We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very nice hotel, but go somewhere else to eat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #10 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very very nice hotel, but go somewhere else to eat”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Nothing wrong with the hotel and the service.
Stayed 3 nights traveling with my mom.
We enjoyed the clean nice room with everything we needed available (Room 1123).
Cleaning was good, all hotel staff was very nice and friendly. We tried to tip but they did not accept any.
Location is perfect - close to Nanjing street and subway (People Square).
I'm a gym freak and was pleased to see that the equipment was sufficient for my 3 workout during the stay (most often I need to chase up outside gyms when traveling). Free bottled water at gym was also a plus.
Sauna (steam and regular) was very nice as well as pool and jacuzzi (this plus gym are free of charge). Mom enjoyed a 1,5 h massage at the hotel spa. As all hotel spas this is quite pricey but she was happy with it.
Complimentary WiFi in lobby and if you are a Marriott rewards member it is complimentary in room too.
Had a bad experience with the hotel restaurant "Shanghai City Bistro" - dinner buffet was not fresh and hotel breakfast did not look fresh either. Suggest to go somewhere else to eat... I'm writing a separate review about the restaurant experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank everywhereanytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    974
    363
    70
    16
    12
See reviews for
247
251
73
642
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I had a great stay at the Marriott Hotel City Centre. The location is terrific to subway lines 1 and 2, People's Square and Nanjing Rd. The staff spoke very well English and made sure I had an excellent stay. They were always willing to help with any questions and excellent service in the restaurants and Exec Lounge. Rooms are very modern and very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cscott6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norcross, GA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012 via mobile

Loved the rooms and the spa. My only complaint is that I asked 3 times to have the feather pillows and bedding removed from my room due to allergies and it still did not happen. The spa was amazing and had decent prices. Check in and out was efficient especially with a party of ~40. Close to shopping but I don't advise the market there. Close to restaurants bars and a karaoke bar. Plenty of things to see on a walking tour and close to metro station.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thequeencole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We love the hotel. Everything was nice.

Hotel lobby is a little bit difficult to find and our shower room is leaking water a little bit. Other than that, everything is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callmegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Very nice hotel, service is good and rooms are fab!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tashaward96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I stayed this hotel for two night was upgraded to the executive suite, which was out of my expectation. The room is great and overally it is worth staying. The only minor thing is that in the morning the cleaning staff came in without bellringing. The breakfast provided is generally good, but not as good as food in Hiltons.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RUI Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We pondered long and hard on where to stay in Shanghai. We eventually chose this Marriott. Our room on the 36th floor was great and lovely views over the city. The room was large and incredibly well equipped, with a nice bathroom too. It had a lovely pool area with a huge jacuzzi, (although very warm it did not seem very bubbly!) We used the Exec/business area on the 37th floor. It was very well serviced with food & drinks available through out our stay. All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Thank you to al the staff that made our stay so pleasant. If returning to Shanghai I will definitely with no hesitation stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helly1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#34 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,516 reviews
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre

Property: Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Address: 555 Xi Zang (Middle) Road | Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 720
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre locates in People’s Square, the heart of Shanghai. Easy access to metro line 1, 2 and 8, you could explore Shanghai effortlessly, perhaps starting from the nearest attractions such as Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street to the Bund with the night views. Pudong airport and Hongqiao airport are 48 kilometers and 17 kilometers away from our hotel respectively. Metro line 2 and our hotel airport transfer limousine service are both good choices for you. Our hotel offers 720 guest rooms with skyline view and suites with plush designer bedding, varying from business purposes to leisure activities. Executive lounge is accessible for guests staying in Executive room and above. There you could enjoy exclusive snacks and beverages, plus access to our business facilities. Other on-site amenities include a full fitness center with a 25-meter indoor lap-pool with spa. Our five innovative restaurants and bars are dedicated to serve you with high-quality cuisine, ranging from Shanghai Cantonese style in Manho, Hokkaido style in EZO to all day dining in Shanghai City Bistro. Treat your friends with a made-to-order afternoon tea in the Lounge or drop by our Java+ to get your morning coffee is also a good option. Come and experience our spirit to serve in Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, we assure you an unforgettable journey in Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing