We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Starts well ends weak”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of CHAR bar and grill

CHAR bar and grill
Ranked #21 of 16,873 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$44 - US$116
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: South Bund
Shanghai
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Starts well ends weak”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Second time visiting a few things to say about this high end steakhouse.
First they are training new wait staff on a Friday night. Second their seafood tower is quite tasty and includes stone crab, a nice surprise. Oysters are fresh and fish is good! Their grilled oysters were not seasoned and under cooked. The chocolate fondant dessert is not worth a try as it's dry. Coffee came cold. Atmosphere still hip but with service so bad and food inconsistent throughout the courses I'm not sure coming back for their signature high priced steaks is worth the visit.

Helpful?
5 Thank dhnoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai_Indigo, Director, Food & Beverage at CHAR bar and grill, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear dhnoopy

Thank you for taking the time to review CHAR restaurant. As you mentioned your experience started well but finished weak. After enjoying our seafood selection, which we have found has become very popular especially when combining it with the meat selection, I was saddened to hear about the coffee being cold & our service wasn't up to standard. We are constantly training & focusing on delivering a great product & I apologize we didn't meet your expectation on this occasion. We are changing our menu next week for the Autumn time so please contact me personally if you are Shanghai again so I can ensure you get a Strong End to your dinner next time

regards
Julie Donohoe

Director Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    129
    47
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Had family visiting us and wanted a break from the Chinese food after a few days of experiencing lots of different regional Chinese cuisine (which was great) ......... We go to Char quite often with family and friends visiting because it is consistent in the absolutely best possible sense of the word. The food as always was outstanding, one of our group ordered seafood and not steak ( I have never found a better steak in Shanghai, so never stray from that side of the menu), and when their meal came I was stunned..... Incredible presentation and apparently tasted incredible ! (Too good to share apparently so I can only give you second hand info ! ).
More importantly the staff who are expertly lead by Bart, yet again delivered an outstanding dining experience with attentive service and a feeling that your dining experience and your patronage was very important to them.

First class food, the highest possible standards of service and if you plan ahead and get a window seat there are few better views of the bund !

Helpful?
12 Thank Stu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The menu is not extensive, but simple and elegant. Definitely for steak lovers. The prices are reasonable for Shanghai and the view is over the Bund area and Huangpu River to Pudong area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank Chibke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great breakfast- terrible dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The breakfast buffet is delicious!!!! Skip the eggs and whatnot, and just go for the buffet. We would eat at 9 or so and be set until 1 or 2 pm. Service is top notch. No complaints whatsoever!!!

Dinner on the otherhand....oof. We got to the restaurant late, and were initially assisted by a young man. When we had perused the menu (website had been down), and were ready to be seated, a young woman began working with us. When she found out that we didnt have a reservation, she seemed really frazzled, despite the fact that there were lots of open tables. She sat us near the kitchen (fine), and gave us some time to look over the menu to decide. We ordered one pasta dish, and one seafood dish, and an appetizer. The appetizer came after our entrees, and the entrees didnt come out together. The waitress/disgruntled hostess didnt check in on us once during the meal, and was ready to give us the bill before we had even finished our wine. Despite the terrible service, the food was good, and we liked the wine. The people who got steaks around us seemed pleased. The dessert (a flaming marshmallow cake thing) was the standout of the evening. The restaurant has some prime tables with great views.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank im_a_t0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
130 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Steak with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I came here quite a number of times. Used to be no 1 steak house in town. Usually steaks are very good and cooked to the point. Nice selection of knifes and salt. The view is of course outstanding. I will come back

Helpful?
9 Thank whhamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CHAR bar and grill also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to CHAR bar and grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing