We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for business, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Ranked #29 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great stay for business, perfect location”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Having not been to Shanghai before, this hotel was recommended by business colleagues and I was very happy with the result. The service was excellent, very polite, perfect english and prompt. The hotel is located in the heart of the shopping and dinning area, easily walkable around the neighbourhood. The rooms were spacious and modern, controlled by a iPad for everything including the curtains, tv, and temperature. A few times this had to be reset but not an issue.

The lounge area and outdoor seating were very relaxing to get some work done and have a few after work drinks.

Would definitely recommend to all leisure and business travelers.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor away from the elevators so you can have a nice view of the surroundin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukcurtisnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    236
    51
    20
    13
See reviews for
90
106
53
511
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have stayed at the Andaz at least four times. Great location in Shanghai, walk one block to Xintiandi or the MTR. Very comfortable hotel rooms and great service. Rooms have an iPad to control the room functions such as lights, curtains, television, and air conditioner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlim38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Shanghai has no shortage of luxury hotels, most of which are state of the art. The Andaz has a fantastic, central location, is a newly completed hotel so all the hardware is solid and adds a boutique, trendier feel to the stay. Well worth it if you want something hipper but want all the basics done well. Only complaint is that the gym could be a bit better in terms of layout and range of equipment.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The entrance is funky, the check-in was easy and the room very nice with all the modern facilities and more. Lights go on as you enter the room, no need to find a switch. The TV, and hotel facilities can be accessed through an iPad in the room. The WiFi was good. The bed comfortable.
The bar was busy and colourful and I had dinner which was good as was the breakfast.
The location for what I wanted was great, K11 shopping centre almost next door and lots of nice restaurants around.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mataka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel is conveniently located in Xintiandi, one of the nicest neighbourhood in Shanghai. Three metro stations (3 different lines) are within walking distance, a major shopping road is just a block away, and trendy restaurants and shops are literally next door.

Check-in was swift, the receptionist was kind, courteous, and acted fast. He explained well what the hotel has to offer, helped with my luggage, walked me to the elevator, and he even made a good latte for me too.

The room is big and airy, filled with natural light from the floor to ceiling windows. My bed is large and comfortable. Not too soft not too firm. However, this is where things went from great to merely okay. While the room itself is big, it feels rather sparsely furnished. For examples, no small waste bin in the room, only one small one in the bathroom. While other trendy 5 star hotels offer Nespresso coffee machine, Andaz offers pre-mix instant coffee. The shower faucet in my bathroom was also faulty. It got stuck in the hot temperature, I couldn't turn it to cold temperature without possibly breaking the handle. Luckily, the rain drop shower was working well. The wood panels also show signs of age (scratches here and there) albeit the hotel is fairly new. Another minor thing is the windows were dirty. Xintiandi offers a nice view but it is marred by the dirty window.

Check-out was also very fast. Staff again proved to be professional and all smiley. Kudos for this!

Overall, this is a good hotel with good value. The building looks great, the trendy and hip atmosphere is there, the location is great, and the staff are great. However, the homework for the management is now to pay attention on small details and general maintenance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floor and if you are willing to pay more, ask for xintiandi view room. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLY39739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you are looking for a fun and trendy hotel in the heart of Shanghai then there is no reason to stay anywhere else. It's extremely convenient to metro stops, restaurants, and a number of department stores. I am a huge fan of the Andaz brand and have stayed at several of their hotels. This one has to be the most imaginative. The rooms actually have mood lighting where you can change the color of the lights from red to green to blue etc. This feature is also carried over into the amazing bathrooms that feature a rock shower, tub and Japanese toilet. My preference was green. In addition to the great rooms, the staff as always is very professional and helpful. Shanghai is a great city to visit and I highly recommend a journey there and a stay at this Andaz treasure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

In a city of first class hotels the Andaz Xintiandi is a great hotel in a brilliant location. The area has been beautifully done up and offers visitors a great selection of dining and accommodation with the more serious business hotel Langham next door and even two Metro stations with-in a few minuets walk. The hotel embraces everything in the high-tec style world with, but still gets the basics of great service 110% right! I was greeted warmly on arrival by Danny at the front desk who until my departure was always seeking to help me........after checking in Danny escorted me to my room and explained in detail the many lighting devices that create every mood light you could ever wish for! The room was a perfect size with a really great bathroom that included the automatic toilet and a superb shower and bath area. Again lighting was a feature with the sink changing colors every few moments......the only negative point about all this mood lighting is that you have be patient when using the in-room Ipad......
The spa is wonderful with a serious gym full of Techno-Gym gear and a stunning glass pool, which was warm and a real treat, the only issue is the size, but in view that an Ian Thorpe most likely won't be training there I guess it suits most visitors.......but I do personally like a good 25 m pool......
From a dining point the hotels offers a few excellent alternatives....the lounge which is perfect, offers in-house guests "free" cocktail from 6 to 8PM.....and in the main bar the longest Happy Hour I have seen.....3 hours long!! The Chinese dining room is very nice and offers very yummy food.....the two areas is also your breakfast venues in the morning with two excellent buffets set up...staff are friendly and efficient, the only comment I would make is the pastries were not quite of the quality I would expect at a "Hyatt"...the rest was great. I believe on top of the lounge a sushi bar will soon open......I can't wait!
Overall I really enjoyed the stay, there are so many really great details in the hotel with friendly staff and in a perfect location that you wonder why travelers would stay down-town and not in this little village! Oh well lets keep that a secret........enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnTGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#4 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,464 reviews
People’s Square
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
#141 of 5,105 in Shanghai
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#22 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,110 reviews
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#27 of 5,105 in Shanghai
2,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai

Property: Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Address: No.88 Songshan Road, Shanghai 200020, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xintiandi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first Andaz in Asia is located in Xintiandi—a landmark entertainment area in the heart of downtown Shanghai, internationally acclaimed for its restored Shikumen architecture housing stylish restaurants, bars, and boutiques. Andaz Xintiandi, Shanghai is a short walk to the Metro and the prestigious Huai Hai Zhong Road, one of Shanghai’s premier shopping areas. The newly constructed 28-storey hotel features 307 spacious guest rooms measuring 41 square metres, including 47 premium rooms and suites ranging from 80–740 square metres, all with vibrant views over Shanghai and impressive LED lighting where guests can customise the colour to suit their mood. As in all Andaz hotels, non-alcoholic minibar drinks and snacks, local telephone calls and wireless internet access are complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing