We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place has it all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
Ranked #19 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

If you are looking for a little oasis, look no further. Kerry Parkside has it all! Beautiful rooms, world class gym, full size swimming pool, hot tub, dry sauna, steam sauna, kids swimming pool, ping pong game room, international buffet, bar with band nightly, 5 star "The Meat" restaurant, and a lounge, beauty salon, cigar shop, bakery, ball room, conference center and that is just the Hotel! The property is attached to a mall complex that offers many other great restaurant choices for Dim Sum, Thai, Chinese, Pizza, bakery, donuts, noodles, Starbucks and much more. There is a fully stocked grocery store with a bakery, extensive wine selections and ready to eat food available too. Plenty of clothing stores to choose from as well. Did I mention you can catch the metro just outside the mall doors in a covered complex area so you don't have to get caught in the rain to catch your train?! You can find a great message place there called Dragonfly-very popular with the expats here. All in all, Kerry Parkside is "The" place in Pudong to spend a day or just meet up. It is located right next to the Expo center, which is a massive complex by itself. Right across the street is Century Park, a beautiful, very large park with lots of paths to choose from, water features, paddle boats, bicycles built for two, paddle powered carriages...lots to do. Also across the street (in another direction) is The Himalayan, another top end hotel and mall complex with a cinema. We have lived in the residence side of The Kerry Complex for over two years now and love it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Century Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saberan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor W, General Manager at Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Saberan, Thank you very much for your review. Yes being in Kerry Parkside and our loacation is a great advantage. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,092)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

491 - 497 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

AC was not working. Room temp was hot. Staff told me there was nothing they could do due to technical constraints. Also, they had to be reminded of my preferences again and again despite me filling in a form.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Ros C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor W, General Manager at Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Ros, Thank you very much for your comments. The above issues are rectified and we hope that you will have a great expereince with us once you return for the next stay. With best regards
Gregor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We live in Shanghai so we usually stay here as a "staycation" during long weekends, as the kids facilities are really great, especially Adventure Zone playroom. Unfortunately the service at these facilities can be very poor, especially during peak holidays like the last time we stayed there, on the Dragon Festival weekend holiday. The room is always very nice and if you choose the Club option, breakfast and happy hour are just awesome and a great value. Dedicated check in and check out are also a very nice touch.
The negatives: every time we visited the swimming pool (one time in the morning around 10.30 and one time around midday) they were out of towels. Unbelievable. And very poor customer service.
Every time we visited the adventure zone playroom half of the kids and adults were wearing no socks, when there is a very clear rule about being a strict requirement. It is unhygienic and a bit gross to see so many people walking around barefoot. The staff in charge of the big slides (to guarantee security, you would assume) were totally uninterested in guiding the traffic making sure the kids were sliding down safely and taking turns. Very bad service again, in this case it could get dangerous too. The mats used for one of the slides are so old and worn out that you practically slide down on your butt, how long will it take for them to change them? I saw kids sliding down with NO mats, even though it's supposed to be really dangerous, but again nobody from the staff was checking so no security in place.
Not a very good experience this time around, considering the facilities are the only reason we always choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the club option which include happy hour as well as soft drinks all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maricipry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor W, General Manager at Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear maricipry , thank you very much for your review and we do apologize that we were
not ablke to meet your expectations. The popularity of our Kerry Sports and Adventure Zone
during long weekends can not be an excuse for not meeting our high standards. We will
improve on this and be able to meet all of your expectations during your next stay. Once again thank you very much .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a 5-star hotel featuring everything you want: shopping mall with excellent restaurants, wide range of shops, wellness, quiet park next by. And you can explore Shanghai using the inhouse metro station.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Gerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

a very nice and positive surprise in Shanghai after 10 years of absence. could not have asked for a better overall service, amenities, friendliness and attentions to details. highly recommended.

close to the highway to the airport - a big plus. close to the center of Shanghai nightlife - a big plus.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank HB2020_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

One can tell that the Shangri-La Group certainly put a lot of thought into the concept of the Kerry Hotel Pudong. From the in-house brewery to the casual breakfast experience, I applaud the marketing and engineering people.
However, the execution can not live up to this standard:
- great idea to have a free mini bar. But the fridge is unplugged and can only be turned on after a staff member pulls out the entire piece. I eventually ended up ordering room service, but then what's the point of the free mini bar?
- the casually dressed breakfast staff hands you a free paper and flips over the sign on your table that states that you are still working on your breakfast - great. But when the cappuccino that I ordered did not arrive after twice reminding them, the positive first impression is lost.
- I used the free shoe cleaning service - but at 8am the shoes were not returned and I had to call down and wait 15min for them to be brought up.

The list continues. All in all, I would give them a chance and see the concept for yourself. If you want a perfect stay and not worry I would recommend the more expensive but great Langham in Xintiandi.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadWorrier17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

• Great room and great service, especially by Shanghai standards
• The Gym is so far the best in Asia, with all standard equipment as well as non standard (rowing machine, high quality boxing bag and gear)
• 2 subway station lines to the centre within 15 minutes walking
• Opposite century garden for morning jogging
• Connected to shopping mall with plenty of food options (Asian and Western)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicolasSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#68 of 5,146 in Shanghai
468 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#34 of 5,146 in Shanghai
2,414 reviews
Lujiazui
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai

Address: No.1388 Huamu Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 201204, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £166 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 574
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flowing seamlessly within the new Kerry Parkside complex, integrating the hotel with an office tower, serviced residences and lifestyle retail mall, Kerry Hotel Pudong, Shanghai is located in the heart of Pudong, opposite Century Park, the largest eco-park in Shanghai. While directly connected to the Shanghai New International Expo Center (SNIEC), the hotel is easily accessible to the rest of the Shanghai metropolis via the underground metro within the complex. Pudong International Airport is 30 minutes away by car and 15 minutes away by Maglev train. The hotel's 574 rooms and suites, most with expansive Century Park views, are designed for optimum ease in work rest and leisure, with complimentary broadband and wireless internet access. For those seeking a more personalised experience, The Club offers seven floors of exclusive accommodation, access to the Club Lounge, complimentary daily breakfasts, evening cocktails, express check-in and check-out, butler and concierge service and host of other privileges. Anchoring the hotel's lifestyle experience is an innovative three-in-one integrated destination for dining, entertaining and socialising: The COOK (international ala carte with open kitchens and gourmet deli), The MEET (steakhouse and grill) and The BREW (craft brewery). Kerry Sports, spanning 6,000 square metres across three levels, comprises a 24-hour fitness centre, an indoor swimming pool, a wellness spa, outdoor tennis court and basketball court, studios for yoga (including hot yoga), pilates, spinning, boxing and aerobics, and the Adventure Zone, an indoor children's playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing