We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #10 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
169 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Peoples Square metro station. The hop on hop off bus is also located by the metro station and you are within easy walking distance of the pedestrian shopping area and not far from the Bund.
The hotel itself has a nice spa and gym and if you are a Marriott Gold or Platinum member you will enjoy the executive lounge in the evening for cocktails and appetizers followed by desserts at 730pm. The breakfast in the lounge is also worth waking up to.
Not far from the hotel is the 580 market which has all the shopping you need for the folks you are going home to. Be sure to offer about 30% of their starting price. Believe me they won't sell anything unless they make a profit so don't worry, they will get the better end of the deal!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2flyby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for sharing you feedback regarding your recent stay at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre. We are glad to know that your stay with us was enjoyable. Our staff take great pride in delivering the quality service and food to all our guests, and your compliment is well rewarded the efforts thay made. We do hope to serve you again in the near future, please let us know if we can be of any assistance to make your next stay even better.

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    341
    67
    15
    12
See reviews for
228
233
66
605
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I was here on a business trip in March 2014. The hotel is in a good location close to shopping on Nanjing Road and not far from the Bund. The hotel is very modern and the rooms were superb with a great bathroom.

The concierge lounge was on the top floor, quite large, and had a very good range of Asian and Western food. The service was over fussy in the lounge - to many staff trying to be helpful but not really helping - seriously, we can all carry our own glass to our table - but this is common in China.

The gym facilities were great for a hotel and the pool was awesome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVancouverites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre and rating us on Tripadvisor. It's delighted to know that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the hotel's location and room.

However, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may encountered at Executive Lounge. We are so disappointed that our staff failed to provide you with the professional service, and it may caused the disturbance to you. Please reassured that the proper service skill trainings will be conducted to the concerned staffs immediately in order to maintain the Marriott quality servie and deliver it to all our guests.

Thanks for your understanding and support, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stated here over Easter 2014 for 6 nights...for the Shanghai GP and birthday! Great location as it's on the foot of people's square station.

Very helpful happy staff through out the hotel....concierge were superb and nothing was too much trouble (even at busy times)
I left my phone in a taxi & they offered to view cctv off the foyer to see if they could trace the taxi ... We couldn't track the cab down but the offer & attempt was greatly appreciated. Furthermore, My son has a nut allergy and they were more that happy to call ahead to all the restaurants to confirm they are mug free or. An accommodate the allergy.

A special thanks & shout out to Martin the manager - an over all totally nice guy...A nice surprise was when he And a few of his team brought me up a bottle of wine and a tart/ cake on my birthday ...

Thanks again guys .. A very nice gesture...

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anish p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre and for sharing this wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We are so glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the hotel's location and staff service. Your thanks to Martin will be shared with him, I believe that your recognition will encorage him to do better in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzern
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

since my last stay they provide now free WIFI in hotel rooms. Very polite and helpful staff. Everybody speaks English. Good location near People Sq. with 3 metro lines. Rooms are new, spotlessly clean and well designed, quiet with very comfy beds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zahra65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for rating Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre on Tripadvisor, we are very glad that your two stays with us were enjoyable and memorable. Thank you very much for considering us for the third stay, your positive review is well rewarding the staff for the efforts they made. It is our honor to be service of you. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. If I can be of any assistance to make your next stay even more comfortable and memorable, please do let me know.

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in May 2014. The rooms are excellent & the service is extraordinaire. The club lounge has very good view of the city. Overall very nice hotel for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunir J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre and for sharing your wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and you appreciated the room and service we offered. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Hotel itself is a remarkable building, with a great executive lounge and breakfast area. The conference rooms though tend to be hot, with lighting that might actually give you a tan. They do not provide much in the way of cold drinks to cool you down either - mostly hot drinks and food. They are located a bit ways from the main hotel area. The executive lounge is excellent with excellent service - very helpful staff and very good food too. They have good break away rooms too. The main lobby is very nice but the back door gets locked at midnight - and the main doors/lobby area is located off the main road, perhaps for good reason (but makes it inconvenient, and hard for taxis to find, and hard to find a taxi). Hotel should perhaps run a shuttle to the Bund, but the start of Nanjing road (the main drag, like Times Sq) is a block away, and it eventually leads to the Bund. There is an underground mall next block over, with a western convenience store, but things aren't that easy to find. The subway is a block away and there are plenty of areas to explore. Rooms are very nice with plenty of space. Gym was ok, but not a Gold's.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StationSquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre and for sharing your detailed review with us on Tripadvisor. We take pride in providing the quality service to all our guests and thank you for your recognition especially for the executive lounge. Regarding the taxi issue, please reassured that our Concierge team is working on the action plan to improve the taxi waiting problem. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to experience our more improved service.

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here for two nights in April 2014 with my classmates while on a trip for my MBA. This hotel was excellent. The lobby was beautiful and the rooms were comfortable, spacious and very well-appointed AND SO CLEAN!! The location of the hotel was also very good as we were close to many attractions and cabs were easy to come by. Service here was excellent. Some of the best service I have ever encountered, actually. Everyone at the front desk spoke English, and all staff went out their way to make us feel welcome. My only complaint was that I sent some stuff out to be laundered/cleaned and some of it came back still dirty; however, the hotel was very apologetic and they did not charge me for the items that were not cleaned.

Breakfast here is amazing so be sure your room rate includes breakfast. It is an amazing buffet with all kinds of delicious options -- Indian, Chinese, English, American, etc. Both cold and hot! Honestly, this is one of the best breakfasts I have ever eaten!

Overall, I would highly recommend this property. Just a great experience all around!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jag_7896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre and for sharing your review with us on Tripadvisor. Our hotel is located in the downtown, which is convenient to access any Shanghai attractive destinations, and we are pround that our hotel is going to be the favorite hotel choice for those travellers who travel to Shanghai very often.

And also please accept our sincere apologies for the laundry service. We feel so disappointed that we didn't deliver you the Marriott quality service. Looking forward to your return and we will strive to give you a more memorable experience next time.

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#40 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#6 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre

Property: Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Address: 555 Xi Zang (Middle) Road | Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 720
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre located in People's Square, the heart of Shanghai. With easy access to metro line 1, 2 and 8 in just 5 minutes, you could explore Shanghai effortlessly, perhaps starting from the nearest attractions such as Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street to the Bund with the best night views. Pudong airport and Hongqiao airport are 48 kilometers and 17 kilometers away from our hotel respectively. Metro line 2 and our hotel airport transfer limousine service are both good choices for you. Our hotel offers 720 guest rooms with skyline view and suites with plush designer bedding, varying from business purposes to leisure activities. Executive lounge is accessible for guests staying in Executive room and above. There you could enjoy exclusive snacks and beverages, plus access to our business facilities. Other on-site amenities include a full fitness center with a 25-meter indoor lap-pool with spa. Our five innovative restaurants and bars are dedicated to serve you with high-quality cuisine, ranging from Shanghai Cantonese style in Manho, Hokkaido style in EZO to all day dining in Shanghai City Bistro. Treat your friends with a made-to-order afternoon tea in the Lounge or drop by our Java+ to get your morning coffee is also a good option. Come and experience our spirit to serve in Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, we assure you an unforgettable journey in Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing