We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely going back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #10 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely going back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

After more than 200 hotel nights, in Shanghai and other parts of China during 2013, I proclaim Marriott Shanghai city centre as the winner. Have tried several hotels within the Marriott and competitor franchises around China and this hotel tops my list thanks to the professional and service minded staff at both the reception area and the exec lounge. In addition, the facilities are in very good condition and both the gym and the pool area are great for guests looking to stay in shape while traveling. Looking forward to many more nights at the hotel during 2014.

/Karl

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    354
    68
    15
    12
See reviews for
237
240
68
625
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, VA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My family and I stayed in this hotel as part of a fantastic China tour with China Spree! The room was large, modern, and exceptionally clean. The buffet breakfast (included in our tour) was outstanding - endless choices and great quality! The hotel is within easy walking distance to Nanjing road with excellent shopping and even a grocery store. To me the Nanjing road area felt a bit like Times Square - really cool! I would definitely stay here again if I returned to China.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2TravelVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

The marriott had the ideal location for sightseeing. We could walk to any area p of interest within 30 minutes. This includes Jiangan Temple, xintiandi, the Bund, and Yuyuan garden.
This hotel is a proper 5 star hotel with great service, and the rooms are like suites.

Helpful?
Thank Jono_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
149 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Had a quick check-in and was able to easily extend later. Food in the Marriott was really good. Tried multiple restaurants and was happy with them all. Exercise room was fantastic. Room worked really well for me and I enjoyed the view. Easy access to the Peoples Square and public transportation was a plus.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

The marriott city center was the perfect choice of hotel in terms of service, quality & location. We were well taken care of..the staff were super helpful and have good command in English. It's located near the Nanjing road which is a good walking area & also not far from the bund. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Renu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

After travelling around China it was a welcome sight to come to the Marriot as it is a beautiful 5 star standard American hotel. It is located within walking distance to Nanjing road, the main thoroughfare for shoppers! Lots of restaurants, cafes etc outside the hotel. It is nicely located to the subway stations as well. You can view the Pearl tower as you walk the streets so it is within walking distance as well. Location is excellent.

The rooms we purchased were very nice and clean, beautifully equipped and quite spacious for a big city hotel. We purchased the rooms with the breakfast which is served in the Bistro. There is a great variety of Eastern foods and Western foods at the breakfast buffet. Everything is nicely labeled for people who may be vegetarian as my son is. There are several restaurants within the hotel and as we arrived late the first night we had dinner here as well. They have the extensive buffets for dinner but they have the option of an ala carte menu as well. The food is nicely prepared and served promptly.

The only problem with this hotel as with most parts of China, English is truly a second language. At checkout it was a bit of a language barrier trying to remind the receptionist to cancel the credit card deposit that was charged out as a deposit on the first day. It took at least 5 attempts to explain to her what needed to be done! There were other receptionists there but none of them even attempted to help or understand what I was saying. We have had problems from other Chinese hotels not reversing the "security deposit" that is charged to our credit card upon check out. Thus we are always careful to obtain the refund receipt. In an American chain like the Marriot I really think that English training should be a lot better done.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmw0713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed there for 4 days , On 30 Dec 13 , my daughter was not feeling well . We felt so warm that a Manager on 3/F cafe sending a free white congee to our room . Very good location and we will be back for sure . But this Hotel do not provide free wifi service

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MunMun2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,482 reviews
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre

Property: Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Address: 555 Xi Zang (Middle) Road | Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 720
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre locates in People’s Square, the heart of Shanghai. Easy access to metro line 1, 2 and 8, you could explore Shanghai effortlessly, perhaps starting from the nearest attractions such as Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street to the Bund with the night views. Pudong airport and Hongqiao airport are 48 kilometers and 17 kilometers away from our hotel respectively. Metro line 2 and our hotel airport transfer limousine service are both good choices for you. Our hotel offers 720 guest rooms with skyline view and suites with plush designer bedding, varying from business purposes to leisure activities. Executive lounge is accessible for guests staying in Executive room and above. There you could enjoy exclusive snacks and beverages, plus access to our business facilities. Other on-site amenities include a full fitness center with a 25-meter indoor lap-pool with spa. Our five innovative restaurants and bars are dedicated to serve you with high-quality cuisine, ranging from Shanghai Cantonese style in Manho, Hokkaido style in EZO to all day dining in Shanghai City Bistro. Treat your friends with a made-to-order afternoon tea in the Lounge or drop by our Java+ to get your morning coffee is also a good option. Come and experience our spirit to serve in Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, we assure you an unforgettable journey in Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing