We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Anne R
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Perfect location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Nov 2012
Nice pleasant hostel with english speaking staff, clean, close to everything, good food, cheap beer and very cozy rooms. The line 2 subway a couple of blocks away will take you straight to both airports and main railway stations. This place is highly recommended!
Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£85
  • Priceline
    £79
  • Agoda.com
    £68
  • Expedia.com
    £79
0.7 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby view
£93
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £93
  • Vio.com
    £84
  • Hotels.com
    £93
0.2 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior View
£72
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £67
  • Expedia.com
    £72
  • Hotels.com
    £72
0.2 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
公寓外观
£130
  • Expedia.com
    £140
  • Hotels.com
    £120
  • Vio.com
    £130
1.3 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
£79
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £81
  • StayForLong
    £66
  • Hotels.com
    £81
11.1 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£139
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £139
  • Agoda.com
    £133
  • Priceline
    £139
1.1 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
£37
  • Priceline
    £38
  • Vio.com
    £36
  • Expedia.com
    £38
2.3 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
酒店大堂
£39
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £36
  • Agoda.com
    £33
  • StayForLong
8.3 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Classiq Double Room at the Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
£76
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
    £66
  • Agoda.com
    £61
  • Trip.com
    £71
0.7 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£81
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    £63
  • Agoda.com
    £59
  • Trip.com
    £61
20.1 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Shanghai
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
35
74
47
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
35
74
47
10
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012

nice, pleasant, spacious doubles ensuite, western toilet (proper shower), quiet, good service despite not speaking much english. Not even reception staff.
negative side: little english of the staff
not cheap but as quality is ok, you don't mind.
handy supermarkets almost next door, 15 minute walk to Bund, 2 mintues to Nanjing Road, ...Fab.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrisNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Very busy YHA, guests check in and out all days, took me more than half an hour for checking in a dorm bed!! There is a self service kitchen compare to others YHA in China that don't have, but mainly occupied by in house staffs than guests.

Close to Nanjing East walking street, 10 minutes walk to The Bund and half an hour walk to Yu Garden and many more!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2012

It's located just behind Nanjing Road, maybe best area to stay in Shanghai. The rooms were nice, the staff was ok, just ok. The have a bar with western breakfasts, but price not very chinese. Perfect for the price.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuiqueSenent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed in the dormroom on the 5th floor. We had a very mixed experience in this hostel. I'll sum it up below:
positive: hostel looks very nice, plenty of room to sit and relax, pooltable, dvd-room, good showers, good food, good wifi, very nice beds (for Chinese standards), powerful aircon in the room, lockers, nightguard, excellent location.
negative: dirty bathrooms, overall not very clean, rude and unhelpful staff, almost no atmosphere.
It's really strange this hostel won a Hostelworld Cleanliness Award in April 2012, because the shared bathroom on the 5th floor was very dirty. Hairs everywhere, mold and slime in the corners of the showers, dirty towels laying around for days and days... Maybe they stopped cleaning after they got that award? The dormroom was pretty dusty, but the linen was very clean and the beds are quite new.
The staff was terrible though. Especially the lady at the reception, she was rude, uninterested and didn't want to spend one second longer than necessary talking to us. They were constantly playing with their mobile phones. They forgot our order twice because one of them was sleeping and the other was totally hypnotized by her phone.
The common room is full of people staring at screens, either their laptops, smartphones or the tv. This was kinda sad and I never experienced it this bad (I've been to dozens of hostels over the past couple of months).The only place where you could talk to some other people was outside with the smokers...
But, I would stay here again and I would recommend it, just because it's affordable, the sleep quality is good and the location is excellent.

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank MathieuP383
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I will start out by saying I am not really a youth hostel person. This is my first one in five years so I don't have much to compare it to (it was chosen by a friend). The place seemed very lively--when I arrived well after midnight the lobby/check-in area was packed with young people drinking beers, hanging out, checking email, etc. The location is central if you are interested in being near Nanjing Road, the Bund, and People's Park. The subway stop was very close, making it easy to get around. Note that credit cards are not accepted so you should bring cash.

We stayed in a private room--actually one the "luxury" rooms, which was not what we intended, but when we checked in they didn't have the family room we had reserved. At first this was irritating, but I actually was happy not to get the family room; the one we saw was much smaller, and while we booked it for the convenience of having a second bed, the second "bed" was in fact a tiny, beat-up fold-out futon with no sheets on it.

The luxury room was large and pretty well-equipped, with a private bath... sheets, towels, A/C. No soap, so bring your own or buy it downstairs. The surfaces were pretty clean, but the sheets on the bed had odd stains and looked a bit worse for wear. (We didn't see any roaches in our room, though a traveling companion spotted a couple in the lobby). Wi-fi didn't reach our room most of the time, unfortunately, but we could use it in the lobby.

I will say that once you get into the more expensive private rooms at this hostel, it's not that great a value--you could get a cheap hotel room in Shanghai for the same or not much more, and it would have more amenities. However, the place definitely has some good points, and for those looking for a central hostel, it's not a bad choice.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katiekins570
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews