We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Lol.travel
Agoda.com
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Sandra N
London

Great central location!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Nov 2012
The location of this hostel is AMAZING, just off Nanjing rd and close to the Bund. Lots of places to eat nearby. its a fairly new hostel, lots of places to socialize with other travelers and cheap beer. The dorms are very crammed but if you have a good room with other friendly folks, its not bad! Lockers in the room and a luggage room helps a lot!
Date of stay: December 2011
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior view
11.1 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
20.1 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Lobby view
0.2 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
0.7 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior View
0.2 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
1.1 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
公寓外观
1.3 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
2.3 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
酒店大堂
8.3 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Classiq Double Room at the Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
0.7 miles from Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Shanghai
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
35
74
47
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
35
74
47
10
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Space inside hostel is limited so corridors are cramped, tiny lift, busy reception desk, but rooms are decent size, fairly new decoration, clean, hairdriers in bathrooms, price was 250 rmb (25 GBpounds) for two people one night in family room. Has a kitchen, laundry area and tv room and small bar downstairs. Location is best feature, right next to shopping area and Metro Line 2, really convenient.

Room tip: busy area so expect traffic noise, but double glazing reduces it
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pichis83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Nice pleasant hostel with english speaking staff, clean, close to everything, good food, cheap beer and very cozy rooms. The line 2 subway a couple of blocks away will take you straight to both airports and main railway stations. This place is highly recommended!

Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank AnneR538
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2012

nice, pleasant, spacious doubles ensuite, western toilet (proper shower), quiet, good service despite not speaking much english. Not even reception staff.
negative side: little english of the staff
not cheap but as quality is ok, you don't mind.
handy supermarkets almost next door, 15 minute walk to Bund, 2 mintues to Nanjing Road, ...Fab.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrisNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Very busy YHA, guests check in and out all days, took me more than half an hour for checking in a dorm bed!! There is a self service kitchen compare to others YHA in China that don't have, but mainly occupied by in house staffs than guests.

Close to Nanjing East walking street, 10 minutes walk to The Bund and half an hour walk to Yu Garden and many more!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2012

It's located just behind Nanjing Road, maybe best area to stay in Shanghai. The rooms were nice, the staff was ok, just ok. The have a bar with western breakfasts, but price not very chinese. Perfect for the price.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuiqueSenent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews