We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal International Hotel
Ranked #106 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We stayed one night here as our plane was unable to land in Beijing due to the fog. From the outside the hotel did not look like anything special. But when we checked into our room, we were surprised how fancy the room was. It was spacious, very clean and comfortable. Some of the hotels I have stayed in China are a bit run down, but this hotel is very good. The bed is comfortable, facilities are new, and the bathroom is clean and big. There is even a TV in the bathroom. The staff is good and friendly, very helpful in assisting us in purchasing our train tickets to Beijing. The breakfast buffet is good as well. And there are other restaurants in the hotel is you do not like the buffet.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CnD0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for Royal International Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

the hotel is very nice. the employees are more that willing to help. food is pretty good. fitness center is adequate. location is ok. close to the subway, of which you can go just about anywhere.

Room Tip: rooma were all nice.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWCornwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We needed an Pudong Airport hotel overnight. After reading reviews on Trip Advisor.com, we decided on this hotel. It's fabulous...

Here are some hints to finding the hotel: go to tourist information and ask them to write the name and address of the hotel in Chinese. When you get to the taxi stand, show the Chinese paper to the supervisor. He will inform the driver which hotel it is. The charge was 100 yuan. We gave the driver $20.US and he was very happy. Check-in went smoothly. We were blown away by our room. (see attached photo). Crisp linens, flat screen TV's in the bedroom and bathroom. The breakfast buffet was outstanding, with lots of choices.

We've stayed in a lot of different hotels and this will be a very fond memory for us.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meade66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed here for one night as part of a flight to the UK with China Eastern Airlines. The hotel staff are extremely polite and efficient. Our room was luxurious with a fantastic shower and comfortable bed. Breakfast was the highlight with a huge selection to choose from. Very good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rprenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I spent a lot of money and anguish trying to locate this hotel, in Mandarin. Taxi driver asked numerous people for help-- no one could help us (in Mandarin). I finally found a Howard Johnsons (where someone spoke English) and stayed there, relieved to be safe and not running up taxi meters trying to find this hotel. Ho JOs was gorgeous and I got a free shuttle to the airport! I prebooked the rate for the Royal International Hotel over the internet, and when I tried to cancel the reservation, I couldn't cancel it, and I could NOT get a refund of my money upon returning to the U.S. So, if you take the chance to try to find this hotel, Do NOT prebook the reservation. Pay once you get there... if you can find it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
Thank janetmedlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I stayed at the Royal International after a long flight from Canada in order to catch a morning flight. I had a map to the hotel but even then the cabbie had a difficult time finding it--at least he called the hotel to ask for directions.
The room was very good, clean with nice furniture and a good bed. There were several English channels on the TV.
The food at the restaurant was pretty good--lots of choices including western and Chinese--but nothing to write home about. There were a few other choices near the hotel.
Overall. the hotel is well-situated for the airport, although there are closer hotels. The area in which this hotel is located has little of interest, but I did enjoy a walk in the evening.
Friendly staff, with good enough English.
I used the free airport shuttle to get back to the airport; unfortunately I didn't know about the free shuttle going to the hotel. I don't think it was indicated on the hotel website.
I will stay here again when I take similar flights.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadianFamily444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We had a lovely time relaxing here. Staff were very nice and tried to communicate with us even though English was their second language. We walked to a nearby temple and enjoyed watching the local morning activities. The street food on the corner was amazing too. And so cheap.
The Hotels facilities were of a very high standard.
Although not in the heart of Shanghai we enjoyed exploring the local area.
A great stop off and place to replenish after a long hall flight.
We'll be back for sure

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilI_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Pudong International Airport
The QUBE Pudong
The QUBE Pudong
#109 of 5,111 in Shanghai
418 reviews
Pudong International Airport
Ramada Pudong Airport Shanghai
Ramada Pudong Airport Shanghai
#116 of 5,111 in Shanghai
886 reviews
Royal Garden Hotel Shanghai
#200 of 5,111 in Shanghai
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Encore Shanghai Pudong
#244 of 5,111 in Shanghai
10 reviews
Novotel Shanghai Clover Hotel
#113 of 5,111 in Shanghai
101 reviews
Pudong International Airport
Joyful Star Hotel Pudong Airport Chenyang Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal International Hotel

Address: No.998 Xiuchuan Road, Pudong District, Shanghai, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Pudong International Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £74 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing