Line 10). A 7-Eleven and Family Mart convenience stores are right near the entrance to the hotel.

The front desk was friendly and do speak basic english. The rooms are small and provides the basic bed/shower facility which are generally clean. As a single bed looks too uncomfortable for me, I opted for a bigger bed (Room 308). Handsoap/toothbrush/toothpaste are included, and the shampoo/shower foam comes in a wall mounted dispenser. Do bring your own razer/shaving cream though as I didn't see any. There is sometimes the smell of smoke in the lobby and common corridors but luckily my room was smoke free. There really isn't much closet space to hang my clothes but there are drawers available. Unfortunately my room was facing the front so there are still lots of noises from the street, so try taking a room facing the backalley if you're a light sleeper.. LCD TV provides you with viewing of local chinese channels. :) And if you need an early wakeup call, do let the front desk know.

However, you can't beat the location. Shanghai Old Street is also nearby and if you have the time, do try walking to the Bund.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the backalley should be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lcpteck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Not to be confused with another Manhattan Business Hotel in Dianchi Road (the cab driver thought I wanted to get to the hotel in Dianchi Road).

The Yuyuan Garden station (metro Line 10) is just a stone's throw away. There are convenience stores located right next to the hotel, and local restaurants available around the vicinity (take note of their closing time though, as they close rather early when I visited in October).

The walk to the Bund took us around 15 minutes and to Yuyuan Garden, it took us less than 10 minutes.

The hotel itself is not very grand. But for the price you pay for, don't expect 5 stars facilities. I booked a twin bed room with no windows. It was just nice for the two of us, with our large luggages. All the basic facilities are there and I have no complaints about the room. It was clean (maybe they need to vacuum under the side table more often) and cosy for me.

The front office staff are very friendly and helpful. They gave us good advice on estimated travel time and cab cost, although most of the time I took the metro since it's very convenient. However, do take note of the Line 10 operation hours. The last train leaves Hongqiao Railway Station at around 10pm (quite early, in my opinion). They also allowed us to store our luggage with them when we were away at other cities.

For the price I paid and the proximity of the hotel's location to the metro station and 2 major attractions (Yuyuan Garden and the Bund), I find this a very good deal.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GoddessEneri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

After staying Shanghai Chenlong Business Hotel for a night, I changed my hotel immediately. My friend helped me to book this hotel. It costs around 280rmb/ night.

The room is clean in general. I stayed there for 2 nights. I noticed that they didn't really change the bedsheet every night though. There was even a LCD TV and a balcony.

This is a very good budget hotel with a great location! It is only like 2 mins away from the Yuyuan Garden subway station. It was around 10mins away from YuYuan Garden and 15mins away from the Bund.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francescalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
#200 of 5,031 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
People’s Square
Pretty House Haodu Hotel
Pretty House Haodu Hotel
#222 of 5,031 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#605 of 5,031 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
#172 of 5,031 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#139 of 5,031 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Xinlong River Hotel
Shanghai Xinlong River Hotel
#661 of 5,031 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Jinling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Jinling Hotel

Property: Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Address: No.58 Henan South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 5,031 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manhattan Jinling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Manhattan Jinling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing