We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
pichis83
Suzhou, China

not bad!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Nov 2012
Space inside hostel is limited so corridors are cramped, tiny lift, busy reception desk, but rooms are decent size, fairly new decoration, clean, hairdriers in bathrooms, price was 250 rmb (25 GBpounds) for two people one night in family room. Has a kitchen, laundry area and tv room and small bar downstairs. Location is best feature, right next to shopping area and Metro Line 2, really convenient.
Date of stay: November 2012
Room Tip: busy area so expect traffic noise, but double glazing reduces it
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
1.1 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
£37
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
2.3 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
大堂吧
£65
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
11.4 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £80
  • Vio.com
0.7 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby view
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £93
  • Expedia.com
    £94
0.2 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior View
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £71
  • Expedia.com
    £72
0.2 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
公寓外观
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £132
  • Hotels.com
1.3 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £81
  • Expedia.com
    £82
11.1 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
高级双人房
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £46
  • Vio.com
1.8 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £81
  • Lol.travel
    £76
  • Priceline
20.1 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Shanghai
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
35
74
47
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
35
74
47
10
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Nice pleasant hostel with english speaking staff, clean, close to everything, good food, cheap beer and very cozy rooms. The line 2 subway a couple of blocks away will take you straight to both airports and main railway stations. This place is highly recommended!

Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank AnneR538
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2012

nice, pleasant, spacious doubles ensuite, western toilet (proper shower), quiet, good service despite not speaking much english. Not even reception staff.
negative side: little english of the staff
not cheap but as quality is ok, you don't mind.
handy supermarkets almost next door, 15 minute walk to Bund, 2 mintues to Nanjing Road, ...Fab.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrisNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Very busy YHA, guests check in and out all days, took me more than half an hour for checking in a dorm bed!! There is a self service kitchen compare to others YHA in China that don't have, but mainly occupied by in house staffs than guests.

Close to Nanjing East walking street, 10 minutes walk to The Bund and half an hour walk to Yu Garden and many more!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2012

It's located just behind Nanjing Road, maybe best area to stay in Shanghai. The rooms were nice, the staff was ok, just ok. The have a bar with western breakfasts, but price not very chinese. Perfect for the price.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuiqueSenent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed in the dormroom on the 5th floor. We had a very mixed experience in this hostel. I'll sum it up below:
positive: hostel looks very nice, plenty of room to sit and relax, pooltable, dvd-room, good showers, good food, good wifi, very nice beds (for Chinese standards), powerful aircon in the room, lockers, nightguard, excellent location.
negative: dirty bathrooms, overall not very clean, rude and unhelpful staff, almost no atmosphere.
It's really strange this hostel won a Hostelworld Cleanliness Award in April 2012, because the shared bathroom on the 5th floor was very dirty. Hairs everywhere, mold and slime in the corners of the showers, dirty towels laying around for days and days... Maybe they stopped cleaning after they got that award? The dormroom was pretty dusty, but the linen was very clean and the beds are quite new.
The staff was terrible though. Especially the lady at the reception, she was rude, uninterested and didn't want to spend one second longer than necessary talking to us. They were constantly playing with their mobile phones. They forgot our order twice because one of them was sleeping and the other was totally hypnotized by her phone.
The common room is full of people staring at screens, either their laptops, smartphones or the tv. This was kinda sad and I never experienced it this bad (I've been to dozens of hostels over the past couple of months).The only place where you could talk to some other people was outside with the smokers...
But, I would stay here again and I would recommend it, just because it's affordable, the sleep quality is good and the location is excellent.

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank MathieuP383
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews