We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location,extremely helpful and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #13 of 5,137 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Location is great!! Rooms are good with great view !! Staff is extremely helpful and friendly!! They are there at every step to guide you!! Buffet breakfast spread is also great even for vegetarians !! Would definitely like to stay again!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pradeep2817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Warm greetings from Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre! Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the view from your guestroom as well as buffet breakfast provided in our City Bistro. We would look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you again for your encouraging feedback.

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

913 - 919 of 1,846 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Had business meetings here over the weekend and the staff was extremely helpful. The rooms on the executive level were well appointed and the staff in the lounge excellent as always.

The hotel is located only 2 blocks from Nanjing Road East - a pedestrian only area with lots of shops and restaurants. Great place to walk and just people watch, but if you're a business guy alone, the touts trying to sell you goods or services is beyond belief - so be careful. But ignoring them, it's really fairly safe.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank C3_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Greetings from Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre! We are thrilled that you chose to stay with us during your business trip.

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts with other travelers regarding our property and location. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you plan to return to Shanghai in the future. We would look forward to welcoming you again!

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I give this property a 4 star rating (actually 4.5) Location is great!! Rooms are nicely appointed, service is superb.

However, fellow business travelers should know the following: The executive lounge needs to change the name to just lounge. It is not solely for those of us who travel for business and need a place to relax and unwind anymore. These so called executive lounges have become available to anyone who's willing to pay for them and I understand this, but it is diluting the meaning and integrity a bit. When there are 10 to 30 kids running around at dinner time, it is no longer an executive anything anymore. Especially, on the weekends especially be forewarned about this as the flood gates open and it's Romper Room up there.

So a family pays a little extra and the entire family gets to eat and drink for free? Whereas a single business traveler pays the same rate, but there is only one body to feed. Seems like Marriott could solve this by making the families pay a surcharge for "extra" guests or lessen my fee to put up with the noise.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aradsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Warm greetings from Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Upon reading your review, I was concerned to learn that your experience fell short of Executive Lounge. Your feedback has been shared and discussed among related department managers who appreciate your detailed comments.

If you return to Shanghai in the future, we would look forward to an opportunity to welcome you again so that we may deliver an excellent hotel experience. In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me if we may be of further assistance. Thank you again for your time and thoughts.

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have been staying in this hotel for all my Shanghai trips. The service was great, location couldn't get better. And my last stay was made even more exceptional, being upgraded to one of its top suites on 37th floor. I was told (at the checkout time) that it was a surprise for my birthday. What a nice gesture, sweeping away my sadness of having to spend my birthday on a business trip. The rooms were breath-taking (see attached photos).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fanhua2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to support Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, we truly aprpeciate that our hotel will be your first choice when you travel to Shanghai. We take guest satisfaction as our top priority, and we are very glad that you experienced so. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fine - not five star and not as nice as the JW of course but nice. The executive lougne is nice and has a nice happy hour spread. My issue is with the Spa. I went there for a neck, head and shoulder massage and was talked into a longer time with the typically aggressive sales techniques you run into in hotel spas in China. She quoted me the extra price while I was undergoing the massage so I agreed but when I checked out it seemed overpriced as she didn't do the scalp massage I had asked for. It ended up being a typical two hour massage which by the price list should have been 1100 rmb. I was charged 1600. The spa concierge could tell I was a little annoyed but I didn't say anything except to ask why I didn't get the scalp massage to which she replied that they decided I didn't need it. Huh? She called me a few minutes later and lowered the price to 1500 which was still quite high from what I could tell by the price list. It just left me with a bad feeling. I would have used the spa more but after that I avoided it.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank mjanerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel is conveniently located in the center of the city (like what its name suggests). Only a couple years old, with modern decor, very new inside and out. Nice views from the room. I stayed for 20 nights this time. Front desk manager William is exceptional. He is very kind and accommodating, always ready to help, makes you feel welcome. And the staff in the club lounge are friendly and attentive. The food in the club lounge and 3rd floor is of high quality. A lot of imported cheese, and the Italian bread they serve is very authentic. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ying D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor. The happiest thing for us is to hear that our guests had a enjoyable and comfortable stay in our hotel.

We truly appreciate your compliment about our staff, our associates take great pride in providing a quality Marriott service to all our guests, and your comments will certainly be shared with them, which will encourage them to do better in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon to experience more about our hotel!

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Well located near Nanjing street and Peoples Park. The hotel and rooms are very well appointed, in fact are luxury. The staff are very friendly, very helpful and attentive - all that you expect from a Marriott.

It all comes together in the restaurant at breakfast, the most impressive array of food's both Western and Asian and chefs to prepare anything you wish to order.

Shanghai has 25 million people, is mostly concrete and glass and you'll have to search to find anything original. It's a very expensive place to shop and with constant overcast heavy pollution we found it more like a city in a bad futuristic movie.
So the Hotel became a welcome relief at the end of the day.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank KaiTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre on Tripadvisor. Your very positive and encouraging feedback regarding the hotel is letting us know that you had a comfortable and memorable stay with us and really relaxed yourself in our hotel. We appreciate your support.

For those travellers who are first visit to Shanghai, our Concierge has very considerate city tour introduction serving to our guests only, which will lead them to explore Shanghai thoroughly.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future!

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,137 in Shanghai
2,693 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre

Address: 555 Xi Zang Road | Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 5,137 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £97 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 720
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre locates in People’s Square, the heart of Shanghai. Easy access to metro line 1, 2 and 8, you could explore Shanghai effortlessly, perhaps starting from the nearest attractions such as Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street to the Bund with the night views. Pudong airport and Hongqiao airport are 48 kilometers and 17 kilometers away from our hotel respectively. Metro line 2 and our hotel airport transfer limousine service are both good choices for you. Our hotel offers 720 guest rooms with skyline view and suites with plush designer bedding, varying from business purposes to leisure activities. Executive lounge is accessible for guests staying in Executive room and above. There you could enjoy exclusive snacks and beverages, plus access to our business facilities. Other on-site amenities include a full fitness center with a 25-meter indoor lap-pool with spa. Our five innovative restaurants and bars are dedicated to serve you with high-quality cuisine, ranging from Shanghai Cantonese style in Manho, Hokkaido style in EZO to all day dining in Shanghai City Bistro. Treat your friends with a made-to-order afternoon tea in the Lounge or drop by our Java+ to get your morning coffee is also a good option. Come and experience our spirit to serve in Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, we assure you an unforgettable journey in Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing