We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All the kinks are worked out...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Ranked #23 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All the kinks are worked out...”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

It looks like all of the soft open kinks are worked out. My last stay was finally up to par (with the exception of the sauna being OOS).

The hotel "lounge" (read: lobby) is the highlight. I am not a person who hangs out in the lobby, but this hotel makes the lobby lounge inviting- just like you own living room (but larger and with table service!) Excellent food and drink options, great design/art books, comfortable seating. Perfect place to order lunch or enjoy your free morning coffee/muffins or evening wine service.

With the exception of a few night in the Park Hyatt every now and again (my fly-in/fly-out days whilst in town for work), the Andaz is now home.

Also, the Xintiandi location is great. Check out T8 for some excellent fine dining.

Room Tip: upgrade to a large kind if you want a real desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    220
    39
    19
    10
See reviews for
79
94
48
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Branxton, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Andaz Shanghai was recommended by a friend and it is a new brand for the Hyatt group.From the moment we stepped in the door we knew we were in the right place for us. From the funky reception area, the warm welcome and help from all the staff, The fabulous rooms with the colour schemes you can choose to suit your mood. Fabulous bathrooms that I would gladly have at home. Breakfast was included in our rate and the choice of Western or Chinese was endless and of the highest standard.The wonton noodle soup made on the spot with the condiments of your choice was the way to kick start the busy day. Sunday Buffet brunch is definitely a day to put aside for a lovely long lunch and take the Champagne option,free flowing Perrier Jouet! Great location next to shopping and a funky food district, great massage at the soon to open Optime Spa (i was lucky enough to get some trial massages), check out the swimming pool and state of the art gym, even if you don't use them, have a look!. Andaz is my choice of hotel in Shanghai now, even the toilets give great service! Andaz is more than just a hotel, it is an experience.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to the large rooms, we were in 1001, you will be amazed. we felt like we were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heavenlyhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2012

ultra hipster, "super-potato" Japanese interior design, lit bathtub, auto-toilet!, and great service - drinks and tidbits upon arrival. simply cosmo-cool.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qivz e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Hotel is very cool, modern and has a great features. It's also located in a very hip, convenient part of town.

On the other hand, service is absolutely terrible. First off all, the hotel is incredibly understaffed, probably because no one stays at the hotel. Oftentimes, there was no one at the desk in the evening. Management is also rude and does not put the customer first.

I'm surprised that this hotel is allowed to call itself a Andaz and be part of the Hyatt brand.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveler361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nomad
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I was interested to see what Hyatt would role out for there lifestyle brand, especially as their food and beverage is usually outstanding in their traditional hotels. This is a great hotel with generously sized smartly appointed rooms. The bathrooms are a standout in granite and sandstone and a drench shower with resin bath and basin. The only thing missing from the room is a nice lounge chair which would be perfect for sitting to write Tripadvisor reviews whilst looking out over the smog filled Metroplolis. Beds are very comfy and a good nights sleep every night.
Good breakfast and they serve the delicious bread which they make on premises and sell in the Patisserie, which has exceptional eclairs BTW.

Room Tip: Apparently the hotel is not fully open on all floors yet but staff told me there Re XXL rooms to com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamsonNIte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McGregor, South Africa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This new hotel is so at home in the cool Zintandi neighbourhood. Laid back yet efficient and friendly it offers all that is needed when travelling, great beds, comfort and lots of extra touches that seem to hit just the spot. It is just so easy to stay here. Plenty of action right on the doorstep and within easy walking of both lines 1 an 10 of the subway. A perfect location for visiting exciting Shanghai!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macsym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stumbled upon the Andaz through Jetsetter while in Shanghai needing to make a hotel move. Not yet familiar with the Andaz concept, we were pleasantly surprised to find that it was Hyatt's version of a local, boutique hotel, designed to make you feel more at home vs. at a large hotel chain.

We loved every bit of our stay here. The check-in area has the feel of a large, modern kitchen where you are greeted by friendly and competent hosts with ipads around one of two sleek, wood islands. The area also serves as the place where you can help yourself to complimentary espressos, beverages, gourmet cookies, fresh fruit, muffins, snacks, and wine in the afternoon - like a true kitchen! The large lobby/bar area is like a giant great room with another sleek wood island featuring trendy books and framed photos of real people that work for the company. The entire hotel is filled with local art.

Our experience was outstanding from the first step out of our cab, to choosing our departure gift at check-out (it is a Chinese tradition to give your guests a gift). The staff all speak great English (thank you Amy & Veronica) and couldn't be more courteous and helpful. The location, arguably the best centrally-located spot in Shanghai, is outstanding. Accessible (1 block) to the Metro, a stone's throw from all the hipster boutiques and on-trend restaurants in Xintiandi, and about a 15 minute walk to People's Square. If you wish to take the "hop on, hop off" Big Red Bus Tour of the city, it stops at the Starbucks right across the street from the hotel.

I agree with all the other reviews that the rooms/views are amazing. If you stay at Andaz, one of your most memorable experiences will be using the highest-tech toilet you will most likely experience in a lifetime! You never need to touch the lid... it opens and closes automatically, heats your seat, sucks out all of the "bad air" on cue, washes you from every angle at the pressure and pulse of your liking, and dries you like a drive-thru car wash!

I think the only downside I potentially see with this hotel is that it might be too high-tech for people who are not tech savvy or prefer traditional hotels... however it is a MUST STAY for anyone seeking a uniquely creative and stimulating visit to Shanghai.

PS - The full-length mirror is behind the bathroom pocket door.

Room Tip: We had an even numbered room and had a view of the city. I believe the odd numbered rooms have a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUNTIEGORGEOUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
People’s Square
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
#135 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#6 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#25 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai

Property: Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Address: No.88 Songshan Road, Shanghai 200020, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xintiandi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first Andaz in Asia is located in Xintiandi—a landmark entertainment area in the heart of downtown Shanghai, internationally acclaimed for its restored Shikumen architecture housing stylish restaurants, bars, and boutiques. Andaz Xintiandi, Shanghai is a short walk to the Metro and the prestigious Huai Hai Zhong Road, one of Shanghai’s premier shopping areas. The newly constructed 28-storey hotel features 307 spacious guest rooms measuring 41 square metres, including 47 premium rooms and suites ranging from 80–740 square metres, all with vibrant views over Shanghai and impressive LED lighting where guests can customise the colour to suit their mood. As in all Andaz hotels, non-alcoholic minibar drinks and snacks, local telephone calls and wireless internet access are complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing