We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #13 of 5,147 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Good location (10 minute walk from 580 market) easy access to People's Square subway station and people's square park.
Easy checkin and nice and friendly people. They all try very hard to practice their English. They all seem very young. Not sure what happened to the older workers?:). Rooms are spacious and bathrooms are very nice with dual shower heads and separate tubs. Coffee and tea can both me made in the room. Street noise depends on which room you have, but you really can't get away from it in Shanghai. Nice lobby and bar also nice executive lounge.
Great workout place with brand new equipment, hot and dry sauna, swimming pool. etc.
When ordering roomservice, they have trouble with English and the food is not the greatest. A lot of greasy oil dripping and strange tastes.
The rooms tend to have something usually wrong with them (lights, outlets, curtains, etc.) otherwise I would rate them higher.

Room Tip: Higher is always better in order to get away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UALDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,188 - 1,194 of 1,850 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

I stayed there in late Aug 2012, the hotel was just opened 4 months.
Check in : quick and hazzle free. Front desk will ask for a RMB deposit, make sure you keep the receipt for reference.
Room: very roomy, see through bathroom with bath tub. There is tea and coffee making facilities and daily newspaper. Wifi got strong signal and have ironing board. No issues of noise or anything else.
Facilities: There are F & B outlets and I tried the City cafe which was good.
There is also swimming pool and sauna facilities open from 6am to 10pm
Gym is open 24 hours a day.
Check out: Fast and hazzle free. Concierge will arrange taxis for you if needed
Location: 3 minutes from metro station and 10 minutes walk to Nanjing East Road which is the equivalent of Oxford street for Shanghai.
Would definitely stay there again due to value for money and location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Pudong to see the bund view at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erzulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

As has been said in the other reviews, this hotel is very nice. I have found the staff very accomodating, and the facilities are first rate. This hotel is within easy access of Nanjing Rd shopping, peoples park, and all transportation. I enjoy traveling around China on my own and the access to the metro here makes it easy to get out and about. I have found most Marriott properties to have a great level of service and this is no exception.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VATraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Most Chinese hotel regulars know by now that the easy part of opening a hotel in China is the hardware, rooms, lobby, bars, exec lounges, etc. The hard part is getting the staffing right.

Shanghai is a city where staff will move for 100kwai a month extra, so it was with delight that this hotel has managed to build and nurture a great team of skilled employees who enjoy their jobs.

Here, even the Bell boys know the city and approximate taxi fares, the bar staff make good cocktails, checkin is quick and easy, even with a dozen cranky United airlines cabin crew in front of you.

The hotel quality is typical five star quality, with proper sized rooms, and great amenities, but as I said, that's the easy part.

Dining at the hotel is surprisingly good, with an excellent lunch buffet.

Conference facilities are comfortable and well managed.

Congratulation Marriott on another well executed hotel.

P.S. don't take the metro from Pudong - it's a disaster in rush hour due to crowding. Take the Maglev and a taxi.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner Room - great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDiplomat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Location is great with tons of shops just walking distance away. Got upgraded to a suite (elite) which smelled like a new car! Club lounge was huge with some nice offerings. Swimming pool was indoor and very cool with a huge window going the entire length. Staff was great and the doormen did a great job!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPM805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Had a pleasant stay at this hotel this summer. New hotel and modern room furnishing with everything in working order. Bed is very comfortable and there is little street noise. The location is extremely convenient, within walking distance to many sights. It is also close to the city center's subway hub with several subway lines joining. Service is pretty good and the staff is generally courteous.

Agree with the other reviewer the doorman's service and taxi-hailing experience isn't top-notch, which prevented it from getting a 5-star score. Overall it's still a good choice in the middle of the city with all the convenience and familiarity of the Marriott setup.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DragonChaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My mum has not visited Yangtze Delta Area for 10 years therefore we have been staying in this hotel for 5 nights. In between we made day trip to Suzhou and Wuzhen.
Location:
Premium: This hotel is located along XiZang Middle road, 2 mins walk to People's Park Subway station, 3 mins walk to Nanjing Walking Street, 5 mins walk to Raffles Shopping mall and 2 mins walk to New World Shopping Mall. Easy access to resturant and shopping, to the bund and to the Railway station. The railway station is 3 stops away my mum was so impressed by the transportation in Shanghai. It takes only 1 hr from hotel to Suzhu.
Room:
One of the biggest room in Shanghai hotels I have seen. I think it is about 40 sqm. The design is very modern and tasty and I presonally feel it is great for both business and leisure travellers. We were at 27 floor so the daylight was amazing. No doubt the bed was just right I always get along with Marriott bedding. One thing I like very much is the coffee. The hotel provides premium coffee @ guest rooms instead of normal instant coffee, you might ususally see 2 kinds of tea while you see 4 in this hotel.
Service:
The concerige was extremely helpful. One staff was helping me on all my daily itinerary. circling historical attraction, booking restaurant, reminding us of bringing umbrella along, drawing maps…I normally will not expect this kind of service except staying at Ritz-Carlton / St. Regis. I was pleased.
Last but not least, the gym was outstanding. I had a very good time @ gym and juccuzi and the changing room is one of the best I have ever used.

The price is just right for the product. I am sure I will go for it next time when I vsit Shanghai.

Flora

Room Tip: near to subway station is important. Peak hour traffic is absolutely killing your day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloraSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,147 in Shanghai
2,702 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre

Address: 555 Xi Zang Road | Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 5,147 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £92 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 720
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre locates in People’s Square, the heart of Shanghai. Easy access to metro line 1, 2 and 8, you could explore Shanghai effortlessly, perhaps starting from the nearest attractions such as Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street to the Bund with the night views. Pudong airport and Hongqiao airport are 48 kilometers and 17 kilometers away from our hotel respectively. Metro line 2 and our hotel airport transfer limousine service are both good choices for you. Our hotel offers 720 guest rooms with skyline view and suites with plush designer bedding, varying from business purposes to leisure activities. Executive lounge is accessible for guests staying in Executive room and above. There you could enjoy exclusive snacks and beverages, plus access to our business facilities. Other on-site amenities include a full fitness center with a 25-meter indoor lap-pool with spa. Our five innovative restaurants and bars are dedicated to serve you with high-quality cuisine, ranging from Shanghai Cantonese style in Manho, Hokkaido style in EZO to all day dining in Shanghai City Bistro. Treat your friends with a made-to-order afternoon tea in the Lounge or drop by our Java+ to get your morning coffee is also a good option. Come and experience our spirit to serve in Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, we assure you an unforgettable journey in Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing