We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only stay if you like feeling unwelcome.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Ranked #157 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Only stay if you like feeling unwelcome.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We were so excited on our arrival in Shanghai to be staying in an old property in the French quarter, the reviews had been good and so we were expecting good things..... What we got.... Lied to by an unwelcoming pair at reception....." Yes these rooms are non-smoking" as they quickly removed ashtrays... " this whole floor is no -smoking"- plainly not the case.....don't put the bathroom extractor fan on as it pulls in the air from other rooms and multiples the smell. Which is such a pity as the rooms are nice and housekeeping obviously work hard to keep them so.
The cafe- again staffed by unwelcoming staff and no menus -only wine.... Ok if you only want wine.... Can't comment about the gym as all the signs around the place are only in mandarin and the hotel booklet didn't mention it...... What few staff there were rarely spoke English. It's not that I was affronted by this, after all I speak little mandarin and we are in China...... But do not court customers that you can not support, or to be honest appear to want to.... The feeling we had was that we were hiring in a nice room in a house belonging people who were grudgingly allowing us to lodge as long as we're stayed out of their way ! We had booked for 5 nights- left after one.
Nicest person we met was a trainee at reception as we were leaving, he obviously hadn't learned not to care about customers yet, and I hope he always maintains the level of concern he displayed today.

Room Tip: Good if you smoke and speak mandarin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12rocklily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    50
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
22
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Hotel was beautiful, clean, large rooms, beautiful lobby... that being said the staff were without a doubt clueless. They didnt know where the french Concession was or the Yuang gardens, the two most famouse landmarks, one right on their doorstep, very helpfull but completely useless, 6 people spent 20 minutes to send us to out favorite restaraunt Zen Cafe which we were close to.... they put us in a cab who drove miles to Zen furniture store. Really a big waste of time... No computer to use in the whole of a five star hotel was not acceptable. Wouldnt stay there again

Room Tip: do not ask any questions and you will have a good stay. Manager was an imbecile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eurostuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

His hotel is in a great location just off huaihai lu, the main shopping street in shanghai. Walking distance to shops, restaurants and a stop of the big red bus tour of shanghai. The lobby is impressive and the rooms are very spacious and clean. The hotel staff is helpful, but dont speak too much english. The breakfast buffett it geared towards its mainly chinese clientele, but there are enough western options available.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tourist1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

The hotel is in a great location, near the metro and convenient for checking out the French Quarter. The staff was helpful and the rooms and the lobby were sharp-looking and clean. The large grounds are located in the middle of the city and the hotel was nearly empty when we stayed, which was a little bit strange but not unwelcome. Compared to other hotels nearby, I thought the price, location and quality were great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MergesTheSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Located in the French Concession, which is close to Subway st. with many great restaurants, bars. Beautiful atmosphere, good room condition with nice amenities.

One thing is that the house keeping keep calling you until you let them make up your room. Room is a bit dry at night. Internet works quite fine with the wire, unable to use the wireless though.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hyunsun p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed 19 days on Jan in Fenyang Garden hotel.
Hotel looks wonderful, classic type. Convenient accessibility from old streets such as Fu min Rd, An fu Rd, etc where has nice restaurants.

Best part in the hotel is the room size. I stayed two types room on Jan, both are bigger than ordinary hotels. They has a tennis court next car park. But its gym is extremely small. If I exaggerate it, the size is almost as same as your bathroom. Service was more close to 3.5 star hotel. I do not know why, but they will keep call you whole day for cleaning your room if you are at room.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

This is a great find. Stayed 2 nights for business with a free Sunday to explore. The rates are extremely reasonable, and this is a beautiful hotel. The staff is very friendly & professional without swarming excessively as I've experienced in some other Chinese hotels. My room was very nice with a great view of an old house next door, garden & some skyline. Everything was very clean, the bed very comfortable, and the bathroom is nicely appointed. The location is in a great neighborhood and very quiet. Right across the street from The Shanghai Conservatory of Music & Parsons' Music School. There are some cute cafes nearby on the smaller streets, as well as Donghu road with all it's hubbub & more importantly, Starbucks. If you're looking for touristy things to do, Fuxing Park is near enough to walk to, as is the metro, which will bring you to Nanjing road, the bund, etc... quite quickly. From this vantage point you can easily do a fun self-guided day in Shanghai. You will not be disappointed. Don't think, just book.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai
Former French Concession
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
#154 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Former French Concession
Mansion Hotel
Mansion Hotel
#190 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Mason Hotel Shanghai
Mason Hotel Shanghai
#228 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Former French Concession
Pudi Boutique Hotel
Pudi Boutique Hotel
#168 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Former French Concession
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel

Property: Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Address: No.45 Fenyang Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Ebookers so you can book your Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing