We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overall okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Ranked #214 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“overall okay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

room is small, hardly any walking space but is clean and comfortable for me.. I find the staff are nice and they had even arrange a land tour for me where the bus can pick me up directly from the hotel. there is a 7 eleven store right beside so you can just get anything from there..

the only issue is cabs are not able to stop infront of the hotel as the path way in front is all railed up so it was quite awkward for me with a big luggage..

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyTeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    30
    19
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
17
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

It is all positives for me in this hotel. The staff is really friendly, helpful and responsive as long as you are the first to greet. A staff member came with me to the convenience store to help me recharge my mobile phone.
The location is amazing, so close to everything, on foot or by public transport.
My only negatives for the hotel are the lack of private safes and bar fridge in the room and the noise. Although I was changed to a back room, it is still noisy
There is a good street corner noodle shop just in the corner of Renmin Rd and the little alley beyond the hotel. They hand pull the noodles in front of you. Very convenient and the food is delicious. If interested, contact me for translation of menu. Their speciality is braised beef with noodles although they have two types of fried rice as well. Take a picture of the menu and ask at the hotel for someone to translate it for you. The price is very affordable at max 20 to 30 yuan for a bowl of noodle soup. The small one is big enough. Average price 12 rmb

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joco1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

The hotel is a 4 storey old building with elevators. Yuyuan Metro station just around 200m away (or less). We took the metro train to get to the hotel directly from Pudong International Airport, it takes about 1 hour 20mins and the cost is just only RMB7.
We booked a Deluxe room. It is small but clean and comfy especially the bed. The room has a 2 panel-doors but they can’t open fully and a balcony but it is not accessible. The plastic-like toilet is a little shock to me fortunately the water pressure is fine and the hot water is working good.
Kettle and hair dryer are provided in the room and 2 bottles of complementary drinking water will be replenished daily.
Front desk staffs are not friendly. During our 3-nights stay we have never been greeted by the hotel staffs nor a smile. In 2 occasions, we saw a senior staff scolding the junior (loudly) in front of the guests, making us quite nerve-racking to talk to them.
There is no free travelling maps or broachers in the hotel but you can borrow the map from the front desk and return it upon check-out.
A 24-hours convenience shop is just next to the hotel. Yuyuan and ChengHuang Temple is walking distance. You can also walk to The Bund just about 1km. Can’t find good food around the hotel instead, many musical instrument shops.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenklkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

I stayed here after coming back to Shanghai to look for a new apartment for about 6 days last month (end of February). The lobby smells of smoke (as most Chinese lobbies do at mid range priced hotels). The decor a bit busy with flower wallpaper in the rooms and maroon color carpet, but the location central and convenient just a two minute walk from line 10 Yuyuan metro stop, and the price: decent, if just passing through. Not the worse or best in Shanghai, but certainly clean, comfortable bed and very kind staff.
Upon arriving without my wallet, the owner paid for my taxi ride (after the police were called by taxi driver himself), offered me money for dinner, and asked if there was anything he could do until I located my wallet on the flight over. Very kind, helpful staff and owner. Let me borrow money without knowing me, or me having to ask. Blown away by his level of perception and unsolicited helpfulness. Not the best around, but for price, comfort, and service, definitely recommend this hotel. Slept super well on the comfortable bed! Other pro's: hot water all day, everyday, replenished 2 bottles of water each day, water boiler to make instant coffee or ramen noodles in the room. Con's: cigarette smell, internet connection a bit slow or dropped at times (but this will be the case with almost all hotels in Shanghai at this price range!)

Room Tip: Stayed in the deluxe because they had no standards, but I think the standard is definitely ok for pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AddieGonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

+ Plus +
Great location near The Bund and Yuyuan Garden
Metro station within 200 meters.
Good value for the money (220 yen/night). Usable WiFi available in the room.
I would stay there again.

- Minus -
Not shiny clean but since it's a quite old hotel that's expected.
When the SH outdoor temperature were below 0 degrees at night the room got a bit cold at night
Some staff/cleaners(?) talked a bit too loud in walkie talkie in the corridors in the morning
Some of the staff had problems to understand and speak english, but they were friendly

Helpful?
Thank Mattias N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

This hotel is small & is in a need of a make over. The bathroom is small & it feels like you are in a portable toilet. There is not much ventilation & the hot water doesn't get too hot. There wasn't much wardrobe space to hang clothes. We had a window by the main street so it was very noisy & you can hear the beeping of cars at night. They do provide Wifi but it is very slow. The hotel does provide 2 free bottles of water but there is a 7-11 & another convenience store just downstairs. The staff are friendly & do speak English.

In terms of location it is fantastic. As soon as you exit the hotel, turn right & cross the road & you will be at a subway station. Walk a further 5-8 minutes & you will get to Yuyuan Garden. Plenty of shops & great places to eat. Best place for dumplings is there as well! If you turn left when exiting the hotel & walk 10-15 minutes you will get to the famous "The Bund". This is the strip where you can see the river & the famous Shanghai cityscape. A lot of the old colonial buildings are here too & you can even catch the hop on - hop off tourist bus which will take you around to all the best places of Shanghai. As the name suggests, you can hop off at any of the destinations & then hop back on. Depending on your ticket, you can do this within a 24 or 48 hour period. Also in this direction (on the same road as the hotel - about 12 minutes walk) is Nanjing Road Shopping District. Closed to cars it is a very long street consisting of shops & restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the main street if you want a quiet sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located at the centre of the city.From entrance of hotel turn left to reach the Metro in less than 3 minutes.Convenient to use Metro to travel to different tourist attractions if you don't feel like walking too much. To the right of the hotel, you can walk to Nanjing Road,the longest Pedestrian Street in China.People's Square is nearby.24hr mini supermarket is 2 doors away from the hotel and a bank is next door on the right.The service at the front counter
is good and prompt.Staff are courteous and helpful. The free wifi is surprising fast and the best thing is you can get connected to the web in yr hotel room too. A real bonus.The room is small but sufficient.All facilities of a 4 star hotel can be found here too!The only drawback is you can't get to the hotel from the front. Make sure to get the hotel contact number and call the staff when you ask the taxi driver to drop you at the back of the hotel.Then, you call the front desk staff and press the door bell. They will open the door for you.This must be the only hotel where you carry your luggage to the back door. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Simpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
#195 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
People’s Square
Pretty House Haodu Hotel
Pretty House Haodu Hotel
#219 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#723 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
#183 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#145 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Xinlong River Hotel
Shanghai Xinlong River Hotel
#655 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Jinling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Jinling Hotel

Property: Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Address: No.58 Henan South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manhattan Jinling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Manhattan Jinling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing