We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highlight of our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Ranked #8 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I recently returned to the Langham on a business trip and had such a wonderful stay and experience . I tested most of the business and leisure facilities including the Spa and found them all to be first class . Thank you to the delightful Alexandre Pelouard who made sure every query and request was met . Add some more wardrobe space and then it will be parfait .
We just love the Langham Xintiandi !

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

939 - 945 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

The Langham is smashing! Beautifully designed, appointed and finished. No expense has been spared.

The rooms are very comfortable, quiet and the interiors are excellent.

The service was also very good for such a new property.

I will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jksowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed here for a week in March 2012 on business. Stylish, smallish modern rooms with those somewhat unnerving high-end Toto toilets that do everything for you and to you. I also enjoyed the Internet clock radio. A bit short on closet space, though. The public areas are great with wonderful staff eager to help. Expansive breakfast buffet. Only downside is that not everyone may want to stay in the Xintiandi area which is sort of like staying at Fifth Avenue and Central Park South in New York City.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnjx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Good experience - just what you want and expect. Staff awesome. Rooms great.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p-mshires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I have been traveling to Shanghai for the past 6 years and have stayed in several hotels including the Park Hyatt in Pudong and the Fours Seasons Hotel. I first stayed at the Langham Xintiandi in November 2011 and recently stayed for 14 days this March. Nothing beats its location- close to restaurants and shopping, the service is excellent from the minute you get to their driveway and everyone speaks good English! The room and bathroom are spacious, lighting is good, bed is very comfortable and their is the espresso machine and iPod dock that makes it a cut above the other boring 5-star hotels. The crowd is also more sophisticated than other 5-star hotel. The Chuan Spa in the basement was convenient and luxurious and the high tech gym and large pool motivated me to work out during my business trip. Did I mention the luxuriously thick towels and bathrobes?

Room Tip: ask for higher floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WantonStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I recently stayed at the Langham Xintiandi for 6 nights and found this to be one of the nicest hotels that I have stayed at. Better then Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton in terms of room quality and service. The room was very spacious with a king bed and desk with plenty of room. There is an entrance way with a minibar, a free Nespresso machine, free bottled water, nice glassware and china. The bathroom was very nice with a tub in the center of a large shower with both wall and overhead rainshower type shower heads. The bathroom and shower floors are heated and the toilet is a high-end automated model. Electric drapes and automated bedside lighting control was a nice plus. The bed comfort was good with a full king size bed and the room was silent from noise (outside, hallway, adjacent rooms). The service was impeccable. Whenever I called for laundry pickup, ice, etc. someone came in a couple minutes. The room value was quite good esp. since it came with included breakfast which is quite elaborate and made to suit a wide variety of preferences (sushi, trad. chinese, western, japanese, desserts, cold meats and cheeses and more). The room package also included 200RMB of minibar and 300RMB of laundry each day (laundry service was excellent). The housekeeping service was the best too - outstanding level of cleanliness and everything out of place is restored to check-in condition. We also had company meetings in the hotel and the meeting rooms were very nice and everything was perfect. I tried the Martini bar just once, and the drinks were quite good, but on the expensive side. There are employees all over the place offering to help out with whatever you need. Maybe some of the US based hotel chains should visit this place to learn. I usually find some faults with places that I stay, but have a hard time finding any faults with this place. I will definitely return!

Room Tip: I travelled with several colleagues who had rooms all over the hotel and everyone was pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KL-XVIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I just finished a 7-day stay in the Langham Hongkong when I arrived at the Langham Xintiandi Shanghai for another stop of my business trips in Greater China. I was tired when I entered the signature lily scented lobby, the room was stylish, the bed was comfortable enough (as I'm very fussy about hotel beds, this one passed the test), a good tender surprise in the dark was the automatic night lamp at the bedside lit up when my feet touched the floor at night. I love the Japanese system toilette : ) I ate alone in their Cantonese restaurant after all day-long business meetings, I was born Cantonese and live in Europe, naturally picky about food, have to say it's not as perfect as Tang Court at Langham Hongkon but again: passed the test! : ) Bar has good ambience, Mojito didn't pass my test, the bartender did try twice though, praise for the attitude. The pool was clean and sleek, good for a relaxing 10laps in the evening : )

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#4 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Xintiandi
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
#30 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,028 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi

Address: No.99 Madang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xintiandi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#8 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#158 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £170 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Shanghai’s vibrant Xintiandi entertainment and restaurant precinct surrounded by glamorous boutiques, galleries and outdoor cafes. The Langham’s elegant rooms and suites provide a haven for discerning guests. Cachet Restaurant and Bar; Chuan Spa offering Traditional Chinese Medicine and spa treatments (opening Q2 2011); 24hr fitness centre and indoor pool (opening Q1 2011). For meetings and special events, the hotel features a multi-purpose space, adaptable for any conference, function or business event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Xintiandi Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing