We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Hotel but Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Ranked #29 of 5,102 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cool Hotel but Poor Service”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Hotel is very cool, modern and has a great features. It's also located in a very hip, convenient part of town.

On the other hand, service is absolutely terrible. First off all, the hotel is incredibly understaffed, probably because no one stays at the hotel. Oftentimes, there was no one at the desk in the evening. Management is also rude and does not put the customer first.

I'm surprised that this hotel is allowed to call itself a Andaz and be part of the Hyatt brand.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveler361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    236
    50
    20
    13
See reviews for
89
106
52
511
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nomad
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I was interested to see what Hyatt would role out for there lifestyle brand, especially as their food and beverage is usually outstanding in their traditional hotels. This is a great hotel with generously sized smartly appointed rooms. The bathrooms are a standout in granite and sandstone and a drench shower with resin bath and basin. The only thing missing from the room is a nice lounge chair which would be perfect for sitting to write Tripadvisor reviews whilst looking out over the smog filled Metroplolis. Beds are very comfy and a good nights sleep every night.
Good breakfast and they serve the delicious bread which they make on premises and sell in the Patisserie, which has exceptional eclairs BTW.

Room Tip: Apparently the hotel is not fully open on all floors yet but staff told me there Re XXL rooms to com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamsonNIte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McGregor, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This new hotel is so at home in the cool Zintandi neighbourhood. Laid back yet efficient and friendly it offers all that is needed when travelling, great beds, comfort and lots of extra touches that seem to hit just the spot. It is just so easy to stay here. Plenty of action right on the doorstep and within easy walking of both lines 1 an 10 of the subway. A perfect location for visiting exciting Shanghai!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macsym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stumbled upon the Andaz through Jetsetter while in Shanghai needing to make a hotel move. Not yet familiar with the Andaz concept, we were pleasantly surprised to find that it was Hyatt's version of a local, boutique hotel, designed to make you feel more at home vs. at a large hotel chain.

We loved every bit of our stay here. The check-in area has the feel of a large, modern kitchen where you are greeted by friendly and competent hosts with ipads around one of two sleek, wood islands. The area also serves as the place where you can help yourself to complimentary espressos, beverages, gourmet cookies, fresh fruit, muffins, snacks, and wine in the afternoon - like a true kitchen! The large lobby/bar area is like a giant great room with another sleek wood island featuring trendy books and framed photos of real people that work for the company. The entire hotel is filled with local art.

Our experience was outstanding from the first step out of our cab, to choosing our departure gift at check-out (it is a Chinese tradition to give your guests a gift). The staff all speak great English (thank you Amy & Veronica) and couldn't be more courteous and helpful. The location, arguably the best centrally-located spot in Shanghai, is outstanding. Accessible (1 block) to the Metro, a stone's throw from all the hipster boutiques and on-trend restaurants in Xintiandi, and about a 15 minute walk to People's Square. If you wish to take the "hop on, hop off" Big Red Bus Tour of the city, it stops at the Starbucks right across the street from the hotel.

I agree with all the other reviews that the rooms/views are amazing. If you stay at Andaz, one of your most memorable experiences will be using the highest-tech toilet you will most likely experience in a lifetime! You never need to touch the lid... it opens and closes automatically, heats your seat, sucks out all of the "bad air" on cue, washes you from every angle at the pressure and pulse of your liking, and dries you like a drive-thru car wash!

I think the only downside I potentially see with this hotel is that it might be too high-tech for people who are not tech savvy or prefer traditional hotels... however it is a MUST STAY for anyone seeking a uniquely creative and stimulating visit to Shanghai.

PS - The full-length mirror is behind the bathroom pocket door.

Room Tip: We had an even numbered room and had a view of the city. I believe the odd numbered rooms have a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUNTIEGORGEOUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Finally! A Shanghai hotel I look forward to returning to! After many stays at places like Le Meridien, JW Marriott, Intercontinental (Pudong and Puxi), etc. I've found my home in Shanghai. Stylish, superb accommodations with the service to match. Complimentary coffee (actually GOOD coffee) and muffins in the lounge in the morning, complimentary snacks and non-alcoholic beverages in the room, excellent food, stylish ambience, the list goes on. The service in this hotel is very courteous without being stiff. They strike the right balance between effectiveness and a friendly informality. I have just two areas for further improvement to recommend: faster internet service (a common problem in China) and hotter water in the shower (it was ok but I like it scalding). Other than that - great experience!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

One of the many new, high-end hotels in Shanghai that has opened in the past year.

I rate:
10/10 for hotel location and convenience
9/10 for linens/towels quality, XL King room (incl bathroom and closet space), bed
8/10 for service
6/10 for food quality/selection at breakfast and afternoon tea

Received all the Hyatt Gold Passport Diamond member benefits without any additional prompting. The floor to ceiling windows in the corner XL King room is awesome, not to mention the expansive open space (at the expense of a smaller office area with a large desk). The front entry to the hotel is a bit inconspicuous, it did not help that the staffs tend to hide inside when it is cold, so we actually drove around and past it twice before finally locating the hotel. Definitely could be a trendy atmosphere, but I did not experience the buzz as there seemed to be few patrons during the holiday weekend I was there. One of the best locations for general leisure visitors.

Room Tip: corner XL King room is sweet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rm_1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I don't want to repeat earlier - and excellent - reviews, so let me just say that I agree with all the positive feedback this hotel has garnered.

I stayed there two days for business. The staff was friendly and competent. The room was cosy and original. I especially loved the bathroom which is made to look a little bit like a grotto (all in stone). Of note also are the huge floor-to-ceiling windows which give you a great view over Shanghai. The bed and pillows were very, very comfortable. As noted by others, the "mood lighting" can be changed - red, yellow, blue, etc. - which may not be very useful on a business trip, but may help to set the tone during a romantic evening... And the food was up to my expectations, with the best Club Sandwich I have had in China.

All in all, an excellent stay. I would not hesitate to go there again, either on business or with my wife as a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the highest floor you can to enjoy the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frédéric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#5 of 5,102 in Shanghai
1,465 reviews
People’s Square
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
#143 of 5,102 in Shanghai
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#20 of 5,102 in Shanghai
1,109 reviews
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#27 of 5,102 in Shanghai
2,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai

Property: Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Address: No.88 Songshan Road, Shanghai 200020, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xintiandi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 5,102 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first Andaz in Asia is located in Xintiandi—a landmark entertainment area in the heart of downtown Shanghai, internationally acclaimed for its restored Shikumen architecture housing stylish restaurants, bars, and boutiques. Andaz Xintiandi, Shanghai is a short walk to the Metro and the prestigious Huai Hai Zhong Road, one of Shanghai’s premier shopping areas. The newly constructed 28-storey hotel features 307 spacious guest rooms measuring 41 square metres, including 47 premium rooms and suites ranging from 80–740 square metres, all with vibrant views over Shanghai and impressive LED lighting where guests can customise the colour to suit their mood. As in all Andaz hotels, non-alcoholic minibar drinks and snacks, local telephone calls and wireless internet access are complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing