We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cheap Stay with Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Ranked #410 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I chose this hotel since it was a bit inexpensive compared with other hotels in Shanghai. Of course, that meant sacrificing other services and comforts that goes with a higher price. One main selling point of the hotel for me was the location. It was near major tourist spots and a short walk to the Yu Yuan Metro Station. There is a FamilyMart convenience store right beside the hotel and many small shops selling noodles and milk tea. Exit through Exit 4 of the Yu Yuan Metro then go straight ahead, cross the street and you’ll find the hotel to your left. WiFi connection was good, even inside the room. Generally, the room was clean but small. It hardly had enough space to put my luggage in. The hallway smelled like cigarettes and the carpet looked quite old. I was on the third floor so I could hear the noise from outside.

The staff were friendly, although did not speak English that well. But they do make an effort to really understand you. Given the prices of other hotels in Shanghai, this hotel is worth considering. The location, connectivity, and service are satisfactory, but the room size and smell of cigarettes might be a turn off. I recommend staying at this hotel only if you are on a tight budget going to Shanghai.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank engdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

this hotel is cheap in expensive shanghai. i booked a single room, and wasn't expecting much. the hotel looks fine, decently clean. my room was quite small and had a low ceiling. the staff are quite helpful. location is great - 2 min walk from the subway station, and walking distance to the yuyuan for tourists. overall, cheap in expensive shanghai so pick this hotel for value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaron0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

room is small, hardly any walking space but is clean and comfortable for me.. I find the staff are nice and they had even arrange a land tour for me where the bus can pick me up directly from the hotel. there is a 7 eleven store right beside so you can just get anything from there..

the only issue is cabs are not able to stop infront of the hotel as the path way in front is all railed up so it was quite awkward for me with a big luggage..

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissyTeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

It is all positives for me in this hotel. The staff is really friendly, helpful and responsive as long as you are the first to greet. A staff member came with me to the convenience store to help me recharge my mobile phone.
The location is amazing, so close to everything, on foot or by public transport.
My only negatives for the hotel are the lack of private safes and bar fridge in the room and the noise. Although I was changed to a back room, it is still noisy
There is a good street corner noodle shop just in the corner of Renmin Rd and the little alley beyond the hotel. They hand pull the noodles in front of you. Very convenient and the food is delicious. If interested, contact me for translation of menu. Their speciality is braised beef with noodles although they have two types of fried rice as well. Take a picture of the menu and ask at the hotel for someone to translate it for you. The price is very affordable at max 20 to 30 yuan for a bowl of noodle soup. The small one is big enough. Average price 12 rmb

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joco1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The hotel is a 4 storey old building with elevators. Yuyuan Metro station just around 200m away (or less). We took the metro train to get to the hotel directly from Pudong International Airport, it takes about 1 hour 20mins and the cost is just only RMB7.
We booked a Deluxe room. It is small but clean and comfy especially the bed. The room has a 2 panel-doors but they can’t open fully and a balcony but it is not accessible. The plastic-like toilet is a little shock to me fortunately the water pressure is fine and the hot water is working good.
Kettle and hair dryer are provided in the room and 2 bottles of complementary drinking water will be replenished daily.
Front desk staffs are not friendly. During our 3-nights stay we have never been greeted by the hotel staffs nor a smile. In 2 occasions, we saw a senior staff scolding the junior (loudly) in front of the guests, making us quite nerve-racking to talk to them.
There is no free travelling maps or broachers in the hotel but you can borrow the map from the front desk and return it upon check-out.
A 24-hours convenience shop is just next to the hotel. Yuyuan and ChengHuang Temple is walking distance. You can also walk to The Bund just about 1km. Can’t find good food around the hotel instead, many musical instrument shops.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenklkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I stayed here after coming back to Shanghai to look for a new apartment for about 6 days last month (end of February). The lobby smells of smoke (as most Chinese lobbies do at mid range priced hotels). The decor a bit busy with flower wallpaper in the rooms and maroon color carpet, but the location central and convenient just a two minute walk from line 10 Yuyuan metro stop, and the price: decent, if just passing through. Not the worse or best in Shanghai, but certainly clean, comfortable bed and very kind staff.
Upon arriving without my wallet, the owner paid for my taxi ride (after the police were called by taxi driver himself), offered me money for dinner, and asked if there was anything he could do until I located my wallet on the flight over. Very kind, helpful staff and owner. Let me borrow money without knowing me, or me having to ask. Blown away by his level of perception and unsolicited helpfulness. Not the best around, but for price, comfort, and service, definitely recommend this hotel. Slept super well on the comfortable bed! Other pro's: hot water all day, everyday, replenished 2 bottles of water each day, water boiler to make instant coffee or ramen noodles in the room. Con's: cigarette smell, internet connection a bit slow or dropped at times (but this will be the case with almost all hotels in Shanghai at this price range!)

Room Tip: Stayed in the deluxe because they had no standards, but I think the standard is definitely ok for pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AddieGonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

+ Plus +
Great location near The Bund and Yuyuan Garden
Metro station within 200 meters.
Good value for the money (220 yen/night). Usable WiFi available in the room.
I would stay there again.

- Minus -
Not shiny clean but since it's a quite old hotel that's expected.
When the SH outdoor temperature were below 0 degrees at night the room got a bit cold at night
Some staff/cleaners(?) talked a bit too loud in walkie talkie in the corridors in the morning
Some of the staff had problems to understand and speak english, but they were friendly

Thank Mattias N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
#186 of 5,159 in Shanghai
140 reviews
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#638 of 5,159 in Shanghai
297 reviews
People’s Square
Pretty House Haodu Hotel
Pretty House Haodu Hotel
#213 of 5,159 in Shanghai
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#182 of 5,159 in Shanghai
248 reviews
People’s Square
Tianci Service Apartment
Tianci Service Apartment
#2,056 of 5,159 in Shanghai
28 reviews
People’s Square
Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
#86 of 5,159 in Shanghai
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Jinling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Jinling Hotel

Address: No.58 Henan South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #410 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £30 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manhattan Jinling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Manhattan Jinling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing