We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting rather than amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Ranked #29 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Interesting rather than amazing”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed one night in mid-Febraury 2012. First impression was that the hotel is a bit empty as the G/F cafe in the middle of the lobby was deserted. Service was good but something should be done to make the whole place more lively.

Room was nice and hip with great view of Xintendi but felt a bit basic and not as plush as other hotels of similar quality. Slowly, the thoughtful details came through such as the bathroom under-floor heating, nicely designed walk-in shower, electric curtains ...etc. I am not convinced that the mood lighting is a must but is a fun element to have.

Overall, nice property with a confused identity. For business travellers, the lobby layout is not ideal with a sunken cafe/bar right in the middle of the lobby and island check in counters. I checked in next to another hotel guest and it felt strange to have 2 guests & 2 hotel staff surrounding a check in counter, I do feel that the traditional layout of having a long counter with guests on one side offers more privacy.

Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank doobeebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    233
    47
    20
    13
See reviews for
88
103
50
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I didn't stay at the hotel, but I had brunch at the restaurant Haipai, and I will definitely go back. great food and service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Stayed at the new Andaz in central Shanghai. I checked in late and, although, Platinum did not get upgraded. Check in was good and was assigned a standard room on high floor. There were supposed to be free snacks, but, only found a box of crackers. There were plenty of soft drinks though. The room was nicely furnished with a confusing set of buttons to control the lights. First you have to find the instructions in a drawer under the TV and the buttons are in the drawer under the right bed side table; until then its pretty dark. They dont explain when you check in. Woke up at about 2am because of the horns blaring; pretty noisy, kept me awake. Service is attentive at the front desk but needs to improve in the restaurant. For a Western breakfast, you could be seated in the bar side which has very small tables, which are so small that it is diffcult to balance one plate. It is better to sit in the Chinese restaurant but you have walk through to the bar side to get your food. Quite a distance with a plate in hand. I had asked for a cheese omelete with pototoes on the side and got diced uncooked potatotoes inside the omelete. Somehow lost in translation. Overall, I was not overly impressed, although, the location is good and the metro is not far.couple of blocks away.

Room Tip: Get upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcoturbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The first Andaz I've ever stayed, a very different Hyatt. It is situated right in the heart of Shanghai, across from Xintiandi, everything is within reach. The room is chic and the service is by far one of the best I've ever experienced. The suite we had has a cardio bike in it, allowing me to working out during my daughter's nap without leaving her out of sight!!! Breakfast is very generous, we were contented with the different varieties of Western and Chinese delicacies. An overall superb experience!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cangon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Staying at this new hyatt for the first time and I like it so far. The room lives up to the Andaz promise of being contemporary and 'cool'. The amenity and service are great, on par with the other 3 hyatt facilities in Shanghai.

What impresses me the most is the great location. Many great restaurants and shops are in walking distance. I will choose this one again over the other hyatts for this reason alone.

Compared to my previous favorite, the Hyatt on Bund, the room at Andaz is more business friendly. It has a great working area (I was upgraded to the XL King), with a huge desk and very comfortable office chair. The internet connection seems to be much faster too, maybe because there aren't as many people staying here. It's perfect if you want to get more work done after getting back to the hotel.

On the other hand, hyatt on the bund has a great living area (if you get the suite upgrade) and more comfortable bed, so may be a better choice for traveling with family. Keep in mind that Hyatt on the bund is also much cheaper, if you are not paying with points or award nights.

Room Tip: The XL king is a corner room, very spacious and has great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmguan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed here a few weeks after it had soft-opened so things were still being fine-tuned but overall I found it to be very good. I had a standard room which was a good size but the toilet was a techno marvel with all sorts of buttons! The electrical plugs are universal so they should take all Euro, UK and US plugs. The mini-bar was well stocked and all the soft drinks are free. There was plenty of storage space and a safe too.

The reception staff speak excellent English and free coffee, drinks and snacks are offered in the reception area. The rest of the staff also have a fairly good understanding of English, with fast, friendly and efficient service. The food at breakfast and dinner was of a high standard too.

One of the best reasons to stay here is the location as it's right in the middle of a major shopping and entertainment area, with the flagship stores for Louis Vuitton, Chanel, Apple etc literally just around the corner.

Finally, although taxis are very cheap, the South Huangpi Road metro station is across the road if you feel like taking public transport.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bergkamp9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Whats with the negative reviews? Have these people stayed in a fine hotel before? A contempoary brand?

The beds are FANTASTIC. The service UNREAL. This is a hotel experience like no other....

I loved my stay(s) from the moment i entered and was greeted by the friendly staff. Wow. They remembered my name! The host in the lobby lounge was also warm and wonderful.

As for the rooms....superior in every way. Luxurious bedding, and a bathroom that cant be beat! The warm yet contemporary design begged me to never leave! I probably spend more time in this hotel room on my trips to Shanghai of recent than I have EVER spent in a room. It was glorious. It felt like home.

Sure, the health club is not totally complete yet....they are still doing some construction, but there is a wonderful work out facility in place. It is already much more than most, and i cant wait to see what it will be like when the pool and spa is complete.

The dining room is fantastic also. Wonderful breakfast with english buffet on one side, and a fantastic asian offering on the other side of the dining room. Lunch and Dinner were also superior.

The location cant be beat. Wonderful neighborhood.

Hyatt has several great offerings in Shanghai. Trust me, this one cant be beat. I cant wait to walk thru the doors again....

J

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesE339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
People’s Square
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
#146 of 5,069 in Shanghai
271 reviews
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#23 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#5 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,448 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai

Property: Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Address: No.88 Songshan Road, Shanghai 200020, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xintiandi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first Andaz in Asia is located in Xintiandi—a landmark entertainment area in the heart of downtown Shanghai, internationally acclaimed for its restored Shikumen architecture housing stylish restaurants, bars, and boutiques. Andaz Xintiandi, Shanghai is a short walk to the Metro and the prestigious Huai Hai Zhong Road, one of Shanghai’s premier shopping areas. The newly constructed 28-storey hotel features 307 spacious guest rooms measuring 41 square metres, including 47 premium rooms and suites ranging from 80–740 square metres, all with vibrant views over Shanghai and impressive LED lighting where guests can customise the colour to suit their mood. As in all Andaz hotels, non-alcoholic minibar drinks and snacks, local telephone calls and wireless internet access are complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing