We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #10 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Nanjing
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great stay, great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great hotel, location is good too, bedrooms are spacious and bathrooms very nice, the breakfast is very good and coffee is being served promptly, staff are very helpful and friendly. Although this hotel is very nice, the only negative is rooms and hotel sometimes smell of cigaret smoke.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAinnanjing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre and for your review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had a good experience and like our hotel and its location, as well as the room and staff service. In addition, the problem you mentioned has drawn our attention to improve. Please feel free to stay in contact with us should you feel that we can be of any assistance in making your next stay with us more memorable. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    354
    69
    15
    12
See reviews for
238
240
68
625
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is potentially a great hotel in the perfect location close to Nanjing Road. The rooms were very good BUT thus was all spoilt with terrible customer service. When we arrived we waited over 45 minutes to complete our checkin. Not something you want or need while travelling. The reception desk continually served others who pushed ahead of the line. (I understood their frustration) but this was ridiculous.
We had prepaid and booked meeting rooms which were all disputed by staff. Again not what you need as a traveller when you have confirmation with you BUT in English. One of our party spoke Mandarin so our checkin should not have been an issue but the staff were more interested in arguing about who took the booking than making sure we had our bookings for rooms and meeting room for the next day! The staff at executive level did not pass on messages to each other so we were continually having to explain eat we needed and were frustrated at this lack of communication. Customer service non existent except for William who saved us at reception. Breakfast was good but very noisy. Will not be returning.

Room Tip: Stay in a corner room facing the Bund. The views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouLou22297701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Loulou,
Thank you for sharing your review and alerting us the services defects you have encountered. I am very sorry to hear that we failed to deliver a welcoming experience to you. We have reviewed your feedback seriously with Front Office and have taken up immediate action to enhance new host training and internal communication in order to avoid reoccurrence of similar issues and to ensure the consistency of service quality.
Again, thank you for your feedback. We do invite you back to our hotel on your next trip to Shanghai, we would do our best to re-gain your trust by providing you a much pleasant experience.

Sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I have recently stayed at Marriott Hotel City Centre Shanghai. The hotel was in a great location, close to all amenities and a walking distance to Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street.

The rooms on the executive level were spacious and the executive lounge provided all the facilities to complete my business in China. The executive lounge was well catered in terms of its food and drink offering with the staff always providing exceptional service.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting China. I have opted to stay in the Marriott Group of hotels throughout the world, as these hotels provide the highest standards, cleanliness, excellent locations and friendly staff.

Room Tip: I suggest the Executive Room with executive lounge access. It includes breakfast, snacks, drinks and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yathin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us recently and moreover taking time to share your review of our hotel. We are very happy that you had such a wonderful stay. As you have mentioned, Hotel's convenient location, fine facility and friendly staff are the key factors in providing the quality experiences to all customer, we will keep up the good job.
Once again, your positive review is highly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager
Marriott Hotel City Centre, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
113 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights and have absolutely no complaints. The room was large, modern and very comfortable. I like to travel with my laptop and hook it up to the TV in the room and the Marriott had all the cables and everything already set up in the room. It is in a very convenient downtown location and easy to get around Shanghai from here. Highly recommend it.

Really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for choosing Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre and taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay and appreciated the hotel and its location, as well as the room facilities. We take great pride in delivering the pleasant stay experience to all our guests, thank you as well for recommending our hotel to other travellers.

We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Clean updated rooms. Very nice efficient and helpful staff. Location just across people's park so subway is convenient. You can also walk on the pedestrian street to the bund on a nice day. Workout room has new and functional equipment with a beautiful indoor lap pool. Can't comment on the restaurants but there is a very nice sunlit lounge and bar off the lobby. Overall a nice experience.

Room Tip: Only difference which direction to look. . There are no stunning views to be had so not much differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are pleased that you like our hotel's location, facility as well as services provided by the friendly staff. We will continually make all efforts to upkeep the high quality.
Thank you again for taking time to review our hotel, as we take guest satisfaction seriously at Marriott. We hope to see again soon.

Sincerely,

Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager
Marriott Hotel City Centre, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Hotel was in a great location and views of the city were great!! Staff was wonderful and always available for any questions! Room was very spacious and beds were very comfortable! Loved the turn down service nightly and the slippers!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to share your feedback on "trip advisor". We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will continually do our best to deliver the pleasant experiences to all our customers.
We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the Amazing city views, and appreciated that it was close enough to everything to be able to walk. The beds were really comfortable, and the rooms a very good size. The staff especially in the cafe/breakfast area were really lovely and the food great. We Really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Merrilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate the Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre and give us a wonderful review. Our goal is to deliver the best experience to our guests, and your recognition proved that our work is heading towards to the right direction.

Thank you again for your positive review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,482 reviews
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre

Property: Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Address: 555 Xi Zang (Middle) Road | Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 720
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre locates in People’s Square, the heart of Shanghai. Easy access to metro line 1, 2 and 8, you could explore Shanghai effortlessly, perhaps starting from the nearest attractions such as Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street to the Bund with the night views. Pudong airport and Hongqiao airport are 48 kilometers and 17 kilometers away from our hotel respectively. Metro line 2 and our hotel airport transfer limousine service are both good choices for you. Our hotel offers 720 guest rooms with skyline view and suites with plush designer bedding, varying from business purposes to leisure activities. Executive lounge is accessible for guests staying in Executive room and above. There you could enjoy exclusive snacks and beverages, plus access to our business facilities. Other on-site amenities include a full fitness center with a 25-meter indoor lap-pool with spa. Our five innovative restaurants and bars are dedicated to serve you with high-quality cuisine, ranging from Shanghai Cantonese style in Manho, Hokkaido style in EZO to all day dining in Shanghai City Bistro. Treat your friends with a made-to-order afternoon tea in the Lounge or drop by our Java+ to get your morning coffee is also a good option. Come and experience our spirit to serve in Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, we assure you an unforgettable journey in Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing