We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This would be 5 stars but te location is quite far away from the center of Shanghaiand taxi fares can be high in the eve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao
Ranked #142 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This hotel must be very new as everything looked pristine, the surrounding area has a few bars and restaurants which look quite good and easy for foreigners to use.

The room I had was stunning with a huge picture window looking out onto Shanghai city, I could look out from my huge and conformable bed and watch the city light up in the evening.

The breakfast section was not as good as the Marriott Courtyards' that I use but was still OK, the evening buffet selection was REALLY good for a foreigner, all-you.can eat selection with some excellent international dishes, I loved it.

The morning check out was a bit stressful, if you are a quiet person then you will find people pushing in front at the desk delaying your departure, and the process seemed slow & complicated with staff behind the desk looking nervous, this is an international problem but still frustrating and it is the last memory you take when leaving a hotel.

As said this hotel is stunning but it is out-of-the way, the most expensive taxi into town was 150 RMB, about $20, which if you go in and out a few times makes the place an expensive option. Ideally the hotel should run a shuttle.

Room Tip: If you have to travel in and out of town more than once in a day move closer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn K, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Thank you so much for taking time to share with us such detailed feedback on our hotel.We have brought your comments to the related departments. The breakfast buffet menu is changed in regular. We feel sorry for kept you wating for some time at your check-out time in hotel's peak season. We will also enhance training for our staff to serve you feel like an individual.Meanwhile, hotel is certainly in the ideal location that only takes you 25 minutes to city center, People Square and 2 international airports.We arrange the shuttle bus to Longyang Road Metro Station everyday, you may check the schedule with our concierge on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night, the day we arrived in Shanghai. There was a mix up because there are 4 Holiday Inn Hotels in the Pu Dong district of Shanghai. The hotel staff offered little help in having us find the correct Holiday Inn that had our reservation. Of the four hotels, I think this one is the most expensive. It also has the most convenient location. Our room was on the 20th floor and it was a sunday night, but there was a night club close by and we could hear the music playing late into the night outside our window. Even worse, the telephone seemed to have a tick tock noise that I found incredibly disturbing because I was suffering from jet lag from the 14 hour flight. There was no way to silence the phone and I believe this was a timer for the internet which charged by the minute until you reached 80 rmb per day limit. Once again, we have an expensive hotel that charged for the internet. I wish the hotels would just include the internet price in the cost of the room. The last oddball thing with this hotel is that it has a square bathtub. It is nice for couples because it can accomodate two people but it does not allow a single person to stretch out and relax the way a traditional bathtub design does. I would stay at this hotel again, these were minor problems with the room. The superior room was a comfortable size with a comfortable bed. The hotel was clean and had a convenient location. Oh, they also give priority club members a coupon for a free drink in the bar but it is only good for beer or coffee. : (

Room Tip: Find a quiet room away from the noisy part of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harring10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn K, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Thanks for your comment and staying at our sisiter's Holiday Inn Pudong. We are glad to forward your feedback to the hotel you stayed at. Meanwhile, our hotel is also in an ideal location and only takes you 25 minutes to city center, People Square and 2 international airports.And we are looking forward to welcoming you to our Holiday Inn SHanghai Pudong Kangqiao on your next visit in Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I must admit that the spectacular picture of the cantilever swimming pool that this hotel advertises was one of the main reasons for booking a room at the Holiday Inn Pudong Kangqiao. However, it's not real, because the 6 glass bottom "windows" are much smaller, but yes, it remains a nice experience to be able to walk or swim while seeing the street about 70 metres below.

I was happy to be upgraded to an executive room with club access. However that's where my satisfaction ends. The staff is very badly trained, they're lost every time you ask for something that's not "in the script", plus most of them show no interest at all (the guy in the fitness centre, for example). And their command of English is pathetic: ordering dinner from Room Service was a struggle; every time I was asked for the page I got the dish from (they weren't numbered), and it took several minutes to order a main dish and a dessert! The exception was the European(?) lady from the lounge; I don't think English was her mother tongue, but she spoke it fluently, and was really attentive and nice.

The hotel is about one year old, but it's already starting to show its age, and it's plain to see that the materials they used were of poor quality. A shame really, as the hotel itself is quite beautiful and modern.

Another disappointment was its location. Not really near Pudong airport, but actually halfway between this one and Hongqiao, 25-30 km from each. On the other hand, the nearest subway station is about 8 km away, and the free shuttle bus at 9:30 AM can't solve the problem. That station is an important one (Long Yang, where the Maglev stops), but it's faster to get to the hotel from Pudong by taxi.

Now that I've swum in the cantilever swimming pool, next time I guess I'll look for another hotel...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josmon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn K, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Thanks for your comments and all your comments were brought to the attention of the concerned department, and we sincerely thank you for taking time to convey them to us. We will keep perfect training for our staff both for English and the best service to make you feel like an individual. Indeed, hotel arranges the shuttle bus to Longyang Road Metro Station everyday, which brings more convenience to our guests if they want to go to the nearest subway station. Meanwhile hotel is certainly in the ideal location to Pudong Airport that only takes 25min there.The last and the most important that thank you so much for your such detailed comments to our hotel again and we are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit in Shanghai. By then, We assure you that you will absolutely enjoy your time with utmost comfort and expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Looking for some place to escape from Shanghai downtown, we decided to go to this hotel last WE with some friends with kids to spend the WE.

We arrived at 7pm, and front desk made great efforts to arrange connecting rooms for us and the kids. We then had then dinner at SML all day dining outlet, and menu was quite affordable (30 rmb only for a glass of wine!).

Rooms are equipped with ipod docks and large flat screens (but no DVD player...).

On the second day we went with the kids on the rooftop cantilever swimming pool... quite unique experience to swim over the air with only a piece of glass under our feet. On top of that pool area comes with a terrace and canopy beds!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julien_Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn K, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you so much for taking time to share with us such detailed feedback on our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Stayed in this hotel last Saturday just because of attracted by the photo of the swimming pool(taken 'below' the swimming pool with a plane flying on the sky), but it comes out that this is just a demo photo of the swimming pool.
You can NOT even go directly from the locker room(23th floor) to the swimming pool(24th floor), because the stairs are still under construction, instead you have to take the elavtor.
Room is relatviely new. However, the housing keeping obviously forgot to clean the ashbin of the bathroom. So that we had to call the reception to clean it, and the housing keeping came after one hour!
As a Priority Club Platium member, we got the benifit of room upgrade, complimentory access to the lounge and welcome fruit. But the daily newspaper was missed.

Room Tip: Complete the swimming pool ASAP.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gujiqing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn K, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Thanks for your comments and all your comments were brought to the attention of the concerned department, and we sincerely thank you for taking time to convey them to us. The locker is under regular maintenance and we feel sorry for any inconvenience caused by it. Meanwhile, we will keep perfect training for our staff to serve you feel like an individual. Thanks again for your comment, and we'll look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Had the chance stay here last week. Very near to Pudong Airport (like 25 mins taxi).

My flight home was 8.30am and the best part is, breakfast starts at 6am, checkout at 550am, grab a quick bite and leave at 615.

As it is new, the facility is fantastic. The swiming pool is on the highest floor (Indoor Pool ) and has a see thru' bottom so you are like swimming above 24 floors.

Worth the try if you are on business. Not near City area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChooMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia J, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thanks for your comment. Yes,we are also proud of our swimming pool, China's first Cantilever Indoor Swimming Pool on the top of the hotel, which will bring you a unique experience. Meanwhile, we'll keep working harder and constantly provide the excellent service to every guest. We'll look forward to your staying with us next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

Clean room as the other holiday inns and the staff are friendly with good English capability

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuroken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia J, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you very much for your comment, and we will look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
World Expo
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
#133 of 5,222 in Shanghai
241 reviews
Shanghai New International Expo Center
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
#116 of 5,222 in Shanghai
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pudong International Airport
Royal International Hotel
Royal International Hotel
#128 of 5,222 in Shanghai
302 reviews
Novotel Shanghai Clover Hotel
#112 of 5,222 in Shanghai
142 reviews
Gloria Plaza Hotel Kangqiao Shan...
#1,781 of 5,222 in Shanghai
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao

Address: No.1088 Xiuyan Road, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 201315, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#109 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#129 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £65 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao 4*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly opened Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao is invested by SPG Land (Holdings) Limited, managed by InterContinental Hotels Group, one of the largest International Hotel Management Group.As the first International branded hotel and the travel landscape in Zhoupu and Kangqiao area, Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong kangqiao is ideally located at the center of Pudong New District. The hotel is close to Shanghai New International Expo Center and connects to national-level zone such as Kangqiao Industrial Zone and Zhangjiang Hi-tech Park.The hotel consists of 390 spacious and contemporary designed guest rooms and suites offering a higher standard of accommodation, personalized service and a host of special privileges and amenities. Featuring four restaurants and bars, 1,100sqm pillar-less Grand Ballroom with seven multi-function meeting rooms and a 680sqm Winter Garden that can accommodate up to 1,000 persons, the hotel is the perfect venue for conference, exhibition, meetings and events in any style. One of the additional features of the hotel is the Cantilever Indoor Swimming Pool, which allows you to swim 24 floors above the ground with nothing but a glass bottom underneath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing