We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Ranked #402 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in July 2014 with a friend and the only thing you can get by staying in this hotel is Location. thats about it. tourism spots are in walking distance : Yu garden, the Bund, Nanjing Road ( too close to get there by car or taxi, but yet it was also quite a long walk! so make sure you have enough energy to walk or have big breakfast before out for sight seeing. my suggestion to go cheap sightseeing is by going to People's Square ( you can take metro from a 3 mnts walking metro station nearby hotel) and take sight seeing bus ( ticket is 40 yuan) which will take you around the city, much cheaper compare if you take taxi. this bus will pass by all the tourist spot where you can get off or better just sit back and enjoy the view from the bus :)

speaking of breakfast, no breakfast provided, but mini mart can be found only few steps from hotel. they don't provide spoon in the room which made me use a plastic fork i got from instant noodles to stir my tea or coffee ( oh they only give you complimentary tea, no coffee) and they also won't wash/replace your glass. so please be happy to do it by yourself. they will only clean your room upon request.

i didn't have problem with sleeping, becoz of too tired of walking i guess, but might want consider rooms in high level ( i was staying in 4th floor). room was small but descent, low ceiling, shower hot & cold water ok. staff not friendly, they won't bother to smile or greet you.

i must share this one pretty scary experience, not to discredit the hotel but hope if only they read my review it will be as an input for them to improve their service. One morning me & my friend were woke up by a noise came from the door, turn out someone was trying to enter our room, perhaps he/she got the wrong room, we weren't sure. however, that person coerced the door but couldn't made it in as the door was luckily locked from inside. i called out the operator and tell them what happened, the respond i got was only OK. i don't know whether they sent someone upstairs to check or not, but finally that person stopped trying to go in and left. maybe he/she just realize that it was the wrong room? i dont know...

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from the street
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twidyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Manhattan Jinling Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Cosy, older hotel that is a bit worn. Small but clean, comfortable room with compact, functional bathroom. Excellent location close to the subway station and a 10 minute walk to the Bund. Helpful staff and reasonable wifi. Our room overlooked a busy road but noise was not a problem. This review ignores one singular, discordant issue; discoloured caulking at the back of the bathroom sink (mould?). I did point it out to housekeeping and, hopefully, it was an anomaly that has been addressed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P&NC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I chose this hotel since it was a bit inexpensive compared with other hotels in Shanghai. Of course, that meant sacrificing other services and comforts that goes with a higher price. One main selling point of the hotel for me was the location. It was near major tourist spots and a short walk to the Yu Yuan Metro Station. There is a FamilyMart convenience store right beside the hotel and many small shops selling noodles and milk tea. Exit through Exit 4 of the Yu Yuan Metro then go straight ahead, cross the street and you’ll find the hotel to your left. WiFi connection was good, even inside the room. Generally, the room was clean but small. It hardly had enough space to put my luggage in. The hallway smelled like cigarettes and the carpet looked quite old. I was on the third floor so I could hear the noise from outside.

The staff were friendly, although did not speak English that well. But they do make an effort to really understand you. Given the prices of other hotels in Shanghai, this hotel is worth considering. The location, connectivity, and service are satisfactory, but the room size and smell of cigarettes might be a turn off. I recommend staying at this hotel only if you are on a tight budget going to Shanghai.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank engdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

this hotel is cheap in expensive shanghai. i booked a single room, and wasn't expecting much. the hotel looks fine, decently clean. my room was quite small and had a low ceiling. the staff are quite helpful. location is great - 2 min walk from the subway station, and walking distance to the yuyuan for tourists. overall, cheap in expensive shanghai so pick this hotel for value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaron0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

room is small, hardly any walking space but is clean and comfortable for me.. I find the staff are nice and they had even arrange a land tour for me where the bus can pick me up directly from the hotel. there is a 7 eleven store right beside so you can just get anything from there..

the only issue is cabs are not able to stop infront of the hotel as the path way in front is all railed up so it was quite awkward for me with a big luggage..

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissyTeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

It is all positives for me in this hotel. The staff is really friendly, helpful and responsive as long as you are the first to greet. A staff member came with me to the convenience store to help me recharge my mobile phone.
The location is amazing, so close to everything, on foot or by public transport.
My only negatives for the hotel are the lack of private safes and bar fridge in the room and the noise. Although I was changed to a back room, it is still noisy
There is a good street corner noodle shop just in the corner of Renmin Rd and the little alley beyond the hotel. They hand pull the noodles in front of you. Very convenient and the food is delicious. If interested, contact me for translation of menu. Their speciality is braised beef with noodles although they have two types of fried rice as well. Take a picture of the menu and ask at the hotel for someone to translate it for you. The price is very affordable at max 20 to 30 yuan for a bowl of noodle soup. The small one is big enough. Average price 12 rmb

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joco1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The hotel is a 4 storey old building with elevators. Yuyuan Metro station just around 200m away (or less). We took the metro train to get to the hotel directly from Pudong International Airport, it takes about 1 hour 20mins and the cost is just only RMB7.
We booked a Deluxe room. It is small but clean and comfy especially the bed. The room has a 2 panel-doors but they can’t open fully and a balcony but it is not accessible. The plastic-like toilet is a little shock to me fortunately the water pressure is fine and the hot water is working good.
Kettle and hair dryer are provided in the room and 2 bottles of complementary drinking water will be replenished daily.
Front desk staffs are not friendly. During our 3-nights stay we have never been greeted by the hotel staffs nor a smile. In 2 occasions, we saw a senior staff scolding the junior (loudly) in front of the guests, making us quite nerve-racking to talk to them.
There is no free travelling maps or broachers in the hotel but you can borrow the map from the front desk and return it upon check-out.
A 24-hours convenience shop is just next to the hotel. Yuyuan and ChengHuang Temple is walking distance. You can also walk to The Bund just about 1km. Can’t find good food around the hotel instead, many musical instrument shops.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenklkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
#195 of 5,111 in Shanghai
134 reviews
People’s Square
Pretty House Haodu Hotel
Pretty House Haodu Hotel
#226 of 5,111 in Shanghai
73 reviews
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#149 of 5,111 in Shanghai
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Charms Hotel
Charms Hotel
#1,319 of 5,111 in Shanghai
545 reviews
People’s Square
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
#353 of 5,111 in Shanghai
833 reviews
People’s Square
Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
#91 of 5,111 in Shanghai
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Jinling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Jinling Hotel

Address: No.58 Henan South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #402 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £33 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manhattan Jinling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Manhattan Jinling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing