We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #14 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Breakfast in the hotel's City Bistro is a great experience - the Asian food section is worth trying with shiao mai, buns, congee, curries, soups, steamed and fried food - delicious. Already looking forward to going downstairs to breakfast tomorrow morning. Friendly & helpful staff who are attuned to guests needs as well as great conference arrangements. Housekeeping staff in particular, are fantastic. Beds are comfortable and firm and there are a variety of pillow types to choose from. Free wifi for Members. Well located to People's Park, Nanjing Road, the Bund and a variety of restaurants and malls.

Room Tip: Grab a pastry special in the coffee shop downstairs in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingTraveller79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre and rating the hotel on Tripadvisor!

We value your feedback and appreciate your having taken the time to share your detailed comments with us. Everything we do is aimed at providing an excellent experience to all our guests, and we are truly glad that you experienced so. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,051
    383
    80
    19
    14
See reviews for
267
270
78
687
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just returned from a five night stay at this Marriott. We were using Marriott reward points and we are gold elite so we had access to the executive lounge and were on the 36th floor. Our room was beautiful with both a bath and shower in the bathroom. Being gold we had breakfast included. The breakfast buffet was extensive and there was a choice of just about anything you might want including chinese, japanese and Indian choices as well as well american. It was an excellent location convenient to everywhere. I would highly recommend it. Took a regular taxi on the lower level to the hotel only 170CNY. Be careful of people offering you taxi's when you get through customs. Would have cost us triple if we hadn't known to avoid them.

Room Tip: We were in 3622 fabulous large room with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine3618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Warm greetings from Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre! Thank you for your valuable time to write a thoughtful and positive review regarding your current stay with us. And we are thrilled that your stay was memorable and enjoable. Your positivity means a lot to us. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Best wishes for your future travels with Marriott!

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This Hotel is very ideally located in the heart of the city. People's Square, Madam Tussaud's, Nanjing Road are all at a stone's throw. The Bund & the Huangpu River Cruise as well as the very famous Xin Tian Di (European feel of dining) are also quite close by (around 20 Yuan by taxi).

The rooms are very well appointed with all modern amenities. I had asked for a smoking room & fortunately they gave me a room on the 31st floor, so more spacious rooms. (Check the elevation of the Hotel & you will understand why the higher you go, the more spacious rooms you get). The House keeping - excellent, the staff very courteous & warm, the bf - a fantastic spread. Right from Check-In to Check-out it was just smooth sailing . . All services, just too good.

Now the flip side : We were there for 6 days & 1 night we (around 8 pax) decided to have our dinner in their Restaurant. Although it was late evening (maybe 11.30 pm), we were surprised to learn that there was only 1 chef in the Hotel (this Hotel has 600+ rooms) and they took more than an hour to serve.

Except for that one hitch a fantastic Hotel at a fantastic price. Go for it !!!!

Room Tip: Even if you are a non-smoker, ask for a smoking room . . the higher you go, the better . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VIKASRATHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Warm greetings from Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre!

Thank you for taking the time to provide the feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that you experienced our convenient location, warm staff service, spacious room and its amenities, as well as the various breakfast options. We also appreciate you raising the issue of dinner order delay to our attention, your comment will be shared and discussed with our F&B Manager in order to well assign the staff during the nighttime.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future!

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Spent 3 weeks in Shanghai at two different 5 star hotels. The Marriott was fantastic in every way. Great room, service and breakfast. Other 5 star hotel was terrible in comparison. Westerners beware to not trust 5 star ratings. Stay at a reputable brand like Marriott. Housekeeping service was fantastic. The hotel went out of their way for my wife's birthday and our anniversary sending up cake and wine. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gotmilkpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre and rating the hotel on Tripadvisor. We are humble and thrilled to read your wonderful review, the satisfied experience of our guests is always the purpose of our duties in taking care of the guests. We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Astounding Hotel. Good location, excellent breakfast with an impressive choice. Rooms are proper and spacious. If you are Marriott members WiFi is free.
It's difficult to find something that was not satisfactory.
Some refurbishing on the facade that was dripping.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Warm greetings from Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre!

Thank you for your valuable time to review your recent stay on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you had a memorable stay experience in our hotel. It is an honor to be of service to you, and the dripping issue had rasied to our Engineering team to fix it, we appreciate your feedback as we take guest satisfaction seriously. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Marriotts are becoming one of my favorite hotel chains. With Marriott, I can always count on the things that I really appreciate:
Electrical outlets next to the bed so I can charge my phone and use it simultaneously in bed. Electrical outlets in the bathrooms that work for my flat iron. This Marriott does not disappoint.

The rooms are clean, large and have the other amenities, such as an espresso maker and lots of pillows. View I had was fantastic and the location next to People's Square is perfect.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wings415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Warm greetings from Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre!

Thank you for your precious time to review your recent stay experience on tripadvisor. Our hotel located in the heart of Shanghai city, near metro lines to easily access all famous travel destinations in this wonderful city. We appreciate you taking your time to support our hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great location near Peoples Park and the Big Bus tourist stop. Also next to a shopping mall and lots of other shops. Ask for view of the park. You can see the Puxi side with the highrises depending on the angle of the room. We stayed on a club floor and enjoyed the club for breakfast and other snacks. Club has a panoramic view--almost 360 degrees. Spacious rooms featured glass separation between bedroom and bathroom. Electric blinds enabled privacy. Pool very big but jacuzzi did not bubble. Loxker room has steam and sauna. Dual massage was very good--spa very well designed. lobby lounge very nice as well. Staff very helpful.

Room Tip: ask for People's park side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKW52245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-City-Centre, Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed reviews about your recent stay at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre with other travellers on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the location, guestroom, as well as the staff service.

Looking forward to hosting you again in the near future!

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#39 of 5,105 in Shanghai
2,615 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre

Property: Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Address: 555 Xi Zang (Middle) Road | Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 720
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre locates in People’s Square, the heart of Shanghai. Easy access to metro line 1, 2 and 8, you could explore Shanghai effortlessly, perhaps starting from the nearest attractions such as Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street to the Bund with the night views. Pudong airport and Hongqiao airport are 48 kilometers and 17 kilometers away from our hotel respectively. Metro line 2 and our hotel airport transfer limousine service are both good choices for you. Our hotel offers 720 guest rooms with skyline view and suites with plush designer bedding, varying from business purposes to leisure activities. Executive lounge is accessible for guests staying in Executive room and above. There you could enjoy exclusive snacks and beverages, plus access to our business facilities. Other on-site amenities include a full fitness center with a 25-meter indoor lap-pool with spa. Our five innovative restaurants and bars are dedicated to serve you with high-quality cuisine, ranging from Shanghai Cantonese style in Manho, Hokkaido style in EZO to all day dining in Shanghai City Bistro. Treat your friends with a made-to-order afternoon tea in the Lounge or drop by our Java+ to get your morning coffee is also a good option. Come and experience our spirit to serve in Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, we assure you an unforgettable journey in Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing