We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, great hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Ranked #8 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I have been in this hotel twice, the location is perfect, right next to a shopping center, subway station and xintinady restaurants and bars. Breakfast and tea time are delicious, the chef is form Spain and he was kind ant took a moment to suggest some specials. Don't miss the pink chocolate fountain at tea time, with tine churros. The rooms were nice, shower was huge and view from the room was fine. One of my favorite hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dramercedesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

935 - 941 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

My team stayed here and were above impressed, even as they were going through a rehab. You couldn't tell unless you were looking for it. It is in a great location in historic Xintiandi, and across the street from a small dining distric sure to please even the most discriminate of eaters. The service was impecable. The restaurant was top notch for breakfast (only meal we ate there during our 4 day stay). Close to a metro station, shopping, and culture. Stay for business, come back for fun.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cowboysoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

A very good quality hotel, actually, the best one I have stayed during this one week in China. Rooms are big and have everything you might need – even a modern Japanese toilet. However, the make-up mirror was missing. Also the room was quite noisy even late in the evening – Shanghai drivers are using horns a lot and all the time.

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and there were so many of them rushing to help you the same second you needed help. Due to that fact, the check-in (and –out) was smooth and fast. It was very handy to get some winks for the city attractions from the hotel’s concierge. Breakfast was very rich and versatile – European and Asian food, freshly baked breads, sushi, dim sum, fruits and much more. Unfortunately I didn’t have time to check the pool – something to look forward next time!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TotallyFinnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My family and instated at the langham in march for three days and loved it. The lobby was gorgeous and the rooms were contemporary, sleek, modern, including a huge window over looking the skyline and a bathroom with a terrific shower and tub with Japanese automated toilet/bidet. The rooms felt very expensive. The staff was wonderful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was fantastic with American and Chinese dim sum dishes s well a chef doing hand pulled noodles in an open kitchen.

The pool is a small lap pool and the fitness center is small but includes several treadmills and bikes. It is located in the side of the spa with minimal air conditioning and felt very humid while I was exercising. The spa staff were friendly but due to loud noisy construction I could hear the clanging and drilling during my hour massage. The traditional Chinese massage was otherwise amazing

I did order room service the night of arrival and they were very quick. We had a bag of laundry and there was a reasonable rate for laundering ten items. There is no self service laundry

The location was excellent. We never had a problem with a taxi driver not knowing where to go or gettin lost driving us back to the hotel. We were in shanghai to see friends in xintiandi and also to see some sights. The xintiandi area is very touristy and expensive but I actually enjoyed staying there. It was full of English speaking salespeople, expats, and was beautiful and clean.

I loved the langham- great value and a gorgeous hotel and hotel room

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mclacl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I recently returned to the Langham on a business trip and had such a wonderful stay and experience . I tested most of the business and leisure facilities including the Spa and found them all to be first class . Thank you to the delightful Alexandre Pelouard who made sure every query and request was met . Add some more wardrobe space and then it will be parfait .
We just love the Langham Xintiandi !

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The Langham is smashing! Beautifully designed, appointed and finished. No expense has been spared.

The rooms are very comfortable, quiet and the interiors are excellent.

The service was also very good for such a new property.

I will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jksowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed here for a week in March 2012 on business. Stylish, smallish modern rooms with those somewhat unnerving high-end Toto toilets that do everything for you and to you. I also enjoyed the Internet clock radio. A bit short on closet space, though. The public areas are great with wonderful staff eager to help. Expansive breakfast buffet. Only downside is that not everyone may want to stay in the Xintiandi area which is sort of like staying at Fifth Avenue and Central Park South in New York City.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnjx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#4 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Xintiandi
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
#30 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,029 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi

Address: No.99 Madang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xintiandi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#8 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#158 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £170 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Shanghai’s vibrant Xintiandi entertainment and restaurant precinct surrounded by glamorous boutiques, galleries and outdoor cafes. The Langham’s elegant rooms and suites provide a haven for discerning guests. Cachet Restaurant and Bar; Chuan Spa offering Traditional Chinese Medicine and spa treatments (opening Q2 2011); 24hr fitness centre and indoor pool (opening Q1 2011). For meetings and special events, the hotel features a multi-purpose space, adaptable for any conference, function or business event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Xintiandi Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing