We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Alchemist changed and is now "Las Tapas"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Alchemist - CLOSED

The Alchemist
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Former French Concession
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Alchemist changed and is now "Las Tapas"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We booked a table for Sunday brunch with friends and had a total surprise. It was a pleasant surprise. Las Tapas serves excellent Tapas and has taken over the place. Not all signs have changed yet and the fapiao (invoice) still reads The Alchemist, but everything else is now Spanish.
Shanghai is a fast city and often things change to the better.
The tapas are really excellent. We will go back to try more of the menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FitzOblong_SHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“drinks for the curious.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Love the interiors. Drinks for the curious. The aroma of the place smells like a spa. The free popcorn smells like a potpourri as well. Menu is awesome to read. Don't skip visiting this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinay_Commuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My favourite watering hole in Shanghai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Love this place, its expensive (in Chinese terms) but worth it (in western terms) located in the Sinan Mansion complex, drinks are amazing, foods great, service is exceptional, atmosphere is good. Annoyed me a little bit that you can only have certain drink menus at certain times, but alas still my favourite place for drinks in Shanghai.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SSSBBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fun time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Restaurant bar lounge, I think it's slipped up a bit since the last time I was here. I'd still give it another shot.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kokolig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience every time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

The Alchemist is one of our favorite brunch places in Shanghai. Beyond the brunch though, their bar and regular menu have something for everyone. I've never tasted anything there that I didn't like. If you just want some snacks, you MUST try the Egg-wich and the Fried Chicken.....TO DIE FOR!!! The perfect balance of food and drinks every time we go. When ever we have guests or clients, we always bring them here and they always leave happy!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jhy0719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alchemist also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing