We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and grand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #16 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Located five minutes walk from subway, People’s Square and Nanjing shopping street, Marriott City Center is really located in city center with may shops and restaurants around.

It is a relatively new hotel and has quite many rooms. It has a quite big lobby, big swimming pool and big gym room. Breakfast is served on 3/F restaurant. Quite a number of food variety and acceptable service but do not expect too much on the quality of food. On 37/F at the big club lounge there are snacks and drinks available most of the time, and serves breakfast in the morning.

Room is spacious, clean and new. Most rooms have good view of Shanghai city. All amenities are there at your disposal. Flat screen TV, Nespresso, internet cables, scissors, staplers, tooth brush, shampoo, safe, slippers, DVD player, ipod player, electric kettle, ironing board, bottled water, bathtub + shower, magnifying mirror, etc. Temperature control is easy to adjust. Bed is comfortable. Nightly turndown service never missed. I returned to the room in day time and saw the maid cleaning on two occasions. She is actually washing and cleaning the glass ! Impressed.

Swimming pool is big and jacuzzi is fine. But never saw an attendant checking things out at the pool.

Given the reasonable price and relatively high level of service and facility, it is a very wise choice of staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLau888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,140 - 1,146 of 1,987 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Lisa exec. Lounge mgr, a real professional and great asset for this property. You can easily make your dinner meal in the exe lounge. Drinks food variety and service really terrific!!!! We were upgraded to suite. Quite large 1 1/2 baths, like new!!! For the $$$ a great value.
I have. Been in many Marriott exec lounges as a platinum member, this beats them all easily!!!!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank jimaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-CIty-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear jimaw,

Many thanks for always choosing Marriott Hotel and for sharing your feedback on the hotel. We are honored that the food and service of Executive Lounge made your stay more enjoyable. And we also will convey your compliment to our Executive Lounge Manager - Lisa Wang who will be very excited to hear it!

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon and in the meantime wish you a wonderful trip!

Best wishes,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

First time at this Marriott and was almost satisfactory
The breakfast is very good. Fitness center well equipped. Rooms very comfortable with a good quality sleep.My biggest complain and surprise was that the staff starting from front desk has very bad English skills and also that is very difficult that they honor all the perks that include the room packages rates which is very unpleasant cause you need to struggle fighting with the staff so they dont double charge for diiner, breakfast, wifi... a good property loose a lot fr a bad service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank draghignazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-CIty-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear draghignazzo,

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your staying experience. We are delighted to learn that you appreciated our breakfast and rooms. As you mentioned that the English skills of front desk staff need to be improved, we will ensure that we work on improving the English skills of our associates. Please accept our sincere apology about the service shortfall you have encountered at our hotel.

We look forward to your next visit so that we can strive to give you a more memorable experience.

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Had a great experience at the hotel. Great service from all staff especially the concierges we dealt with Andy and Eric who were extremely helpful to my family and i. Location is great and rooms were lovely and clean. Executive lounge was good as well. Definitely come back here next time.

Room Tip: Get a room level 23 above for easy access to executive lounge if that is part of your package
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Wonderful Staff, beautiful rooms and amenities, convenient to train located at Peoples Square , money exchange machine available. Nice workout room. I'm here 2 - 3 times a month, have never been disappointed. Always a pleasure to return.

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit noisy, but it is the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

After more than 200 hotel nights, in Shanghai and other parts of China during 2013, I proclaim Marriott Shanghai city centre as the winner. Have tried several hotels within the Marriott and competitor franchises around China and this hotel tops my list thanks to the professional and service minded staff at both the reception area and the exec lounge. In addition, the facilities are in very good condition and both the gym and the pool area are great for guests looking to stay in shape while traveling. Looking forward to many more nights at the hotel during 2014.

/Karl

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My family and I stayed in this hotel as part of a fantastic China tour with China Spree! The room was large, modern, and exceptionally clean. The buffet breakfast (included in our tour) was outstanding - endless choices and great quality! The hotel is within easy walking distance to Nanjing road with excellent shopping and even a grocery store. To me the Nanjing road area felt a bit like Times Square - really cool! I would definitely stay here again if I returned to China.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love2TravelVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,858 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,120 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre

Address: 555 Xi Zang Road | Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £104 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 720
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre locates in People’s Square, the heart of Shanghai. Easy access to metro line 1, 2 and 8, you could explore Shanghai effortlessly, perhaps starting from the nearest attractions such as Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street to the Bund with the night views. Pudong airport and Hongqiao airport are 48 kilometers and 17 kilometers away from our hotel respectively. Metro line 2 and our hotel airport transfer limousine service are both good choices for you. Our hotel offers 720 guest rooms with skyline view and suites with plush designer bedding, varying from business purposes to leisure activities. Executive lounge is accessible for guests staying in Executive room and above. There you could enjoy exclusive snacks and beverages, plus access to our business facilities. Other on-site amenities include a full fitness center with a 25-meter indoor lap-pool with spa. Our five innovative restaurants and bars are dedicated to serve you with high-quality cuisine, ranging from Shanghai Cantonese style in Manho, Hokkaido style in EZO to all day dining in Shanghai City Bistro. Treat your friends with a made-to-order afternoon tea in the Lounge or drop by our Java+ to get your morning coffee is also a good option. Come and experience our spirit to serve in Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, we assure you an unforgettable journey in Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing