We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious boutique hotel on Xintiandi area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Ranked #29 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Futuristic hotel, set this place apart from the rest.
Best in Shanghai.
We love the view and the design of our room, very impress.
Special mention to, Dani Znu in the front desk, He is the best, He speaks English,,French and Spanish very well that is a plus in China.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julio O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

719 - 725 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Absolutely LOVE this hotel ... The service is excellent, the Rooms are Awesome and very modern. I would Highly recommend this hotel to anybody and it is situated across the road from Xintiandi where there are fantastic Restaurants and Bars.

Room Tip: Breakfast is expensive but it is nice ... I usually opt for going to Element Fresh over the road and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelPBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed three nights for business. When you check in at this hotel there there is no traditional check-in counter. The staff is casually available to handle your requests in a corner of the large lobby. It effectivly breaks down the barrier between the staff and visitors and I experienced this as very positive. In the check-in area you can also get complimentary coffee, soft drinks, fruits and snacks.

The rooms are large with a quirky design that I guess you either love or hate. All equipment in the room is controlled with an iPad mini. Curtains, TV, lighting system, air-conditioning - all you can control with this device. Feels fun and fresh. Quality of construction leaves more to wish for, but this is not an isolated problem for Andaz. Every hotel I have stayed in in China have quality issues that would not pass as acceptable in most locations.

The location is very convenient right at Xintiandi area which have a lot of restaurants and shopping. The subway is also only a few minutes walk away.

Overall, it's a hotel that I would love to come back to when in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattespatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed at the Andaz for over a week while on business. The rooms are comfortable and modern. The hotel lobby is nice with many of couches and tables to do work or relax with a drink. Free happy hour every evening. The breakfast buffet is very substantial. The gym is small but nice, including a pool. Across the street from many shops and restaurants at the Xintiandi mall - quite touristy but convenient.

The only downside is the hotel is located down a small street where it's hard to get a taxis.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor - better view. Also, if you book a standard room try to request a corner as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfbay_traveler83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

2nd time visiting this hotel, didn't get to writing the review first time around.

Location was great for me, within walking distance to office. Just a street away is XinTianDi, with lots of cafes and restaurants to try out. Within walking distance you can find the big Apple shop as well as many other high end shops. To reach the hotel, some cab drivers may not be familiar with Songshan road, so it is better to say HuaiHai Middle Road 淮海中路 and ask them to watch out for Songshang road to turn in.

Room was spacious, with adjustable ambient lighting and a clean comfortable bed. Minibar was free, and we especially enjoy the shower area with the granite tiles and overhead rain shower.

The breakfast spread was pretty good, with a good range of Chinese and Western options.

However, it seems like they were having some sort of room service issue. First night, I ordered the breakfast dim sum set and there were missing food items from the set, as well as missing condiments and cutlery. Called them up and they came back with the missing items.

Next day morning, my wife ordered a baguette and butter, but they gave a basket of danish pastries which were oily and frankly, quite disgusting to look at. Called them up again and they returned this time with a plate with a few slices of cold baguette, and asked her to sign off on the bill for the danish pastries. She refused to sign and asked for everything to be returned.

Once I was back to the hotel, we went to see the duty manager for the day, who was Ms Bobo Huang. She was very apologetic and also shocked at the level of service. She did mention that they were facing some manpower issue, but even so, there should not be such things happening. She handled the complaint professionally and made sure that we were well taken care of for the rest of the stay, which was why I gave them 4 stars for service. As for the rest of the staff, their service is also generally very good, and most, if not all, speak great English and Mandarin.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koribane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had a great stay at The Andaz. The service was above and beyond. I forgot something in the room and remembered on the way to the airport. I called the hotel and they had someone run the article out to the airport for me.
The room was wonderful, except the lighting could have been a little brighter. The area the hotel is situated in was perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Andaz is a lovely boutique hotel located near to high-end shops and shopping malls as well as many excellent restaurants- this is a walking neighborhood. The staff is warm and gracious and the rooms are - something very special. Hardwood abounds, a magnificent picture window with a black out curtain for sleeping and a 'moon roof'. The bathroom reflects the current trend towards granite but in the Andaz it's not just counters but rather the entire bathroom is cut from granite creating the effect of a grotto.
To say much more would be to spoil the surprises these rooms hold but safe to say no expense has been spared in the effort to create a fine hotel room that incorporates the notable lighting unique to Shanghai.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saramatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#7 of 5,222 in Shanghai
1,545 reviews
Lujiazui
Park Hyatt Shanghai
Park Hyatt Shanghai
#35 of 5,222 in Shanghai
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
#173 of 5,222 in Shanghai
289 reviews
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#22 of 5,222 in Shanghai
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai

Address: No.88 Songshan Road, Shanghai 200020, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xintiandi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £142 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first Andaz in Asia is located in Xintiandi—a landmark entertainment area in the heart of downtown Shanghai, internationally acclaimed for its restored Shikumen architecture housing stylish restaurants, bars, and boutiques. Andaz Xintiandi, Shanghai is a short walk to the Metro and the prestigious Huai Hai Zhong Road, one of Shanghai’s premier shopping areas. The newly constructed 28-storey hotel features 307 spacious guest rooms measuring 41 square metres, including 47 premium rooms and suites ranging from 80–740 square metres, all with vibrant views over Shanghai and impressive LED lighting where guests can customise the colour to suit their mood. As in all Andaz hotels, non-alcoholic minibar drinks and snacks, local telephone calls and wireless internet access are complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing