We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food awesome chill out spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coffee Tree (Wu Kang Road)

Coffee Tree (Wu Kang Road)
Ranked #40 of 394 Coffee & Tea in Shanghai
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Former French Concession
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
520 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Great food awesome chill out spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Pleasant surprise to discover Ferguson Lane and particularly Coffee Tree. Great recommendations from friends and did not disappoint. Fortunately went on a really sunny day so it made the whole area even more enjoyable.

Went for the 'smallest' brunch set (RMB 138) which includes any starter, a main, a drink and unlimited coffee refills. To me, this is honestly very good value and I was already stuffed after the starter (a massive tuna nicoise salad) and the 'All Berry' smoothie. My main was the American Breakfast - I was pretty full by now but this was the weakest dish as I didn't enjoy the sausages (I've yet to find a place that serves decent sausages in Shanghai) but the rest of it was good.

My friend also had a brunch set (beef salad, panini can't remember which one as well as another smoothie - no complaints whatsoever).

I would definitely come again. It was packed when we arrived and there was no available outdoor seating. However, fortunate to have a table for two so no waiting (any later, we would have joined the queue).

Next time, I doubt I will go for the set as there is a lot of food. However, seeing a number of people go for the salmon and eggs Benedict and looking so delicious I'm definitely going to try that on my next visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mokkey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, bit overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed lunch here. Sandwiches and wraps were good! Maybe a bit on the expensive side, but you'll get a panini like back home. Because of the nice weather we could sit at the little court yard which was nice. Only minor detail is that it is difficult to find if you don't know the city/street, so check the directions or ask the taxi driver (as we did) to take you here!

Helpful?
Thank Dutch1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to chill out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

This cafe has a nice location, in the nice little compound of Wukang Rd 376 (Wu Kang Ting).
The food is good, but menu is limited to usual cafe fare.
The piece of statue of a fat girl riding a bike is a bright piece and makes a nice little garden.
It's my favorite place for weekend brunch or chill out with friends in the afternoon sun when the weather is good.
Weekends could see some crowds, but mostly this place has a great lay-back feel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Echo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

The food at Coffee Tree is simple, but consistently good. The highlight here is the outdoor seating and the coffee. Shanghai doesn't have brilliant coffee, but Coffee Tree's coffee definitely hits the spot. They also offer a good range of unusual teas.
Their outdoor seating is the ideal spot to chill over coffee, brunch or a glass of wine in the evening.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Missmjtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

As I foreigner on business in Shanghai I appreciated the fresh creative food. Free wifi, salads, creative pasta, sandwiches and great juices, teas, and coffees along with wine and drinks. They also do takeout. This was my go to take out place for dinner during evening conference calls in the hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank ShanghaiPrincessV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coffee Tree (Wu Kang Road) also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Coffee Tree (Wu Kang Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing