We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully New member of the Pale Pink : )”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Ranked #5 of 5,031 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully New member of the Pale Pink : )”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I just finished a 7-day stay in the Langham Hongkong when I arrived at the Langham Xintiandi Shanghai for another stop of my business trips in Greater China. I was tired when I entered the signature lily scented lobby, the room was stylish, the bed was comfortable enough (as I'm very fussy about hotel beds, this one passed the test), a good tender surprise in the dark was the automatic night lamp at the bedside lit up when my feet touched the floor at night. I love the Japanese system toilette : ) I ate alone in their Cantonese restaurant after all day-long business meetings, I was born Cantonese and live in Europe, naturally picky about food, have to say it's not as perfect as Tang Court at Langham Hongkon but again: passed the test! : ) Bar has good ambience, Mojito didn't pass my test, the bartender did try twice though, praise for the attitude. The pool was clean and sleek, good for a relaxing 10laps in the evening : )

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    142
    26
    9
    7
See reviews for
76
190
50
569
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I stayed in a Junior Suite at the Langham, which gave me complimentary access to the Langham Club. I've stayed in many a hotel on the club level, but Langham's was exceptional. They served top shelf liquor, including Champagne (!), during the happy hour and the floor to ceiling windows offered amazing views of Xiantiandi and the old style homes surrounding it. I know a lot of people have mentioned it, but the bathrooms are amazing in the rooms - the heated toilets have more buttons than a remote control! Also, when I made my wake up call, they asked if I would also like a cup of coffee delivered to my door after the call. Motivated me to get out of the plush bed. Exceptional experience, great amenities.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

As a loyal patron of Langham hotels, I was so excited to experience the new Langham hotel in Shanghai. At first, it was great. It looks beautiful, and true to Langham form, there were some really wonderful little surprises in the room. My boyfriends example being the automated and heated toilet!
However, this all went quickly downhill. On our first day, after sightseeing, we entered our room to find that our wet room smelt very strongly of ciggarette smoke (which of course, does have a distinctive smell). We were perturbed, naturally, but decided to let it go. Unfortunately the next day, we came back to find the exact same thing. More importantly, the rest of our room smelt very strongly of my brand new perfume, and I was so upset to find that the majority of the bottle had been used (by the smoker I assume, in an attempt to cover the smell of the smoke). The pinnacle of unfortunate events, however, was when we called the lobby to complain. We were told point blank that we were lying, and must be mistaken because "No one would ever smoke in your room." Someone then came to our room after this call, and when we again informed her of our problems, the response was the same- "No, you are wrong."
I've never been so angry and upset about a hotel before, the perfume was expensive and being told so rudely that I was misinformed was insulting to say the least.
Never again, and I make sure to tell all I know to avoid this hotel as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank cdnh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langham_Xintiandi, Manager at The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear cdnh88,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent visit with us. Here at The Langham Xintiandi we strive to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable stay and we take your concerns very seriously. May I ask if you could please contact me directly so that I can learn more about your stay and look into the matter in further detail. If you could be so kind as to contact me via e-mail at christine.zhao@langhamhotels.com marked for my attention with further details and any other relevant information so that I can personally action on your behalf.

Yours sincerely,

CHRISTINE ZHAO
Director of Rooms
The Langham Xintiandi, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Nice designed building. Unfortunately, that's pretty much it. the rooms are very standard of Chinese 5 star hotels... nothing new, nothing wow, nothing inspiring. In fact, I stayed there when it first opened and the furniture already showed signs of aging. There were glue sealer marks left on the glass doors and the water in the shower was yellowish color for a couple of nights. The breakfast is ok, comparable to other hotels in the same category. The good thing (or the bad thing, depending on how you want to experience Shanghai) is its location. It's across street from Xintiadi, which is a very non-Chinese speaking friendly area. It has all the western restaurants and those cater to western visitors. Overall, I wouldn't stay there again unless it has an amazing deal that I can't refuse.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Santonle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langham_Xintiandi, Manager at The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Santonle,

We greatly appreciate the feedback that you have provided and your kind words about this iconic building that was designed to stand as a window into the new China. In fact, each room has a unique window frame and view into new Shanghai. It was also important for us that this innovative, luxury development was able to connect with and respond to the area’s low-rise historic architecture. The hotel rooms themselves were designed by world renowned interior designer Peter Remedios of Long Beach, California taking a very contemporary and modern turn. The intent was to design rooms that are not the ordinary run of the mill but quite innovative and spacious. In addition to the elegant design, all rooms feature complimentary wired and wireless internet, RMB200 daily mini bar credit as well as world-wide complimentary SKYPE phone calls.

The hotel is today arguably one of the best located hotels in Shanghai surrounded by a mixture of the new and the old, exquisite shopping and entertainment. Being located in the former French concession guests also have the opportunity to wander around and experience the historic Shikumen housing.

Please let me know if there is anything that I can assist you with on your next visit to Shanghai. I can be contacted via e-mail jorgen.christensen@langhamhotels.com

Yours sincerely,

JORGEN CHRISTENSEN
Executive Assistant Manager
The Langham Xintiandi, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This hotel delights and surprises at every turn, but most of all the extraordinary team which genuinely wants your stay to be perfect. From arrival to departure we were made to feel genuinely wanted from the most cheerful - and superbly trained - team of hotel staff I have come across. The rooms are extremely comfortable, the bathroom luxurious, and the amenities exceptional (right down to the very handy stationery kit). Comp fruit, chocolates and mineral water on arrival. Points for frequent travelers: Staff right there on arrival to take your bags from the taxi to check-in (so often I have been left stranded with luggage without a bell boy in sight!), plenty of comp water (6 bottles on arrival plus 2 more after turn down service which was very thorough); proper hairdryer (not one which just hums at hour hair). Soft opening period at the moment, so free internet (very good connection speed), minibar and laundry credits. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langham_Xintiandi, Manager at The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Olga,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We appreciate your kind feedback and it is great to know that all the training that the team has gone through are paying dividends. Ultimately we are very lucky to be working with a great group of people in all areas of the hotel. You are right in that we are on the last few weeks of our soft opening with the following special value added benefits valid until 29 February.

• Complimentary internet throughout your stay
• Daily laundry credit of RMB300 per day
• Daily minibar credit of RMB200 per day
• Complimentary water and fruit on arrival
• Legendary Langham chocolates

We are however pleased to share with you that as of March 1st we are extending the following key benefits to all travellers in recognition of the great value that they offer.

• Complimentary internet throughout your stay
• Daily minibar credit of RMB200 per day

We are looking forward to seeing you again on your return to Xintiandi and Shanghai.

Kind regards,

JORGEN CHRISTENSEN
Executive Assistant Manager
The Langham Xintiandi, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed there for two days, my family is highly recommend this hotel. The hotel is new and location is in the heart of Shanghai.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TANLEYTANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

I stayed at the hotel on a business trip and would certainly return for pleasure. The hotel was in perfect condition, brand new, great service, and worthy amenities. The breakfast buffet was wonderful and for all tastes. Very nice experience all around.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,031 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#6 of 5,031 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi

Property: The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Address: No.99 Madang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xintiandi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#174 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Shanghai’s vibrant Xintiandi entertainment and restaurant precinct surrounded by glamorous boutiques, galleries and outdoor cafes. The Langham’s elegant rooms and suites provide a haven for discerning guests. Cachet Restaurant and Bar; Chuan Spa offering Traditional Chinese Medicine and spa treatments (opening Q2 2011); 24hr fitness centre and indoor pool (opening Q1 2011). For meetings and special events, the hotel features a multi-purpose space, adaptable for any conference, function or business event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Xintiandi Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing