We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #13 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Had a pleasant stay at this hotel this summer. New hotel and modern room furnishing with everything in working order. Bed is very comfortable and there is little street noise. The location is extremely convenient, within walking distance to many sights. It is also close to the city center's subway hub with several subway lines joining. Service is pretty good and the staff is generally courteous.

Agree with the other reviewer the doorman's service and taxi-hailing experience isn't top-notch, which prevented it from getting a 5-star score. Overall it's still a good choice in the middle of the city with all the convenience and familiarity of the Marriott setup.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DragonChaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,731)
There are newer reviews for Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,184 - 1,190 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

My mum has not visited Yangtze Delta Area for 10 years therefore we have been staying in this hotel for 5 nights. In between we made day trip to Suzhou and Wuzhen.
Location:
Premium: This hotel is located along XiZang Middle road, 2 mins walk to People's Park Subway station, 3 mins walk to Nanjing Walking Street, 5 mins walk to Raffles Shopping mall and 2 mins walk to New World Shopping Mall. Easy access to resturant and shopping, to the bund and to the Railway station. The railway station is 3 stops away my mum was so impressed by the transportation in Shanghai. It takes only 1 hr from hotel to Suzhu.
Room:
One of the biggest room in Shanghai hotels I have seen. I think it is about 40 sqm. The design is very modern and tasty and I presonally feel it is great for both business and leisure travellers. We were at 27 floor so the daylight was amazing. No doubt the bed was just right I always get along with Marriott bedding. One thing I like very much is the coffee. The hotel provides premium coffee @ guest rooms instead of normal instant coffee, you might ususally see 2 kinds of tea while you see 4 in this hotel.
Service:
The concerige was extremely helpful. One staff was helping me on all my daily itinerary. circling historical attraction, booking restaurant, reminding us of bringing umbrella along, drawing maps…I normally will not expect this kind of service except staying at Ritz-Carlton / St. Regis. I was pleased.
Last but not least, the gym was outstanding. I had a very good time @ gym and juccuzi and the changing room is one of the best I have ever used.

The price is just right for the product. I am sure I will go for it next time when I vsit Shanghai.

Flora

Room Tip: near to subway station is important. Peak hour traffic is absolutely killing your day.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloraSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The front desk guy who speaks spanish is very friendly. I didn't see him when I leave. My neighbour's room was very noisy. A manager changed a room for me. The location is very close to Nanjing road. The concierge recommanded me some place to have fun. They also booked tickets for me. The housekeeping girl who sent me adaptor speaks really good english which is outstanding for a Chinese hotel. You can use free internet as long as you join the member. When I came back in the morning, the lobby was too hot. It is said that air conditioner was turned off in the mid night. Therefore, When I was having my breakfast, I kept sweating.
I will come back to this hotel next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria Inge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Visited this hotel with minimal expectations after the horrible experience at Eiffelton Shanghai. I was pleasantly surprised to see the warm welcome, free room upgrade and a very friendly staff.

The rooms were large, well furnished and had a supremely comfortable bed (second only to Hilton's garden sleep system).

The breakfast and lunch/dinner were always going to be troublesome however, the hotel had an Indian chef (Mr Jagmohan Tiwari) who came to our rescue and ensured that all our meals were fully vegetarian :). Special thanks to him !!!

The location of the hotel is great - Its next to the people square and many tourist attractions in Shanghai are right next to it. It is also well connected to metro and taxi services. Overall, it is among the best hotel choices for Shanghai tourists.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parijat_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Very nice hotel. Convenient location. Close enough to the Nanjing Road pedestrian, within 10 minutes walking distance. From there you could go straight and walk al the way to the Bund, though it's unlikely you'd do it more than once. Also connected to two subway lines. And Xizang Road, with a handful of popular eating places, just two blocks behind the hotel.

Nice rooms. Not the biggest you can find, but acceptable. All fixtures still quite new. Nice bathroom with bathtub and separate rain shower. Love the bath salt provided. Large comfy bed. Crisp, clean sheets. Looks out to what seems like rural city, no big deal.

Strong and fast wifi. Liked it because you don't need to reconnect everyday. It just automatically does.

Friendly staff. Everyone at the front desk, concierge, doormen were all very nice and courteous. Explained politely to us the details of our check-in. Offered us umbrellas on a rainy day. Made sure we know where we're going every time we went out. Also helped got us a cab with the most talkative and well-dressed driver for our trip to the airport.

Overall, good location, nice rooms, nice staff. Would definitely consider staying here again next time in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldfish_kk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The room facility is very new and can stay here very comfortably.
Wifi access is also good.
And this hotel is very close to the People's Square, it is so convenient.
If I visit Shanghai again, I will choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donchan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We live in Shanghai but stayed here for 6 nights recently after we returned from our summer holiday. Our apartment had some mold issues and had to get cleaned. But despite the inconvenience, it was a real pleasure to stay here and get over our jet lag in the comfort of this hotel. Everyone we ran into had a friendly smile and they were all so nice to our little 4 yr. old daughter. We enjoyed our big breakfast every morning in the restaurant, and because we had executive lounge privileges, we usually ended up in the lounge for dinner. The beds were comfortable, the shower was great, and there were lots of nice amenities in the room and bathroom. We'll definitely come back here if we need to, and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melody J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,112 in Shanghai
2,664 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre

Address: 555 Xi Zang Road | Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £107 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 720
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre locates in People’s Square, the heart of Shanghai. Easy access to metro line 1, 2 and 8, you could explore Shanghai effortlessly, perhaps starting from the nearest attractions such as Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street to the Bund with the night views. Pudong airport and Hongqiao airport are 48 kilometers and 17 kilometers away from our hotel respectively. Metro line 2 and our hotel airport transfer limousine service are both good choices for you. Our hotel offers 720 guest rooms with skyline view and suites with plush designer bedding, varying from business purposes to leisure activities. Executive lounge is accessible for guests staying in Executive room and above. There you could enjoy exclusive snacks and beverages, plus access to our business facilities. Other on-site amenities include a full fitness center with a 25-meter indoor lap-pool with spa. Our five innovative restaurants and bars are dedicated to serve you with high-quality cuisine, ranging from Shanghai Cantonese style in Manho, Hokkaido style in EZO to all day dining in Shanghai City Bistro. Treat your friends with a made-to-order afternoon tea in the Lounge or drop by our Java+ to get your morning coffee is also a good option. Come and experience our spirit to serve in Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, we assure you an unforgettable journey in Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing