We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Secret in the heart of Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Ranked #141 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Terrific Secret in the heart of Shanghai”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Ok... it is no longer a secret. The Fenyang Garden Hotel is excellent. This hotel is in a great location with lots of little restaurants and shops on the doorstep. The rooms are excellent, the grounds are lovely and the service low key but pleasant and friendly. It is an oasis in Shanghai. The only thing that let's it down slightly is the breakfast buffet which is distinctly local and not in the least international... but hey, nothing is perfect. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OverHere_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    52
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
23
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This hotel has many good features and the room rate (breakfast included) at Y900/night was reasonable at the time of my stay (12 days in Jul 2013).
Situated right opposite the Shanghai Conservatory of Music, the hotel is about 10 minutes' walk from the shopping precinct of Huaihai Road and metro stations (even faster if one uses the shortcuts through lanes in the nearby residential areas).
Set back quite a distance from Fenyang Road and Fuxing Road, in a large well kept compound, it offers respite from the passing traffic while its location offers convenience in terms of proximity to eateries and shops.
Service was prompt and very courteous, especially in housekeeping. There was wi-fi in the lobby and internet connection in room. Daily newspapers were available at reception.
The room was spotless and tidy, and extremely comfortable. The cleaners were very discreet while efficient. Remember to put up the do-no-disturb sign if you don't want the daily turn-down service in the early evening.
In addition to tea making facilities there was a daily supply of bottled water in the room. For daily drinking I tended to boil some water and kept it in the decanter provided and brought the bottled water with me on outings.
The hotel offered good foreign exchange rates, much better than the exorbitant bureaux de change at Pudong Airport. However it didn't accept traveller's' cheques.
Breakfast was included in the tariff but the range of food on offer might seem limited for Westerners. Choose the central tables in the dining room if you want to avoid excessive draught from its air-cond system.
There was a great range of eateries within walking distance, in Fenyang Road, Fuxing Road, Huaihai Road or Xiangyang Road: from posh to budget. Be careful NOT to go too budget during the very hot summer in Shanghai though, as gastroenteritis awaits those with delicate stomachs in hot weather when inadequate refrigeration and food preparation/storage practices might be wanting.
Be sure to ask for higher floors if you want to avoid cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluebirdOverRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We chose to stay in the Fenyang Garden at the end of a trip around China and North Korea, and it was the most expensive one of the 6 hotels we stayed in but offered the least. The location is good - Shanghai is a spread out city so it's not the kind of place you can walk around and the metro station is about 5 - 10 mins' walk away, passing some very tasty and very cheap food on the way. In fact there is so much range in that one street that you can eat a new style of breakfast every day for over a week. The French Concession area is well heeled and stylish and for my money definitely the place to stay in Shanghai, so this is all good news.

But compared to the far cheaper places we'd stayed in in similarly developed and popular cities like Nanjing, Suzhou and Hangzhou, this was disappointing. The main drawback being awful internet connectivity! No wifi except in the lobby and unless you have a Chinese mobile, you need to get a username and password from the staff every 24 hours. The poor desk staff are inundated with travellers asking for passwords, and each time they need to receive a text with a new code. This system is daft for a hotel that aims to attract international guests. There was also no business centre and when asked about computing facilities I was made to feel like I was being a bit unreasonable.

The rooms are high quality and the hotel is attractive but nothing mind-blowing. Breakfast is expensive and as aforementioned, unnecessary. Staff are efficient but not especially friendly. English skills are adequate.

Had I not experienced the high quality hotels in neighbouring cities, I might have given this 4 stars, but in this day and age a high end hotel must do better on the tech front.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DocRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel was clean, modern, and set up for foreign (USA) visitors. The service at the front desk was excellent. The night shift helped me one night with some computer problems - even texting a friend, who came and helped out!! I couldn't have thanked them enough - they were not only helpful but gracious and patient the whole time with me. The breakfast was also great, especially if you are not used to Chinese breakfast food (I am but my wife liked that they had Western options that were tasty).
The rooms were spacious and clean. The bathrooms were also "Western friendly" and were easily comparable to luxury accommodations in the States.
It is located a little bit away from the Bund, etc., but it's a relatively cheap taxi ride away from everything. Or walk around and enjoy the French Partition, which has a very European vibe.
Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed here for 5 days during the bulk of my trip in Shanghai and this hotel was definitely the best choice amongst the others around the South Shanxi Station area. The atmosphere of the hotel grounds is peaceful and relaxing. The hotel lobby is non-smoking and despite staying in a smoking room. There was no lingering smell in the room. Housekeeping does a fantastic job of keeping the room very clean as well as their 5* evening turn down service. For the entire 5 days I had stayed there never once was I disturbed by housekeeping unlike previous reviews and even once when I was in the shower I think housekeeping wanted to conduct their turn down service but couldn't do so, they did not come back to continually harass me or anything. perhaps they had taken into account of previous reviews and have made several changes. I find their service excellent and my only critique is they could perhaps have another person working the front of the hotel to help guests with bags as sometimes the bellboy is off somewhere else and is unable to attend to guests. The hotel is actually much closer to exit 7 of line 10 as I had discovered an easy shortcut one can take in the daytime through the housing area beside the hotel which will lead to a narrow alleyway and just 1 road crossing away from exit 7. A wonderful hotel and I truly enjoyed the privacy and uniqueness of this place. The staff are very accommodating like for example on our first day my partner needed to attend a meeting and we hoped to be able to check in earlier with our bags before the meeting and the front desk kindly obliged us. As well on our last day we were a little late checking out and we were not hassled at all to leave the room by noon. A great place to stay, a quiet calming haven in the middle of a bustling city. I will definitely return here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meizhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Not suitable for business traveler -- poor internet connect, no business office, printing, or willingness to accomodate travellers' needs in this regard.
Hallways smell.... like smoke and a badly managed septic system.
Breakfasts are not at all interesting. Bland, tasteless food.
Too expensive for what they are offering (compared to other nearby hotels).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvermaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

As a frequent visitor to Shanghai, I decided to try a different hotel away from the hustle and bustle of Nanjing Road. I found the Fenyang Garden Hotel to be a very pleasant change. The hotel offers large, nicely furnished rooms in a beautiful garden setting. The hotel was built in the 1930's with Spanish design and has been renovated and maintained very well. While it seems to be off the beaten path, it is in a great older Shanghai neigborhood, close to restaurants, bars, shopping and the famous Huaihai Road. The staff is friendly and helpful, if not fully fluent in English. Rooms are equiped with internet access and the quiet, peaceful atmoshere is perfect for work or relaxation . I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Shanghai for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai
Former French Concession
Mansion Hotel
Mansion Hotel
#356 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Former French Concession
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
#157 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Mason Hotel Shanghai
Mason Hotel Shanghai
#185 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Former French Concession
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
#208 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Former French Concession
Pudi Boutique Hotel
Pudi Boutique Hotel
#194 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel

Property: Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Address: No.45 Fenyang Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing