We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Nearby Hotels
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Peninsula Shanghai(Shanghai)
US$540
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$480
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jin Jiang Hotel(Shanghai)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Kunlun Jing An(Shanghai)
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,041)
Filter reviews
2,041 results
Traveller rating
1,452
445
99
25
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,452
445
99
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungenanjing roadpeople's squaregreat hotelwalking distancepeople's parkexcellent locationlounge accessbusiness or pleasurebreakfast buffetjapanese restauranthigh floorconcierge deskrooms are largecorner roomfitness centerbusiness trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,075 - 1,080 of 2,041 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I've always had a great time staying at Marriott city center. It has a great location, convenient to people's square and many metro stations. I love the overall design of the hotel room and the lobby area, it's nice and modern. The staff are also very welcoming and will do their best to help you solve your problems. Great restaurants selection as well!
I also enjoy swimming in the fitness center and running in the morning, it's absolutely relaxing and you can also view the city through the big glass windows.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for always choosing Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, and thank you as well for your time to review our hotel. Your support will keep reminding us to do better in all ways to ensure that the guest satisfaction is our uppermost priority.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, please do let us know if we can be of any assistance to make your next stay even better.

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Me and my family had just stayed in the hotel for a long weekend. It was out first stay and surprisely beyond our expectation! The hotel looks new, not very outstanding exterior but was beautiful inside with various choices of restaurants, lounge, 24 hours gym (very thoughtful for worldwide traveler), great swimming pool, room was clean and comfortable, staff crew on club level was friendly and attentive,even my kids enjoyed chatting with them. Located nearby people square (centre of the city), close to several museum, city-tour bus station...Great value! Will stay again on my next business trip!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ggavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre on Tripadvisor. We are very delighted to know that you and your family enjoyed the stay with us and appreciated the services and facilities we offered. Our assocaites take great pride in providing a quality service to all our guests, your compliment will be sure to share with them, especially with Club lounge staff.

We look forward to your next visit, and we will make it BRILLIANT!

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have had a fantastic experience staying at the hotel. Excellent ambience, with a fantastic choice of restaraunts to choose from as well as lounges to just sit back and relax was extremely rewarding. The hotel has excellent staff who are always assisting you and making you feel comfortable. Excellent Standards!!! Located within the Downtown area is surrounded by fantastic malls and restaraunts as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank l0vet0travel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre on Tripadvisor. It was a privilege and pleasure to have you as our guest! We sincerely appreicate your support and your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Guest satisfaction is always being our top priority, and we are glad you experienced so.

As you've highlighted, the hotel's location is superb, and we are only a short walk to major attractions such as the Bund and the subway is right at our door. We do hope you to experience more about our hotel in your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is the second occasion that I have stayed at this hotel and have had excellent service on both occasions. The rooms are modern, clean and have full facilities for the business traveller. The wifi was free in the room and gave excellent connection throughout the stay. As with many western hotels the prices for food and drink are very high compared with the local restaurants - especially breakfast, when there are both Starbucks and Costa close by. The hotel is well situated for the shopping area and a walk or run down on the Bund. The leisure/fitness club is also great when the weather does not allow an outside run!!! Taxis to both airports are reasonable priced and the concierge desk do their most to help you get taxis to any destinations for business or pleasure. I will definitely stay at this hotel on my next trip to Shanghai.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunningMan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for always choosing to stay at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre and for taking the time to share your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We feel great when our guest enjoyed the stay and like the services and facilities we offered. Your very encouraging comment is well rewarding the efforts that our staff made.

Thank you again for taking the time to support us, we look forward to being of service for your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great hotel, I must say. International standard with excellent breakfast. The location of the hotel is perfect. Close to the metro line 2 that takes you to Pudong Airport one way and Hiaoqing (wrong spelled) Airport the other way. The only thing I have to say is that reception is sometimes very low. You need to be in time to check out, it can take you up to 30 minutes.
Health area is also very good to be a hotel gym. I am very satisfied and will absolutely stay there next time I go back to Shanghai. The rooms are spacy even there smallest and the beds are GREAT! I slept very good.

Room Tip: Go as Always in a big city, high up, to get it more quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seattle94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre and sharing your recent stay experience on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the hotel itself, guestroom and health club.

Thank you as well for bringing the reception service to our attention, we take matters such as this very seriously. The proper trainings and improving actions will be taken up personally by Front Office Manager immediately. We look forward to your next visit. If we can be of any assistance to make your next stay even better, please do let us know.

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews