We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spa day on a budget”

Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Kerry Parkside)
Ranked #9 of 73 Spas & Wellness in Shanghai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Come and relax with us nearby Century Park, Pudong! Dragonfly is China's leading chain of contemporary urban retreats offering relaxing massage and beauty services to busy expatriates, weary travelers, and sophisticated local customers. Dragonfly retreats are oases of calm that feature fusion Asian decor, dim lighting, tranquil sounds, wonderful fragrances and a romantic ambience second to none.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spa day on a budget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Dragonfly is a chain of spas in Shanghai, and a great go-to for good service and good product. The prices wouldn't be considered cheap compared to some local places, but they are well worth it. It's my go-to for quick manicures and massages.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ShanghaiRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DragonflyRetreats, Owner at Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Kerry Parkside), responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you Rosa for your endorsement. As you said we are not as cheap as many local massage parlours or nail spas, but we pride ourselves on giving terrific value for money - in all our retreats.

Typically we are half the price of a hotel spa, and we strive to provide a 5 star service at a 3 star price - with impeccable hygiene and a touch of class.

We are very pleased to hear that we are your "go-to" destination for manicures and massages. This is exactly what we strive for - in the busy city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nouakchott, Mauritania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“enjoy being pampered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We visit the Dragonfly fairly frequently. Generally I utilize the Kerry Dragonfly but have been to others if we are in that area of the city. To this date all that I've visited have the same level of cleanliness and attentive staff.

Our family has only made use of the nail services and massages. We often go with friends and the little girls get p[edis or manis and the moms get massages. The staff are very careful with the girls and we've not been disappointed. Girls under 10 get half off basic manis and/or pedis.

For the massages, I have tried several but generally stick to the ones described by Shanghyper that are given in the chairs rather than the massages given in private rooms. I find the staff very attentive to the client's wishes and I find each has their own style so if you want something exactly the same you might try to get a regular.

I agree that I rarely have to wait if I don't have an appointment but tend to make one just to be sure. I never have any difficulty calling to make the appointment in English.

As stated, it is possible to get a massage for cheaper (current 60 minute massages are now 188RMB, I think) but for the calm, clean and quiet experience I recommend the Dragonfly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank weregypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DragonflyRetreats, Owner at Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Kerry Parkside), responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear WereGypsies,

Thank you for the vote of confidence! We know there are many (one could say literally thousands) of cheaper competitors around, but we strive to offer up consistently strong hygiene, a safe environment (suitable even for children to enjoy with parents), and of course a calm relaxing environment where you can truly escape. This is what we have been doing now for 11 years and we feel it is what separates us from the pack.

Since you are in Pudong you may note that we have a new location now in the Shanghai IFC mall which may be convenient if you live or work nearby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
324 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Good for China, but not even close to Thailand”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I have a few massages here ranging from foot to shoulder to full body oil. The massages are good but not even close to great. The masseuses seem not to have the same strength in their hands and fingers that the masseuses in Thailand do. They also seem to simply follow the protocol and not focus on a particular area that may seem a bit knotty. Having said that, the masseuses are professional, polite, and they constantly inquire whether the massage is at the right level for you. As such, they are very good at what they do. But when I compare this to the good massage addresses in Thailand, it simply doesn't compare as Thailand's masseuses are truly the best.

Dragonfly is however a favorite because it is conveniently located in a number of central locations. They take bookings but always have room if you do a walk-in. I will keep on going back because of this.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DHWShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DragonflyRetreats, Owner at Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Kerry Parkside), responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear DHW,

I want to thank you for raising the points in your note - both good and bad. Conveniently located we strive to be, but fundamentally we want to be providing you with very good massages, so we have begun this year a quality control program to check on performance and monitor the consistency of our treatments.

If you ever have a problem with a treatment I would encourage you to contact our customer care (via the website form) and let us know so we can follow up. We want you to be satisfied - and relaxed after each visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Favorite Spa in Shanghai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

My husband and I visit Dragonfly Spa at the Kerry Parkside at least once a week. Whether we go for a foot massage, head and shoulder massage, or any of the full-body massage options, we are always thrilled with their attentive, caring service. The staff is quite friendly and always courteous, and the front desk staff all speak English pretty well (the massage therapists, not so much). If you have special needs or requests (like you want them to focus on your lower back, say), the front desk staff is happy to convey this to your massage therapist for you beforehand, if your Chinese isn't up to par.

The ambiance is lovely and relaxing, with dim up-lighting, fabric-draped ceilings, piped-in bird song and trickling water sounds, and the faint and wonderful smell of massage oils hanging in the air. Everyone speaks in hushed tones, including other patrons. Whether you are in one of the main rooms used for foot massages or in one of the private rooms used for full body massages (both single and double rooms are available), the atmosphere is always calming and peaceful.

The spa offers a variety of massage services, and it helps if you know the difference between them so you know what to expect. For those unfamiliar, Chinese massage is done through a covering, as are the sports massage or shiatsu massage options at Dragonfly. You are taken to a private room where you will undress and slip into a pair of loose-fitting cloth pyjamas for your massage. Or, if you opt for an oil massage, instead of pyjamas you will be given a paper bikini bottom to slip into if you're a woman (no top -- but you are covered with a towel, so no worries if you're the modest type); men get a pair of paper boxer shorts. All are discarded after your massage.

Foot massages involve a hot-tea foot soak first, which takes place while you recline in a plush and very comfortable easy chair. They will cover you with a soft blanket and place a roll of "hot beans" around your mid-section -- and while you're enjoying all this cozy comfort, the massage therapists will do a mini-massage of your neck, shoulders and arms before they wash and dry your feet. It's delightful!

We've been very pleased with the skill of their massage therapists, and they are very responsive if you require less or more pressure. (They will always inquire if the pressure is okay, and they all have enough English skills to understand if you request "harder" or "softer".)

Dragonfly also offers facials, waxing and manicure/pedicure, and I've had or heard of good experiences with them all.

If you go on the weekend or in the evenings you would be well served to call for an appointment first, as they can get busy. But during the day I've never had to make an appointment or wait more than 5 minutes to be tended to.

When compared to prices for similar services in the US, the standard prices at Dragonfly are pretty low, though of course rather high by Chinese standards. But if you purchase a pre-paid card (which I recommend for anyone staying in the area for more than a few weeks) you get a 30% discount on all services which then makes them very reasonable indeed (e.g., an hour-long full body Chinese massage is about $16 US). Tipping is not expected.

In Shanghai you will notice that there are massage places on every corner. You can find less expensive options than Dragonfly, but you will find no better service or comfort.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Shanghyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Beautiful place with excellent service, skilled and caring personnel. Very popular and for good reason. The atmosphere is so inviting--very comfortable massages.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Kerry Parkside) also viewed

 

Been to Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Kerry Parkside)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing